We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very good hotel ”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
Hotel Granvia Kyoto
Ranked #12 of 407 Hotels / Ryokan in Kyoto
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 14 December 2017 via mobile

Came for a holiday in Kyoto.

Location. - 5/5 - if you are travelling around Japan and uses the JR pass a lot, this hotel is perfect as it is located in the Kyoto station. Many food and shopping choices around and extremely easy to get to the attractions around Kyoto.

Service - 5/5 - yet to experience anything bad in Japan.

Facilities / Amenities- 5/5 everything you need from bars to restaurant to shopping to gym to pool.

Room - 5/5 - clean , comfortable bed, good size with nice soft lighting.

Overall - two thumbs up!

Stayed: December 2017, travelled as a couple
Thank Adrian C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (3,171)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

34 - 38 of 3,173 reviews

Reviewed 12 December 2017

I have recently spent two nights here at Hotel Granvia Kyoto. The hotel is located right at the Kyoto train station, which is a major transportation hub. You can access Osaka, Kansai Airport and nearby cities easily. There are plenty of restaurants attached to the hotel, and than a major department store is right across from the hotel. The hotel itself is typical Japanese style business hotel with comfortable beds and the rooms are very clean. I highly recommend this hotel and if you are American or European tourists, you don't have to worry about staffs not speaking English. The concierge staffs are very well versed in English too. However I want to caution Western travelers, the size of the rooms is still on the small size compared to other major cities. It is still typical of urban hotels in Japan and if you need to accommodate more than two people, you need to pay up and get a larger room. The photos showed a room with two beds and you cannot fit four people in it.

  • Stayed: November 2017, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank Adrian L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 December 2017

It was a perfect 6nights stay. Paid S$600 per night for their quad room - 4 single beds side by side, plenty of space for our luggages, good water pressure in the bathroom and a fantastic bidet toilet. All quad rooms faced the train stations I think, and I really enjoyed looking at the trains every morning. Yes, slight noises could be heard coming from the tracks, I'm a light sleeper too but I slept well on all the nights.

Fantastic location, everywhere we went, Kyoto station offered an option - whether it's train to Nara, or direct bus service to Takashimaya. My stay did not come with breakfast, and the kids had plenty of choices every morning, from Mac to Mister Donuts, or the bakery at the ground floor. Tip: if you're looking for hot cocoa for kids, the convenient store located next to the bus interchange offers value for money.

We usually done with sightseeing at 4pm everyday, the sky grew dark and the kids could walk no further. We would then proceed back to Kyoto station where one of us would bring the kids upstairs for a short rest while the other could continue shopping downstairs. At 7pm, we would bring them out for dinner again, just nearby at Isetan or POrta or the Cube. It was a perfect arrangement, and it would not have been possible if the hotel had not been in such wonderful location.

We chose to take the airport limousine to KIX on the last day. It's just across the road from the hotel, v convenient and v punctual. Cheaper than the train too.

One more tip, the Isetan food section at the basement slashes prices of sushi, food items etc by 50% from 7.30pm onwards (It closes at 8pm daily). Go grab something for dinner/supper everyday, it's v crowded and items disappear fast!

Room Tip: quad rooms are excellent for families!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2017, travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank crabcrabby
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 December 2017

Read all the reviews of this and all other hotels we considered, then chose this one.
Very pleased we did, because:
-Huge rooms which are almost unknown in Japan
-Thoughtful room set up
-Room was exactly like the photos, no false advertising
-Bathroom was amazing, separate shower room and bath, bath filled up in 2 mins flat, shower was fantastic
-Everything on our doorstep - trains, buses, department stores
-SOOO quiet
-really comfortable bed
-great housekeeping

Room for improvement:
-the rooms are a little dated and in need of refurbishment to match them to the rest of the experience

If we come back, will be staying there again without doubt. Too convenient and comfortable not to.

Room Tip: There are 2 views: Kyoto tower or south of the city. If the view really matters, ask for Kyoto tower...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank fandangoMelbourne
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 December 2017

Perfectly located right above the Kyoto station. Rooms were large and clean.

But the clincher for me was the amazing service! Granvia's concierge helped us book all our restaurants in Kyoto and even offered suggestions when the restaurants we wanted to book were full. Upon arrival, full details of our restaurant reservations were provided in both English and Japanese.

I left my passport holder (containing cash) in the room and they made arrangements to send it to a friend who was staying in Osaka. Impeccable and very impressive!

  • Stayed: November 2017, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
1  Thank whataboutkate
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Kyoto hotels
Shimogyo-ku
Kyoto Century Hotel
Kyoto Century Hotel
#32 of 407 in Kyoto
944 reviews
Nishijin District
Kyoto Brighton Hotel
Kyoto Brighton Hotel
#14 of 407 in Kyoto
943 reviews
City Centre
Kyoto Hotel Okura
Kyoto Hotel Okura
#24 of 407 in Kyoto
1,321 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Shimogyo-ku
RIHGA Royal Hotel Kyoto
City Centre
Royal Park Hotel The Kyoto
City Centre
Mitsui Garden Hotel Kyoto Shinmachi Bettei
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Granvia Kyoto? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Granvia Kyoto

Address: Shiokojisagaru, Karasumadori, Shimogyo-ku | JR Kyoto Station Central Gate, Kyoto 600-8216, Kyoto Prefecture
Region: Japan > Kinki > Kyoto Prefecture > Kyoto > Shimogyo-ku
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #12 of 407 Hotels / Ryokan in Kyoto
Price Range: $188 - $651 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Hotel Granvia Kyoto 4.5*
Number of rooms: 537
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Beautiful 15-story hotel atop Kyoto Station - Broadband connection in all guest and banquet rooms - Easy access to Kansai Airport. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, KNT-CT Holdings Co.,Ltd.(YOKOSO Japan), Rakuten, Ctrip TA, Agoda, TripOnline SA and JAPANiCAN so you can book your Hotel Granvia Kyoto reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing