We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

“A good hotel stay for one night.” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of New Miyako Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
New Miyako Hotel
Ranked #42 of 359 Hotels / Ryokan in Kyoto
Certificate of Excellence
Machida, Japan
Level Contributor
86 reviews
76 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 90 helpful votes
“A good hotel stay for one night.”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 February 2012

I found a great package deal on website, and decided to stay at this hotel on my recent business trip to Kyoto. As many of the reviewers have stated, the location is perfect for both business and pleasure. It is right across the street from Kyoto Station's Hachijo Exit (South) and thus is particularly convenient for those eho take Shinkansen from Tokyo and/or Kintetsu for Nara. The hotel is considered a superior hotel, including a number of fine restaurants. They all look good (though I used only one of them) but rather pricy.

Because I got nearly 50% discount from the regular rate, I should not complain it. However, the room was not impressive. My room was on 8th floor (called Prime rooms) with a queen sized bed. While it was a bit wider than what are called 'business hotels' in Japan, it was rather small for a hotel of this class. The bathroom was nothing different from what you can find in business hotels. There was a free LAN in each room which was nice. However, it was difficult to find out how to connect it. The brochure (in Japanese and English) on Internet connection in the room was outdated (it talks about how to set up computers with Windows 98!!!!!! and XP) and thus should either be removed or replaced by new one. The staff is polite and efficient. If I get the same steep discount, I would come back again, but I have to think twice if I pay a regular rate and/or need to stay for more than one night.

Room Tip: Rooms on Garden side are quiet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, travelled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank PaddingtonTokyo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,905 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    467
    986
    343
    78
    31
See reviews for
604
552
160
228
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (200)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Singapore, Singapore
Level Contributor
99 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 February 2012

The hotel was part of a pkg - shinkansen/hotel, which was a good deal, but the hotel is less than desirable. Can't understand the layout of the bathroom. The toilet AND free standing sink are directly in front of the mirror, so there is no where to stand to apply your makeup. I personally need to be closer than several feet so it's hard to lean over the sink or try to put your body sideways between the commode and sink. The bed is super hard and the bedspread is literally something out of the 60's where the fabric is plastic, so it makes all kinds of noises and is not warm at all. The only plus side as everyone has mentioned is its location across from the train station.

  • Stayed January 2012, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
Helpful?
1 Thank pvickwoo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
USA
Level Contributor
674 reviews
91 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 467 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 January 2012

Booked on Hotels.com and got a very good rate for this hotel. Considering how expensive Japan is, this was quite the bargain.

Pluses: across from the train station, so it is very centrally located. It is also next to one of the Aeon Malls which is FULL of restaurants on the 4th Fl.

The room is very large by Japanese standards.

The concierge spoke good English and was extremely helpful

Check in is at 2pm but we said we had just come on an overnight from overseas so they our request quickly and were soon in our room.

Free internet (cabled) in room.


Cons:

Walking from the train station (the Kansai Airport Express) is a little bit far if you have a LOT of luggage. You have numerous ups and downs and it's a bit of a labyrinth to get to the West Exit which is near the hotel. If you arrived by shinkansen, it would be MUCH easier.

The breakfast is extremely expensive.

If you are sensitive to noise... depending on your room you can hear the comings and goings of the trains.

The bathroom is SMALL.


In balance... this is an excellent hotel of good value in Kyoto.

Room Tip: Ask for a room not facing the station.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank stonewithnomoss
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cairns, Australia
Level Contributor
49 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 January 2012

This hotel was ideal for our group of 3 generations ranging in age from 19 to 84. We had 3 adjoining rooms on the 10th floor of the west wing with views over the railway station entry and the western mountains. Noise was not an issue.
I agree with other recent reviewers in that the basic amenities are done well, the hotel is extremely handy to the railway station and its wonderful cheap restaurants and shops of all types. Eating in was beyond out budget as the hotel restaurants were quite expensive. I would recommend to go out and buy breakfast from the station bakeries, the best being the Suzuya bakery on the ground floor near the central walkway or get more traditional fare from Harves. Dinner at Katsukura at The Cube was excellently priced and we were fed efficiently. It is a bit further from the hotel but I preferred meals there over those directly accross the pedestrian walk from the hotel. My Mum aged 84 was able to manage the station complex quite well with her "walker" and I am more aware of resources for people in wheelchairs or needing other mobility aides..

Room Tip: Lifts are efficient so request a room on the higher floors.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, travelled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Timtom57
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Essex, England
Level Contributor
136 reviews
86 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 100 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 January 2012

This hotel is situated right opposite the Kyoto railway station-a perfect location. It is a little outside the main area for visiting temples and so on, but taxis were surprisingly inexpensive and the bus was very reasonable. We took a bus into the tourist areas of Kyoto and it was easy to find the bus stop on the opposite side of the railway station-just walk through. Incidentally, there are lots of cheap places to eat breakfast inside the station (which is clean and well-kept) such as Mr. Donut where we ate each morning. The hotel food is overpriced. The hotel room was very large by Japanese standards. It was clean and well maintained, with comfortable beds, a pleasant bathroom and staff on hand to help with any requests. The only minor irritation was that this is clearly a hotel which caters to large tour groups so the reception area was very crowded at check in and out times. There are lots of department stores within walking distance and also the Toji temple-if you're in Kyoto on the 21st of the month, don't miss the temple sale that takes place here. It's a huge flea market with stalls selling everything from old kimonos to Tesco recycling bags(!) and the food stalls are amazing. Try the octopus balls or okonomyaki stands-amazingly cheap and delicious too.

  • Stayed November 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank lilgecko
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Kyoto hotels
Shimogyo-ku
Kyoto Century Hotel
Kyoto Century Hotel
#27 of 359 in Kyoto
4.0 of 5 bubbles 733 reviews
Shimogyo-ku
Hotel Granvia Kyoto
Hotel Granvia Kyoto
#14 of 359 in Kyoto
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,771 reviews
Shimogyo-ku
RIHGA Royal Hotel Kyoto
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Southern Kyoto
Ibis Styles Kyoto Station
City Center
The Westin Miyako Kyoto
City Center
Royal Park Hotel The Kyoto
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to New Miyako Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about New Miyako Hotel

Property: New Miyako Hotel
Address: 17 Nishi Kujoin-machi, Minami-ku, Kyoto 601-8412, Kyoto Prefecture
Region: Japan > Kinki > Kyoto Prefecture > Kyoto > Southern Kyoto , Kyoto Station
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
#13 Business Hotel in Kyoto
#19 Family Hotel in Kyoto
Price range (per night): $128 - $457
Hotel Class:3.5 star — New Miyako Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 714
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Agoda, Ctrip TA, Booking.com, JAPANiCAN and Rakuten so you can book your New Miyako Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
New Miyako Kyoto
Hotel New Miyako
New Miyako Hotel Kyoto

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing