We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“comfortable but expensive buffet breakfast”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
The Westin Miyako Kyoto
Ranked #55 of 405 Hotels / Ryokan in Kyoto
Reviewed 6 January 2011

stayed for 3 nights with family of 4 in 2 rooms. One facing the North with nice views of the Eastern and Northern hills. A comfortable stay for all of us and I thought the price of the rooms were not unreasonable. The only complaint is the outrageous price for the breakfast buffet downstairs (2 Floor) - 2900 yen per person (at 83 yen per dollar, that's $35) At that price, unless it's raining or snowing, I'd go down the street to the pancake place. As a matter of fact after the first morning, we got some nice rolls at a bakery and had coffee and rolls the next 2 days. Since it was raining the first night, we did order room service for dinner - expensive but very ample portions and was good. The staff was very nice and helpful.

  • Stayed: December 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank greenshoe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management response:Responded 11 January 2011

Thank you for staying at the Westin Miyako Kyoto and posting your experience on Tripadvisor.com for others to share.

We are very proud to read your appraisal of our services and facilities and I know my colleagues will be equally pleased to learn of your kind remarks and recognition of their efforts to meet your needs. We strive to express our passion of service through a great hotel experience, and your comments have brought valuable feedback for our improvement.

Refer to the breakfast, we serve Japanese-style& Western-style breakfast made with locally harvested seafood and vegetables in season. One of the ways that Westin has made it easy for guests to maintain a healthy lifestyle is with the introduction of our extensive SuperFoodsRx(TM)* menu. We are the first hotel to offer a signature SuperFoodsRx menu with more than 10 delicious options – from steel-cut oatmeal and blueberry smoothies to smoked turkey tacos and broccoli and cheddar omelets. These nutrient-rich dishes are available on our in-room dining menu in addition to being offered à la carte and in the breakfast buffet downstairs. It’s just one of the many ways Westin is committed to your wellness, from the inside out and we hope you will get what you pay for.

We truly appreciate your kind support as our guest, and look forward to welcoming you back again soon!

Best Regards,
Toshiyuki Hayashi
On-Line Marketing, Westin Miyako kyoto

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (2,585)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,141 - 1,145 of 2,585 reviews

Reviewed 28 December 2010

We chose to stay here instead of the Kyoto Station area because of a cheap deal we found over hotels.com. The shuttle bus from Kyoto Station was a little hard to find as the bus actually departs outside the Kintetsu Rail area at the back of the terminal. Look for a bus stop named "REX", that's where the bus picks up once every 30 minutes on and past the hour.

The service at the hotel was a real mixed bag. The concierge and the lady on the switch were down to earth, warm and helpful whilst the front desk was a bit snooty and aloof at times. The rooms are clean but dated, but bathrooms are in drastic need for a make-over. The breakfast looked sad and depressing, everything and everyone were cramped into very confined spaces rubbing elbows trying to down those glasses of concentrated OJ for Y3380 a head. On balance, this is not a *real* Westin but an old Japanese hotel on the outskirt of the city masquerading as a premier 5-star property without being able to deliver impeccable service and posh rooms.

The hotel is close to Nanzan-ji but far from everything else. Unless you plan to visit Nanzan-ji everyday, I would recommend that you stay at Kyoto Station area, buy a 500 yen bus pass, and catch buses to the usual touristy haunts. Note the hotel's shuttle bus only runs to the station with a stop in Gion until 9pm-ish, then you are left on your own. Factor in Kyoto's horrific peak hour traffic (who would have guessed, eh), you will end up being stuck on that bus a lot longer than you care for. Forget about a night out on the town and making it back on foot.

Given the poor quality of the rooms and less than ideal location, I would not stay here again no matter how cheap it is.

  • Stayed: December 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Navitimer1881
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management response:Responded 31 December 2010

Thank you very much for taking the time to share your feedback on Tripadvisor. We have taken careful note of your comment on the service levels.

We are really sorry to learn that your stay in our hotel has not met your expectations. Anyway all feedback is really important for us and we can assure that your comments about the services of staff and the quantity of breakfast will be analyzed in detail.

As the sigh and the stop of the shuttle bus you mentioned, it was most kind of you to have brought the matter to our attention through the Trip advisor forum that we can continue monitoring and improving our service standards.

As the location, besides Nanzen-ji, Kiyomizu-tera, Nishihongan-ji, Kamigamo-Shrine, Heian-Shrine, The National Museum of Art, Kyoto and so on, these famous places are near to our hotel. It is just 2-minutes walk from our hotel to the railway which you can go anywhere of Kyoto. We hope you would take a wonderful time to enjoy the historical Kyoto next stay!

We look forward to welcoming you back to The Westin Miyako Kyoto once again in the not too distant future.

Warm regards
Toshiyuki Hayashi 
On-Line Marketing, Westin Miyako kyoto

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 December 2010

We stayed here for 3 nights in December 2010 with my husband and 2 kids under 7. Room size was huge and shower was awesome. Hotel shuttle was awesome when we finally found it. Staff was polite but not exceptionally helpful. Concierge provided minimal information and one word answers. Hotel is very dated and somewhat stuffy. We were very put off by the way we were "nickled and dimed" for EVERYTHING, IE Internet [LAN connection] was 1500Y for 24 hrs, wireless [only available in the lobby] 2100Y for 24 hrs, extra coffee for room 500Y, to use the pool 500Y per person per day, etc. Hotel restaurants EXTREMELY expensive [2500Y for hamburger and fries!] Good location, close to temples and Philosophers Walk. We had a room on the street side which had a nice city view but could be loud at night. Overall it was OK but I had higher expectations for a Westin.

Stayed: December 2010, travelled with family
Thank siena8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management response:Responded 28 December 2010

Thank you very much for taking your time to write a comment about our Hotel!

It is good to hear feedback from you about the price as we consistently are aiming to improve our services to our loyal guests. We want to ensure that all our treasured guests experience a most pleasant and renewing time at The Westin Miyako Kyoto.

Your comments about the concierge were very constructive and helpful, and we are most grateful to you for letting us know of our deficiencies. We will certainly pass on your compliments to our team and continue to improve the service skill, to provide our professional and high-standard service to all of our guests.

We try our utmost best to ensure that we exceed our guest’s expectations. We look forward to welcoming you back to our hotel in the near future!

Sincerely yours,
Toshiyuki Hayashi 
On-Line Marketing, Westin Miyako kyoto

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 December 2010

Chose this room and booked and paid to get specifically a room with City View (the view is very important to us). So got that and at reception they told us they sort of 'upgraded' us to a room renovated in 2005.... ok thanks.. but does that also mean for the same price one might get something less pleasant?
Lucky might we have been, our room was very nice, clean, good view on Kyoto, nice beds, quite spacious. For the beds i can understand how some people might think are too hard but turned out we slept very well.

The hotel can however improve by getting some indication at Kyoto station to show where to take the hotel shuttle - very important because when you first arrive this is the first thing you want and need at the station. we were lucky to have asked people that knew but if not... I have no idea how I would know where to take it (no sign whatsoever even at the stop so how can one know?)

the reception also tried to sell us many things upgrades etc (no complaint, they are doing their job right, perfectly fine to be commercial), so we gave the breakfast a shot. a bit pricy (hotel breakfast as usual) but we don't regret as the choices are so wide and excellent quality.

gym and pool for 500 yen per day of use so we didn't bother. but noticed that this pay for pool / facilities policy is everywhere in all hotels we stayed in Japan.

The facade might not look the most attractive but we enjoyed very much our stay. Probably would stay there again.

  • Stayed: December 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank freakytsz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management response:Responded 28 December 2010

It was a great pleasure to have you as our guest and thank you for taking the time to share your experience on TripAdvisor.

We were delighted to hear that you had a wonderful stay with us at Westin Miyako Kyoto. It was nice to hear the rooms, services and the views. We want to ensure that all our treasured guests experience a most pleasant and renewing time at Westin Miyako Kyoto.

Your comments were very constructive and helpful, and we will certainly pass on your compliments about the indication of shuttle bus to our team and continue to provide our professional and high-standard service to all of our guests.

We very much look forward to having the opportunity to welcome you back to the improved Westin Miyako Kyoto in the near future.

Sincerely yours,

Toshiyuki Hayashi 
On-Line Marketing, Westin Miyako kyoto

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 December 2010

+ good location to explore Kyoto by foot, although at first glance seems to be a bit far from the center. That's right, but city center is full of commercial and business buildings, while suburbs are just what you need to experience real Kyoto (which, by the way, was charming).
+ large and impressive lobby
+ nice breakfast, but not included in room rate (booked through iGlobe - at rate 2 times less than the hotel's published rate)

- I can't speak of all the rooms, but the building we were in (hotel seems to consist of 2 or 3 different buildings all connected together) is more like 3*. Old carpets and furniture in the hallways, old rooms. Bed was OK, but not "heavenly" (I stayed at Westin Arabella at Cape Town - well THAT was a heavenly bed!). Bathroom is a complete joke - definitely not renovated since Westin took control of old Miyako Hotel. Ok, I don't ask much since I paid 100$ per night but there were people who paid 200-300 bucks and more, do they get the same rooms? No "rainshower" as you may read on website, just the bathtub - very clean, but very old.
- shuttle bus is hard to find, although it's good to have an advantage to use it - at least, on your way back to station

Renovate all the rooms, please, or reduce the rates as some rooms are definitely not Westin standard!

  • Stayed: September 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Thefall
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management response:Responded 27 December 2010

It was a great pleasure to have you as our guest and thank you for taking the time to share your experience on TripAdvisor. We are very happy to hear that you had such a good experience at Westin Miyako Kyoto, especially on location, lobby and breakfast.

The Heavenly Shower you mentioned, which has been installed on some types of rooms in our hotel, not all. We will certainly pass on your compliments about the renovation to our team and continue to provide our professional and high-standard service to all of our guests.

Your comments about the shuttle bus sign were very constructive and helpful, and we are most grateful to you for letting us know of our deficiencies. We very much look forward to having the opportunity to welcome you back to the improved Westin Miyako, Kyoto in the near future.

Sincerely yours,
Toshiyuki Hayashi 
On-Line Marketing, Westin Miyako kyoto

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Kyoto hotels
City Center
Kyoto Hotel Okura
Kyoto Hotel Okura
#21 of 405 in Kyoto
1,308 reviews
Kyoto Station
Hyatt Regency Kyoto
Hyatt Regency Kyoto
#9 of 405 in Kyoto
2,512 reviews
Nishijin District
Kyoto Brighton Hotel
Kyoto Brighton Hotel
#16 of 405 in Kyoto
934 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Shimogyo-ku
Hotel Granvia Kyoto
Hotel Granvia Kyoto
#13 of 405 in Kyoto
3,146 reviews
City Center
Mitsui Garden Hotel Kyoto Shinmachi Bettei
Shimogyo-ku
RIHGA Royal Hotel Kyoto
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Westin Miyako Kyoto? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Westin Miyako Kyoto

Address: 1 Awadaguchi Kachocho, Higashiyama-ku | Sanjo Keage, Kyoto 605-0052, Kyoto Prefecture
Region: Japan > Kinki > Kyoto Prefecture > Kyoto > City Center
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#10 Business Hotel in Kyoto
#10 Family Hotel in Kyoto
#12 Spa Hotel in Kyoto
#18 Luxury Hotel in Kyoto
#25 Romantic Hotel in Kyoto
Price Range: $202 - $655 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — The Westin Miyako Kyoto 4*
Number of rooms: 499
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Western-style 11-story Hotel located amid Japanese gardens, 5 miles from train station & 31 miles from Kansai Int'l Airport. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Rakuten, JAPANiCAN, Ctrip TA, Agoda, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your The Westin Miyako Kyoto reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Westin Miyako Kyoto Hotel Kyoto
Westin Miyako Kyoto
Westin Kyoto
Kyoto Westin

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing