We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (551)
Filter reviews
551 results
Traveller rating
262
222
45
11
11
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
262
222
45
11
11
Show reviews that mention
All reviews public bath internal garden modern hotel nishiki market japanese style no window happily stay here again communal areas shijo station comfortable bed quiet street hotel guests japanese bath by foot convenient location front desk staff would highly recommend this hotel
Filter
Updating list...
10 - 15 of 551 reviews
Reviewed 24 July 2018 via mobile

A brilliant hotel from which to explore Kyoto. Wonderful building, bedrooms great, breakfast fantastic and the staff are extremely helpful.
A great location to explore the local area but also a pleasant walk to Gion.

Date of stay: July 2018
Trip type: Travelled with family
1  Thank Comets01
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
front s, フロント オフィス マネージャー at Mitsui Garden Hotel Kyoto Shinmachi Bettei, responded to this reviewResponded 25 July 2018

Thank you very much for choosing Mitsui Garden Hotel Kyoto Shinmachi Bettei for your recent stay in Kyoto and for such lovely and detailed comment on us.
It is our absolute pleasure that you found your room comfortable and the staff welcoming. Our staff works hard to make all our guests feel welcomed and right at home during their stay with us. We also try hard to improve our skills for foreign language including English, Chinese and Korean since we welcome many of guests from all over the world.
Moreover, the location is indeed very central here in Kyoto. Our hotel is located on a quiet lane from which you can explore interesting small side streets or go quickly to the main shopping avenues and subway. The hotel info guide includes map of nearby places to eat - ranging from expensive to economical, and our staff will happily make a reservation for our guests.
Thank you very much again for taking the time to review your stay with us and we all look forward to your return. It's not too early to plan for your next anniversary - we're ready when you are!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 July 2018

Just outside the city centre in a quaint little area of Kyoto with many bars and cafe's around, this hotel is very clean and modern on the inside. The rooms are quite comfortable and a bit bigger than standard. Staff are polite and helpful as well. It is a bit of a walk from the underground station but this was hard as it felt like 40c when we were here. It's didn't feel too far when it cooled down somewhat at night. The walk to the Gion area along the main road does not take long and it is close to all the main attractions you would want to see in Kyoto. Loved our stay and very good value for money!

Date of stay: July 2018
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank kevinrF3318HL
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
front s, フロント オフィス マネージャー at Mitsui Garden Hotel Kyoto Shinmachi Bettei, responded to this reviewResponded 25 July 2018

Thank you very much for staying at Mitsui Garden Hotel Kyoto Shinmachi Bettei on your trip to Kyoto and for sharing your most recent experience at our hotel with us.
Our hotel is located on a quiet lane from which you can explore interesting small side streets or go quickly to the main shopping avenues and subway. The street called Shinmachi, which our hotel is located on, absolutely makes your stay pleasant as it is a small and historical street. It is pretty easy to go to most of the main sightseeing spots in Kyoto city by bus and train, and the hotel is in walking distance to almost everything you may need; convenience stores, supermarket, banks, train stations, bus stops, restaurants and cafes. We all are happy to assist our guests with transportation needs and/or our favorite places to visit and eat.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 June 2018 via mobile

新しいホテルと聞き、予約しました。
(他の京都にある三井ガーデンは泊まった事があるので)

駅、バス停からは距離が若干あります。
歩けない距離ではないのですが、雨降り時や歩き疲れた時は、まだかしら。。。と感じます。

ホテルのスタッフは挨拶をいつもしてくれます。客室も綺麗でしたが、枕が低いと感じました。朝食も美味しいのですが、あまり京都らしさは無かったです。

this hotel a little far from bus station or near the station. but you can walk. It takes about less than 12min from there.
It will be hard if you want to open your suitcase in a room. some staff can speak English. You will keep your bagage before check in at the hotel.

Date of stay: June 2018
Trip type: Travelled with family
Thank Happiness804678
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
front s, マネージャー at Mitsui Garden Hotel Kyoto Shinmachi Bettei, responded to this reviewResponded 23 June 2018
Google Translation

この度はご宿泊誠にありがとうございます。
また、宿泊の感想をお寄せいただきまして、重ねて御礼申し上げます。

最寄のバス停から少し距離はございますが、その分閑静な住宅街の中に位置しており、都会の喧騒を忘れて御滞在いただけます。

客室の枕につきまして、貴重なご意見誠にありがとうございます。
御希望いただければ、追加でお持ちできますので、お気軽にフロントまでお申し付けください。

朝食につきまして、貴重なご意見誠にありがとうございます。
今後もより多くのお客様にご満足いただけますよう、改善を図らせていただきます。

引き続きの御愛顧をお待ちしております。

三井ガーデンホテル京都新町 別邸
宿泊支配人

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 June 2018

Granted this hotel is not in the most picturesque location in the city, however, it is a little gem that offers a great night's sleep and good amenities.

A clean, compact room that wastes no space, still larger than average. A nice, wide, comfortable bed and good-sized bathroom.

Staff very polite and welcoming. No problems with English.

Good facilities such as laundry and iron available. A non-mixed Onsen (public baths) available on the ground floor.

The air conditioning was good and was able to keep the room at a nice chilly temperature at night.

The "Handy" mobile phone was a really excellent addition to the room. This is a smartphone that you can take out with you to provide free data and international calls during your stay. We just used it as a hotspot and it was invaluable.

I would happily stay here again.

Date of stay: April 2018
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
1  Thank AirConFan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
front s, フロント オフィス マネージャー at Mitsui Garden Hotel Kyoto Shinmachi Bettei, responded to this reviewResponded 5 June 2018

Thank you very much for choosing Mitsui Garden Hotel Kyoto Shinmachi Bettei for your recent stay in Kyoto and for such lovely and detailed comment on us.
It is our absolute pleasure that you found your room comfortable and the staff welcoming. Our staff works hard to make all our guests feel welcomed and right at home during their stay with us. We also try hard to improve our skills for foreign language including English, Chinese and Korean since we welcome many of guests from all over the world.
We are very glad to hear that you were able to explore the property and enjoy our facilities. We are modern and make cleanliness a priority. All the guestrooms we have are efficiently setup and well equipped with luxury amenities and air conditioner and air freshener are also available. The bed we offer is called “Serta" which has the top market share in the U.S. All the pocket coils in the mattress are independent, and each spring gently supports your body.
As you mentioned, we have paid (coin operated) laundry machines on the top floor; one is washer and dryer separate, another one is combo. Laundry detergent is contained in a machine. We also have laundry service for those who stay more than two nights since laundry must be picked up by 10 in the morning and they will be ready around evening in the same day.
The location of the hotel is indeed very quiet and peaceful here in Kyoto. But we are still in the heart of Kyoto and in walking distance to almost everything you may need; convenience stores, supermarket, banks, train stations, bus stops, restaurants and cafes. We all are happy to assist our guests with transportation needs and/or our favorite places to visit and eat.
We are delighted to learn how much you enjoyed exploring the town with our free mobile phone “Handy”. As you mentioned, you can use the Handy even outside of the hotel. It enables our guests to make a domestic and international phone call, search and find local events and information. Free wifi and wired LAN internet are also available at our hotel.
Thank you very much again for taking the time to review your recent stay and share your experience with us. We look forward to your return, and hope it will be soon.
Front Office Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 May 2018

Really excellent for my Tokyo Trip.
Room is good and clean and spa is a good point for this hotel too, every night we came back we really enjoy the spa locate on 1st floor.
Special thanks for Akemi san and Tajimi san and also Kento san, thanks your every one's help for recommended the restaurant and where have fun. (Gyurakutei / Umbrella events / and also Sukiyaki) everything is perfect and wonderful. Love u guys
See you guys soon for next Tokyo Trip.
非常讓人驚豔的一間飯店
服務水準已經超越五星級的感覺,入住期間受到飯店人員全方位的照顧,從一入住的CHECK IN 就主動介紹飯店周遭與有甚麼地方可以出遊。
房間乾淨典雅,非常非常的喜歡別邸。
期待下一次的京都之旅,肯定會再回選擇你們再次入住 - Tsai

Date of stay: May 2018
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank ArisTsai
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
front s, フロント オフィス マネージャー at Mitsui Garden Hotel Kyoto Shinmachi Bettei, responded to this reviewResponded 2 June 2018

Thank you very much for staying at Mitsui Garden Hotel Kyoto Shinmachi Bettei during your recent trip to Kyoto and for mentioning helpful staff members by name.
We are so blessed to have such great guests that have become part of our hotel and very glad to know that you found our service to be outstanding. Our staff works hard to personalize our guests' stay as much as possible in order to create a truly unique and memorable experience. We pride ourselves on providing just such experiences for all of our guests, and it gives me great joy to assure you we would do everything within our power to make your stay as memorable as possible. I am so sure Akemi, Aki (Tajimi) and Kento enjoyed catering to your needs as much as you enjoyed your stay.
It is also great to learn that the public bath was relaxing for you. It is actually highly rated, and artificial carbonated water which helps improve your blood circulation without raising blood pressure. The public bath is well supplied with various amenities such as skin toner, moisture lotion, make-up remover especially in women’s public bath.
Thank you very much again for taking the time to share such a wonderful comment with us and hope to see you back one day again, and until then, from all of us here wishing you all the best and of course safe travels.
Front Office Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews