We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The Westin Miyako Kyoto
Nearby Hotels
US$103
US$91
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
Savings alert! 13% below average rates

The price you found is 13% lower than this hotel's average rate of US$104/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

US$97
US$76
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
Savings alert! 39% below average rates

The price you found is 39% lower than this hotel's average rate of US$125/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

US$203
US$86
Trip.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
Savings alert! 35% below average rates

The price you found is 35% lower than this hotel's average rate of US$132/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

US$129
US$83
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Savings alert! 25% below average rates

The price you found is 25% lower than this hotel's average rate of US$111/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

US$123
US$73
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
Savings alert! 24% below average rates

The price you found is 24% lower than this hotel's average rate of US$96/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

US$170
US$100
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
Savings alert! 19% below average rates

The price you found is 19% lower than this hotel's average rate of US$124/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

US$226
US$168
JAPANiCAN.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
Savings alert! 12% below average rates

The price you found is 12% lower than this hotel's average rate of US$190/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

Ryokan 
Ryokufuso(Kyoto)
US$268
US$123
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Free Internet
Savings alert! 19% below average rates

The price you found is 19% lower than this hotel's average rate of US$152/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

US$309
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
Ryokan 
Arashiyama Benkei(Kyoto)
US$642
US$431
Priceline
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (2,720)
Filter reviews
2,720 results
Traveller rating
921
1,078
496
141
84
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
921
1,078
496
141
84
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsshuttle busheavenly bedthe executive loungestarwood pointskeage stationphilosopher's pathjunior suiteshuttle servicetea roomphilosophers walksilver pavilionconcierge deskheian shrinelarge hotelcity viewbit datedjapanese style room
Filter
Updating list...
1,059 - 1,064 of 2,720 reviews
Reviewed 6 December 2012

Pros...
20 steps from the front door is the Tokai subway line.
Hotel runs a shuttle that drops u near Main part of town (at Kaiken subway station and the bridges that connect u to the main shopping dining part of town. Shuttle runs 8a until 10p or so
Offers a non-cookie cutter option of staying in the Tatami rooms
You can stroll on the paths behind the main bldg and feel the loveliness of the Kyoto hillsides, bird watch too.
Cons... There are many
That shuttle is good only for getting into town but you're on your own getting back. It also continues on to Kyoto station
Those tatami rooms are arranged in a lovely way ryokan style and the gardens are ok (not exceptional) but overall are very tired and in need of minor facelifting.. Some cracked stucco, lighting is either very subtle (can't work by that light) or quite brite overhead fluorescent. The bathroom was not even close to ryokan standard --- the wood soaking tub was stained as were the drainage boards surrounding --- very unappealing. And there is no option for an in room nice tatami ryokan meal or afternoon tea and snacks.
Food in the casual dining area (aqua bleu) was so- so. Breakfast buffet had variety but overall quality was mediocre
Place is huge and it shows in the abject lack of coordination between their "Service express" desk, the main desk and the concierge. We had two or three specific needs and expressed them early in our three day stay... And In the end, they performed poorly on all three... The simplest of which was to guide on the airport bus limosine bookings etc. The Service Express and Concierge staff need more training and they need to note a guests needs and follow thru In true Japan hospitality style... They seem not to use tools to share info and requests back and forth. Worse, we would receive conflicting info from the various concierge staff (for something as simple and common as airport transit to be botched... Well, you can imagine how our slightly more complex needs (such as shipping a box back to the USA) went
The bed pillows forI the tatami rooms were hard... One side is firm fiber fill and the other sort of a buckwheat or beans but they are so thick and hard that comfort is elusive. Can't tuck the pillow u der your neck very well
There are many options in Kyoto and we've used ryokan 3x and hotels 2x in the past. The Westin Miyako hasn't earned our loyalty for a return visit.

  • Stayed: December 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank litebags
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Westin_Miyako, Manager at The Westin Miyako Kyoto, responded to this reviewResponded 30 June 2015

Thank you for staying wth us.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 December 2012

Having stayed the previous night in a Ryokan, I was really looking forward to the "heavenly bed" that was asvertised at the Westin, and glad to say that i wasn't disappointed!

This is a very, very large hotel ( even with its own wedding chapel in the grounds!), however the service we experienced was warm and friendly with typical Japanese efficiency. We booked direct with the hotel as we had a problem gettign the room for all the nights we wanted on booking sites. Direct rates were great and the hotel responded swiftly to our emails prior to arriving.

Rooms were very well appointed and by far the largest we experienced in Japan. The hotel is located up the hill from downtown Kyoto, however there is lots to see in the area and the views are an experience in themselves. A downtown shuttle leaves (precisely) every half hour and the hotel is only one hundred metres or so from the subway station

Can't comment on the food as we didn't eat at the hotel, apart from room service which was good and, once again, frighteningly efficient!

Certainly would stay here again and cannot fault the quality, service or value for money. Big hotels are not for everyone, however the overall quality and level of service more than compensates.

  • Stayed: October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ozwombat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Westin_Miyako, Manager at The Westin Miyako Kyoto, responded to this reviewResponded 30 June 2015

Thank you for staying wth us.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 November 2012

Make no mistake, this is a big hotel. And it feels like a big hotel. But the upside is that they have free transport between the hotel and the station with drop off points in between. And the rooms are VERY spacious, which makes it a good base for a week stay. The close proximity to the Philosophers Walk and a number of Shrines as well as a train station is perfect. And there are a number of small restaurants within walking distance of the hotel.

Eating and drinking in the hotel is expensive, but the view from the Moonlight bar is lovely, and there was a live jazz performance every night of our stay. Watch out for the Long Island Ice teas, it becomes addictive. And the maitre'd of the Mayfair Tea room recognised us every morning, and even remembered our coffee orders from the second morning onwards.

The staff was very attentive, friendly and helpful. The rooms are well-appointed and luxurious. Wonderful bathroom.

I would stay there again.

  • Stayed: October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank marlette
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Westin_Miyako, Manager at The Westin Miyako Kyoto, responded to this reviewResponded 30 June 2015

Thank you for staying wth us.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 November 2012

The bad: This is a large hotel with significant tour group and business meeting activity. And it shows. The hotel is dated, and the service less personal than I observed in other Japanese hotels.

The good: Location, location. And, you must spend one night in the ryokan room, but then move to a regular chair, bed, electrical outlets, etc.

The best: lunch in the Aquablu restaurant was absolutely 4 star. It is a buffet, but do not be fooled -- the food is fabulous. All of the food was cooked from scratch, the spices in the curry were very complex. When I return to Kyoto, I do not know if I will stay at the Westin, but I will definitely eat lunch at Aquablu.

  • Stayed: November 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank drbob1948
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Westin_Miyako, Manager at The Westin Miyako Kyoto, responded to this reviewResponded 30 June 2015

Thank you for staying wth us.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 November 2012

A lovely hotel and we enjoyed our stay in Kyoto. Not so close to the station tho. We got a taxi arriving & departing Kyoto. Easy to book tours. We took a half day tour . The hotel was clean and our room had a balcony overlooking old houses and a graveyard but it wasnt depressing, rather traditional. In Japan they seem to have unusual pillow fillings. A few hotels we stayed at have 'normal' type as well as ones they describe as filled with peanuts. Seemed like crushed 'stuff' So we preferred the standard type and requested a 2nd one to replace the crushed filling type. No problems there. We would recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed: November 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank SandraEd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Westin_Miyako, Manager at The Westin Miyako Kyoto, responded to this reviewResponded 30 June 2015

Thank you for staying wth us.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews