We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New Miyako Hotel
Show Prices
Like saving money? We search up to 200 sites for the lowest prices
Nearby Hotels
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Ryokan 
View Hotel
  • Free Internet
Reviews (2,318)
Filter reviews
2,318 results
Traveller rating
597
1,158
422
102
39
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
597
1,158
422
102
39
Show reviews that mention
All reviewstrain stationsouth wingaeon mallpremier floorbusy hotellarge hotelgood sizeexcellent locationmain buildingconvenient locationkansai airporthotel is locatedjapanese hotelstriple roomdepartment storeyour luggagestayed nights
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
923 - 928 of 2,318 reviews
Reviewed 10 February 2012

The hotel was part of a pkg - shinkansen/hotel, which was a good deal, but the hotel is less than desirable. Can't understand the layout of the bathroom. The toilet AND free standing sink are directly in front of the mirror, so there is no where to stand to apply your makeup. I personally need to be closer than several feet so it's hard to lean over the sink or try to put your body sideways between the commode and sink. The bed is super hard and the bedspread is literally something out of the 60's where the fabric is plastic, so it makes all kinds of noises and is not warm at all. The only plus side as everyone has mentioned is its location across from the train station.

  • Stayed: January 2012, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
1  Thank pvickwoo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 January 2012

Booked on Hotels.com and got a very good rate for this hotel. Considering how expensive Japan is, this was quite the bargain.

Pluses: across from the train station, so it is very centrally located. It is also next to one of the Aeon Malls which is FULL of restaurants on the 4th Fl.

The room is very large by Japanese standards.

The concierge spoke good English and was extremely helpful

Check in is at 2pm but we said we had just come on an overnight from overseas so they our request quickly and were soon in our room.

Free internet (cabled) in room.


Cons:

Walking from the train station (the Kansai Airport Express) is a little bit far if you have a LOT of luggage. You have numerous ups and downs and it's a bit of a labyrinth to get to the West Exit which is near the hotel. If you arrived by shinkansen, it would be MUCH easier.

The breakfast is extremely expensive.

If you are sensitive to noise... depending on your room you can hear the comings and goings of the trains.

The bathroom is SMALL.


In balance... this is an excellent hotel of good value in Kyoto.

Room Tip: Ask for a room not facing the station.
  • Stayed: January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank stonewithnomoss
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 January 2012

This hotel was ideal for our group of 3 generations ranging in age from 19 to 84. We had 3 adjoining rooms on the 10th floor of the west wing with views over the railway station entry and the western mountains. Noise was not an issue.
I agree with other recent reviewers in that the basic amenities are done well, the hotel is extremely handy to the railway station and its wonderful cheap restaurants and shops of all types. Eating in was beyond out budget as the hotel restaurants were quite expensive. I would recommend to go out and buy breakfast from the station bakeries, the best being the Suzuya bakery on the ground floor near the central walkway or get more traditional fare from Harves. Dinner at Katsukura at The Cube was excellently priced and we were fed efficiently. It is a bit further from the hotel but I preferred meals there over those directly accross the pedestrian walk from the hotel. My Mum aged 84 was able to manage the station complex quite well with her "walker" and I am more aware of resources for people in wheelchairs or needing other mobility aides..

Room Tip: Lifts are efficient so request a room on the higher floors.
  • Stayed: December 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Timtom57
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 January 2012

This hotel is situated right opposite the Kyoto railway station-a perfect location. It is a little outside the main area for visiting temples and so on, but taxis were surprisingly inexpensive and the bus was very reasonable. We took a bus into the tourist areas of Kyoto and it was easy to find the bus stop on the opposite side of the railway station-just walk through. Incidentally, there are lots of cheap places to eat breakfast inside the station (which is clean and well-kept) such as Mr. Donut where we ate each morning. The hotel food is overpriced. The hotel room was very large by Japanese standards. It was clean and well maintained, with comfortable beds, a pleasant bathroom and staff on hand to help with any requests. The only minor irritation was that this is clearly a hotel which caters to large tour groups so the reception area was very crowded at check in and out times. There are lots of department stores within walking distance and also the Toji temple-if you're in Kyoto on the 21st of the month, don't miss the temple sale that takes place here. It's a huge flea market with stalls selling everything from old kimonos to Tesco recycling bags(!) and the food stalls are amazing. Try the octopus balls or okonomyaki stands-amazingly cheap and delicious too.

  • Stayed: November 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank lilgecko
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 December 2011

Stayed here again after a lovely stay last year. Adequate sized, clean room with amenities. Although stayed in the old wing, but I did not find the room too dated. I would stay here again.

Room Tip: Choose room in new wing , rooms are newer and quieter. My room in old wing faced the road and the noise from the pedestrian crossing tweeter could be quite irritating to some.
  • Stayed: November 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank SporeTripper
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews