We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Traditional Inn”
Review of Gion Fukuzumi

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Gion Fukuzumi
Ranked #222 of 407 Hotels / Ryokan in Kyoto
Reviewed 30 December 2016

We stayed here for 1 night and I really enjoyed the experience. The food was amazing and served by a lovely attendant who was happy to explain the different items - even with limited English we were well informed. The location is very central and easy walking distance to the busy Gion area. The rooms were clean and comfortable and we felt well rested after our nights stay.

Stayed: December 2016
Thank Bronwyn T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management response:Responded 1 January 2017

Thank you very much for staying with us and nice compliments too.

We are very happy to hear that you had a memorable and a peaceful day &
night with us.

As you noted, we are proud that we are situated in the best location in Gion
,even in Kyoto.

We are looking forward to serving you again.

MANAGER Ryohei Masawaki

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (47)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

3 - 7 of 47 reviews

Reviewed 10 September 2016

I stayed here for one night from 4-5SEP2016. And I get it, this is supposed to be a Japanese cultural experience. But I don't understand why anyone would want to experience this. The property is quite old and I might describe it as "dingy." The rooms were small and devoid of furniture and many amenities people would enjoy in a hotel room. Tiny fridge, no ice, the room reeked of cigarettes, the bathroom was TINY. We did the whole experience with dinner and breakfast. The woman who served dinner in our room was very polite but only spoke Japanese and it would have been nice to know what we were eating. We ate it all and it was good. I will also say that the air conditioning was nice and powerful. Location in Gion was good. The internet was fast. But these old-school hotels without chairs or beds are not my cup of tea.

  • Stayed: September 2016, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank Evan S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 April 2016

Easy to reach by several buses from the station the hotel is in a district which is very pretty and within walking distance of lots of bars and restaurants. We were greeted by staff who could not have been more helpful. They gave us a map and bus route map and showed us how to go to the places we had chosen to visit. When we returned our luggage was already in our room. We had a very large room with bathroom, but used the onsen which although a little dated was spacious and I was pleased that I was the only one in there! We managed to find more futons in the cupboard and layered up our beds to make sleeping on the mats more comfortable. Breakfasts were very nice with a good selection of Japanese dishes and the ladies showed us how to eat certain foods. One late afternoon walking back to our hotel we were lucky enough to spot 3 Geisha girls walking in our road which although brief was very memorable. The rooms and the facilities are a little dated but the staff and the location made up for this.

  • Stayed: April 2016, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank alisonjane_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 November 2015

Great location - in walking distance to the city center, the river area with lots of restaurants and bars, and many of the best attractions in Kyoto. It is also well connected with metro and bus-stops close by, and we traveled by bus, trains and metros during our entire stay.

The rooms are large, and very well presented. We chose a traditional Japanese room, sleeping on mattresses on the floor. It was a fun experience, but they are pretty thin, and it might be a better choice for a shorter stay. Same goes for the communal bathrooms where you shower - they are nice and it was a great cultural experience - but leaves little privacy, so it might not be for everyone. There is also a great coin-operated laundry machine to use for guests, which we appreciated.

At check-out, the reception-staff insisted we needed to pay again for our already pre-paid room. We did as we were in a bit of a hurry to catch a train, and had already left when a manager came running after us down the street to sort it out, and promised they would call the credit card company to have have the double charge refunded - which they did and we got our money back - but the whole thing was a little unpleasant, and made us late for the bus we had planned to take to the train station. Overall though - this is a good choice if you want to have a try of some traditional Japanese accommodation.

Room Tip: Try the traditional Japanese rooms for a taste of ryokan-life
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2015, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank SHJTH
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 July 2015

I stayed with my family just only one night in this ryokan. It was an amazing experience: a real Japanese house! Excellent location, in Gion district where you can access some of famous historic sights. Excellent food: you can taste a good meal cooked in Kyoto style. Excellent hospitality. Then you can soak in a warm outdoor and indoor Japanese bath. Recommanded

Stayed: August 2014, travelled with family
2  Thank Luisella S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Kyoto hotels
Gion
Sasarindou
Sasarindou
#148 of 407 in Kyoto
103 reviews
Gion
APA Hotel Kyoto Gion Excellent
Gion
Kyoto INN Gion
Kyoto INN Gion
#54 of 407 in Kyoto
47 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Gion
Kinoe
Kinoe
#130 of 407 in Kyoto
99 reviews
Gion
Gion Shinmonso
Gion Shinmonso
#167 of 407 in Kyoto
108 reviews
Gion
Gion Yoshi-ima
Gion Yoshi-ima
#84 of 407 in Kyoto
189 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Gion Fukuzumi? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Gion Fukuzumi

Address: 437 Rinkacho, Higashiyama-ku, Kyoto 605-0062, Kyoto Prefecture
Region: Japan > Kinki > Kyoto Prefecture > Kyoto > Gion
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Suites
Hotel Style:
#94 Top resorts Hotel in Kyoto
Price Range: $176 - $839 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Gion Fukuzumi 3.5*
Number of rooms: 23
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Agoda, Ctrip TA, TripOnline SA, Expedia and JAPANiCAN so you can book your Gion Fukuzumi reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Gion Fukuzumi Hotel Kyoto

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing