We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (54)
Filter reviews
54 results
Traveller rating
26
18
9
1
0
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
26
18
9
1
0
Show reviews that mention
All reviews enjoyed our stay stayed here baths kaiseki tatami gion onsen temple english
Filter
Updating list...
8 - 13 of 54 reviews
Reviewed 29 November 2015

Great location - in walking distance to the city center, the river area with lots of restaurants and bars, and many of the best attractions in Kyoto. It is also well connected with metro and bus-stops close by, and we traveled by bus, trains and metros during our entire stay.

The rooms are large, and very well presented. We chose a traditional Japanese room, sleeping on mattresses on the floor. It was a fun experience, but they are pretty thin, and it might be a better choice for a shorter stay. Same goes for the communal bathrooms where you shower - they are nice and it was a great cultural experience - but leaves little privacy, so it might not be for everyone. There is also a great coin-operated laundry machine to use for guests, which we appreciated.

At check-out, the reception-staff insisted we needed to pay again for our already pre-paid room. We did as we were in a bit of a hurry to catch a train, and had already left when a manager came running after us down the street to sort it out, and promised they would call the credit card company to have have the double charge refunded - which they did and we got our money back - but the whole thing was a little unpleasant, and made us late for the bus we had planned to take to the train station. Overall though - this is a good choice if you want to have a try of some traditional Japanese accommodation.

Room Tip: Try the traditional Japanese rooms for a taste of ryokan-life
  • Stayed: July 2015, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank SHJTH
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 July 2015

I stayed with my family just only one night in this ryokan. It was an amazing experience: a real Japanese house! Excellent location, in Gion district where you can access some of famous historic sights. Excellent food: you can taste a good meal cooked in Kyoto style. Excellent hospitality. Then you can soak in a warm outdoor and indoor Japanese bath. Recommanded

Stayed: August 2014, travelled with family
2  Thank Luisella S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 March 2015

There aren't enough kind words to say about Gion Fukuzumi and their staff. My parents, sister, and I had an amazing experience during our 2 night stay...and my parents are difficult people to please. Our lady who was assigned to us was so sweet, caring, and thoughtful. This staff truly goes out of their way to create a 5 star experience for their guests. The meals were delicious and beautifully crafted. We had a private bath so I never visited the communal bath which I regret. We had a lot of luggage so we took a taxi from Kyoto station which cost about 1500 yen ($15). The ryokan was located in a great location, very close to the main areas of Gion district. My family and I wish we could have stayed longer. Thank you so much for the amazing experience, Gion Fukuzumi!

  • Stayed: March 2015, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
2  Thank louiefamily
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 July 2014

We were pleasantly suprised by the awesome location and quaintness of this medium-priced Ryokan. We arrived late afternoon and were met by a very pleasant staff who quickly showed us to our room which, although not a premium suite, was clean and neat with a great view of Chion-in temple and the Dimonji. We left to walk around Gion and when we returned our room was prepared with a wonderful traditional Kaiseki dinner served by a wonderful attendant and accompanied later by the Mama-San of Fukuzumi. After we left to explore Kyoto at night and were pleased to find our room re-configured into our sleeping quarters with two very comfortable futons laid out on our tatami, each with a male and female origami figurine on the pillow. Breakfast each morning was scrumptious! Highly recommend this Ryokan for the budget-minded, but picky traveler.

(Note: If you return after dark the Ryokan is closed (Lights out and Locked!) and you must wake the attendant to enter...)

Room Tip: Ask for a high floor...
  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
2  Thank Kuro-Ouji
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 May 2014

We stayed for two nights at this Ryokan as part of our 'Japanese experience' and by the end we wished we had stayed for longer! We arrived by train in the morning, and were allowed to leave our bags at the ryokan while we visited the sights of Kyoto. When we returned in the early evening, our bags had been moved to our spacious room with attached toilet and shower. The interior of the ryokan is beautiful, and we loved our traditional room with futons and mats.We wanted to get the most out of the experience, so opted for a Japanese style breakfast and full dinner(Kaiseki). There were world-class meals, composed of about 25 different dishes, served on a traditional low table in a tatami room. The food was superb, with subtle combinations of flavours and textures, extremely fresh seasonal ingredients, and brilliant presentation worthy of photography. The traditional Japanese breakfasts are also highly recommended.
Meals were served by the host dressed in full kimono. The staff were super friendly, even coming out to wave us off.Our stay here definitely enhanced our Kyoto experience and I would stay here again. Point to note is alcoholic drinks are not included in the dinner package.

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank gufoLondra
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews