We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Lowest prices for your stay
Expedia.com
US$27
View deal
Free cancellation until 10/12/21
Reserve now, pay at stay
Priceline
US$29
View deal
Agoda.com
US$26
View deal
Free cancellation until 11/12/21
Booking.comUS$32
Hotels.comUS$27
eDreamsUS$32
View all 13 deals
Prices above are provided by partners for one room, with variable occupancy rules as provided by the property, and do not include all taxes and fees. Please see our partners for full details.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (305)
Filter reviews
305 results
Traveller rating
160
115
25
3
2
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveller rating
160
115
25
3
2
See what travellers are saying:
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
172 - 177 of 305 reviews
Reviewed 8 November 2012

My husband and I stayed in the twin ensuite with toilet, Japanese style room for 5 nights. It is about 8min walk from the Kyoto station. It is very clean and the staff are very friendly. This hostel even provides shower foam and shampoo. There is also a hair dryer in the room. So I should say it is value for money. There is also a kitchen where you can cook. The cons are that we had to climb to the 3rd storey when we needed to get back to our room and every morning about 5 plus, we could hear the temple nearby sounding its gong.

Date of stay: November 2012
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank pin78
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 31 October 2012

We had traveled to Hana Hostel in 2010 with just 2 adults and decided to head back this year with our 7 month old.

It was very comforting to walk back into Hana and be greeted with a smiling face, even though we were about 1 minute off reception closing at 2200. We we're staying in a Japanese Double Ensuite room, complete with Futon Bedding. We preferred the futon bedding, especially with our bubba as we didn't have to worry about her rolling off.

The Common area and kitchen is very clean and comfortable with everything you could need to kick up a storm. Hana is quite small with only a couple of dorm rooms and a sprinkle of ensuited rooms around the 3 storey building.

The Reception staff are absolutely amazing, they helped us out with any questions we had and made the cutest post card for us when we checked out!

Access is super easy from the massively connected Kyoto Station (Shinkansen, JR Local, Kintetsu railway and Subway lines all pull up here!) You can walk most of the way underground, popping up right outside of a Lawson to stock up and then only needing to cross a road, turn right and walk 10m, turn left and walk about 20 m to get there.

We would have absolutely no hesitation with staying here again and intend to do so soon!

Room tip: The 3rd floor is great as there is a fridge on the floor!
Date of stay: October 2012
  • Trip type: Travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Bass_ke
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 26 October 2012

We had 2 private Japanese rooms for a family of 4, loved the futons & found them comfortable. It was easy to find & a very convenient location, walking distance to Kyoto Station & buses to everywhere. They gladly stored our luggage as we arrived quite early. The bathrooms were clean & adequate & very close to our rooms. We carry our own quick dry towels so didn't need to rent towels.The free wi-fi & use of computers was a bonus for us. The staff spoke excellent English & were extremely helpful & caring when we needed medical help late at night, calling the clinic/hospital & telling the taxi driver where to take us. (reaction to a wasp sting, stung at a festival). We enjoyed Kyoto & would happily stay at Hana Hostel again.

Date of stay: September 2012
  • Trip type: Travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Sandra G
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 25 October 2012

Like previous reviewers, I'd had trouble getting affordable accommodation in Kyoto and stumbled upon this on the net. I booked a private room for 2 nights and was quite impressed with Hana hostel, and will definitely stay here again in the future.
The 'shared bathroom' was right across the hall from my small but clean & functional room - yes, towels cost extra to rent but it's literally small change, and you make your own futon.
The staff are pleasant, helpful & speak excellent English. There is a good kitchen (free tea & coffee) & common room, luggage storage and lots of other travellers to chat with, and the station is literally a few minutes walk away.
The excellent English guide & witty signage around the place make the experience more relaxed, and I really enjoyed my time in Kyoto thanks to Hana Hostel.

Date of stay: October 2012
  • Trip type: Travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank HeatherBish
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 9 October 2012

We booked the private room with bath, and it was a good size, albeit the room was just a box, with a view looking at the back of another building.
The staff were very friendly, but charged us for towel rental, which really should be provided when a private bath is booked. The location is good for the railway station, and it is a 30 min walk to the downtown restaurants,and Gion district.

Date of stay: October 2012
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank WHDavies
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews