We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent pick in Kyoto”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
The Westin Miyako Kyoto
Ranked #54 of 379 Hotels / Ryokan in Kyoto
Reviewed 7 December 2012

We really debated whether to stay here or at the railway station, closer to the center of town. But eventually the tranquil location of this hotel won us over.

The second morning we woke up, we explored the hotel grounds. There are a couple of very nicely kept Japanese gardens, and a footpath leading up the hill will take you to a shrine. On the way you can also spot the place where the hotel grows its own mushrooms.

The hotel is 200m away from the subway line, and runs free shuttle to and from the railway station. Taxi cabs line up at the gate of the hotel all the time, so there won't be any trouble getting to places.

  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Chin_Jun
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Westin_Miyako, Manager at The Westin Miyako Kyoto, responded to this reviewResponded 30 June 2015

Thank you for staying wth us.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (2,543)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

965 - 969 of 2,543 reviews

Reviewed 6 December 2012

Pros...
20 steps from the front door is the Tokai subway line.
Hotel runs a shuttle that drops u near Main part of town (at Kaiken subway station and the bridges that connect u to the main shopping dining part of town. Shuttle runs 8a until 10p or so
Offers a non-cookie cutter option of staying in the Tatami rooms
You can stroll on the paths behind the main bldg and feel the loveliness of the Kyoto hillsides, bird watch too.
Cons... There are many
That shuttle is good only for getting into town but you're on your own getting back. It also continues on to Kyoto station
Those tatami rooms are arranged in a lovely way ryokan style and the gardens are ok (not exceptional) but overall are very tired and in need of minor facelifting.. Some cracked stucco, lighting is either very subtle (can't work by that light) or quite brite overhead fluorescent. The bathroom was not even close to ryokan standard --- the wood soaking tub was stained as were the drainage boards surrounding --- very unappealing. And there is no option for an in room nice tatami ryokan meal or afternoon tea and snacks.
Food in the casual dining area (aqua bleu) was so- so. Breakfast buffet had variety but overall quality was mediocre
Place is huge and it shows in the abject lack of coordination between their "Service express" desk, the main desk and the concierge. We had two or three specific needs and expressed them early in our three day stay... And In the end, they performed poorly on all three... The simplest of which was to guide on the airport bus limosine bookings etc. The Service Express and Concierge staff need more training and they need to note a guests needs and follow thru In true Japan hospitality style... They seem not to use tools to share info and requests back and forth. Worse, we would receive conflicting info from the various concierge staff (for something as simple and common as airport transit to be botched... Well, you can imagine how our slightly more complex needs (such as shipping a box back to the USA) went
The bed pillows forI the tatami rooms were hard... One side is firm fiber fill and the other sort of a buckwheat or beans but they are so thick and hard that comfort is elusive. Can't tuck the pillow u der your neck very well
There are many options in Kyoto and we've used ryokan 3x and hotels 2x in the past. The Westin Miyako hasn't earned our loyalty for a return visit.

  • Stayed: December 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank litebags
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Westin_Miyako, Manager at The Westin Miyako Kyoto, responded to this reviewResponded 30 June 2015

Thank you for staying wth us.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 December 2012

Having stayed the previous night in a Ryokan, I was really looking forward to the "heavenly bed" that was asvertised at the Westin, and glad to say that i wasn't disappointed!

This is a very, very large hotel ( even with its own wedding chapel in the grounds!), however the service we experienced was warm and friendly with typical Japanese efficiency. We booked direct with the hotel as we had a problem gettign the room for all the nights we wanted on booking sites. Direct rates were great and the hotel responded swiftly to our emails prior to arriving.

Rooms were very well appointed and by far the largest we experienced in Japan. The hotel is located up the hill from downtown Kyoto, however there is lots to see in the area and the views are an experience in themselves. A downtown shuttle leaves (precisely) every half hour and the hotel is only one hundred metres or so from the subway station

Can't comment on the food as we didn't eat at the hotel, apart from room service which was good and, once again, frighteningly efficient!

Certainly would stay here again and cannot fault the quality, service or value for money. Big hotels are not for everyone, however the overall quality and level of service more than compensates.

  • Stayed: October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ozwombat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Westin_Miyako, Manager at The Westin Miyako Kyoto, responded to this reviewResponded 30 June 2015

Thank you for staying wth us.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 November 2012

Make no mistake, this is a big hotel. And it feels like a big hotel. But the upside is that they have free transport between the hotel and the station with drop off points in between. And the rooms are VERY spacious, which makes it a good base for a week stay. The close proximity to the Philosophers Walk and a number of Shrines as well as a train station is perfect. And there are a number of small restaurants within walking distance of the hotel.

Eating and drinking in the hotel is expensive, but the view from the Moonlight bar is lovely, and there was a live jazz performance every night of our stay. Watch out for the Long Island Ice teas, it becomes addictive. And the maitre'd of the Mayfair Tea room recognised us every morning, and even remembered our coffee orders from the second morning onwards.

The staff was very attentive, friendly and helpful. The rooms are well-appointed and luxurious. Wonderful bathroom.

I would stay there again.

  • Stayed: October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank marlette
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Westin_Miyako, Manager at The Westin Miyako Kyoto, responded to this reviewResponded 30 June 2015

Thank you for staying wth us.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 November 2012

The bad: This is a large hotel with significant tour group and business meeting activity. And it shows. The hotel is dated, and the service less personal than I observed in other Japanese hotels.

The good: Location, location. And, you must spend one night in the ryokan room, but then move to a regular chair, bed, electrical outlets, etc.

The best: lunch in the Aquablu restaurant was absolutely 4 star. It is a buffet, but do not be fooled -- the food is fabulous. All of the food was cooked from scratch, the spices in the curry were very complex. When I return to Kyoto, I do not know if I will stay at the Westin, but I will definitely eat lunch at Aquablu.

  • Stayed: November 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank drbob1948
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Westin_Miyako, Manager at The Westin Miyako Kyoto, responded to this reviewResponded 30 June 2015

Thank you for staying wth us.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Kyoto hotels
City Center
Kyoto Hotel Okura
Kyoto Hotel Okura
#22 of 379 in Kyoto
1,281 reviews
Kyoto Station
Hyatt Regency Kyoto
Hyatt Regency Kyoto
#9 of 379 in Kyoto
2,464 reviews
Nishijin District
Kyoto Brighton Hotel
Kyoto Brighton Hotel
#19 of 379 in Kyoto
914 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Shimogyo-ku
Hotel Granvia Kyoto
Hotel Granvia Kyoto
#15 of 379 in Kyoto
3,098 reviews
City Center
ANA Crowne Plaza Kyoto
Shimogyo-ku
RIHGA Royal Hotel Kyoto
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Westin Miyako Kyoto? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Westin Miyako Kyoto

Address: 1 Awadaguchi Kachocho, Higashiyama-ku | Sanjo Keage, Kyoto 605-0052, Kyoto Prefecture
Region: Japan > Kinki > Kyoto Prefecture > Kyoto > City Center
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#10 Spa Hotel in Kyoto
#10 Business Hotel in Kyoto
#14 Family Hotel in Kyoto
#17 Luxury Hotel in Kyoto
#25 Romantic Hotel in Kyoto
Price Range: $214 - $710 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — The Westin Miyako Kyoto 4*
Number of rooms: 499
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Western-style 11-story Hotel located amid Japanese gardens, 5 miles from train station & 31 miles from Kansai Int'l Airport. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, JAPANiCAN, Booking.com, Agoda, Rakuten, Hotels.com, Ctrip TA, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your The Westin Miyako Kyoto reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Westin Miyako Kyoto Hotel Kyoto
Westin Miyako Kyoto
Westin Kyoto
Kyoto Westin

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing