We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Delicious! Favorite vegan meal in Japan!”
Review of Shigetsu

Shigetsu
Ranked #51 of 15,534 Restaurants in Kyoto
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Japanese
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations
Neighbourhood: Western Kyoto
Reviewed 22 September 2016

I love the tatami mats and the whole experience. The food was great, very tasty! So much of our Japanese meals were skimpy on vegetables so it was great to have a veggie meal. I thought it was a good deal for $30 for lunch, maybe just a tad expensive but considering the location and the view it was a real bargain. Go! Just one note, you need to pay $5 for the gardens admission to access the restaurant. But that is worth it.

Date of visit: September 2016
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank elissa s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (152)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

49 - 53 of 152 reviews

Reviewed 21 September 2016

We made a reservation here under the recommendation of a friend who visited several years ago - we were not disappointed.

We took a walk through the Bamboo Grove prior to entering Tenryuji - note you will need to pay the 500 Yen entrance fee in order to access the restaurant within the temple's grounds - it's worth it, Tenryuji is simply stunning!

Once we got to the restaurant, we were taken to a tatami mat room and our food was served very shortly afterwards. Perhaps because we were one of the earlier reservations, we had the entire room to ourselves. We could see the garden outside but the screens gave us privacy while eating.

Every single dish that was served was exquisite - a beautiful beancurd skin with lime and mushroom to flavour it, baked aubergine with miso, fresh melon…we loved every mouthful. The balance of flavours and seasonal produce amidst such calm surroundings made for a wonderful experience. The staff didn't rush us at all and I think we probably could have sat there even longer if we had wished to do so.

Hands down one of the best meals I've had - both in Japan and beyond. Highly recommended!

Date of visit: September 2016
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
1  Thank piratecavegirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 August 2016

This was my second visit after 2 years. The food and the quality were still very impressive. The dishes are vegan but they are really delicious. The only downside is that it's located inside the Tenruji and we need to pay the entrance fee to get into the restaurant.Anyway, I will come back again whenever i visit Kyoto.

Date of visit: December 2015
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
1  Thank WHzhi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 August 2016 via mobile

The restaurant is located inside the temple's area and is 100% vegan, which is in line with the monks' philosophy.

Set up is traditional and simple. You are seated in a large room, on the floor, after having removed your shoes (so better be wearing socks when you visit).

The food consists of a set menu of several traditional Japanese meals (aubergine with miso, tofu, Japanese radish, and others). We had green tea with our meal which was a good pairing.

Definitely worth trying, especially if you're visiting the temple

Date of visit: June 2016
Thank 110gabym
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 August 2016 via mobile

Set meals and pricier than orher places but hands down the best food I have tried among all the vego places I have visited in Osaka and Kyoto!

Date of visit: August 2016
Thank siokay
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Shigetsu also viewed

 
Kyoto, Kyoto Prefecture
Kyoto, Kyoto Prefecture
 
Kyoto, Kyoto Prefecture
Kyoto, Kyoto Prefecture
 

Been to Shigetsu? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing