We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great western style Hotel in Kyoto”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
The Westin Miyako Kyoto
Ranked #54 of 405 Hotels / Ryokan in Kyoto
Reviewed 18 January 2011

We stayed here for 5 nights with three rooms all facing North with the great view of Northern and Eastern Kyoto. We arrived on New Years Eve after it snowned for most of the day. The view from our rooms were incredible. Since it was New Year Holiday, getting restaurant reservation was tough especially for a large party and starting 4 weeks before our arrival, I worked with the Concierge and she was extremely helpful. She make reservation for us and check on many restaurnats that we were interested to see if they are opened during the New Year Holiday. The shuttle bus though not as frequent as we would like and not enough stops but it is complimentary so I am thankful. It did provided us with most of the transfer to Kyoto station or bus stops that we needed. The location is quite good. We walked to Chion Temple in snow (10 minutes) to witness the New Years Eve bell ringing. We walked from the Silver Pavillion via the Philosopher's Walk back to the Hotel. They are even a 3 michellin star restaurant within walking distance of the Hotel like Hyo-tei and popular tofu restaurant like Okutan is close by. The rooms are actually very big for Japanese Standard. The restaurants are expensive like all major Hotel in the world. The food we had at Kunugi Teppanyaki was very good and bottle of Veuve Cliquot Rose Champagne at 16,000 yens was fair for New Years Eve (in Rome they double and triple their regular restaurant price for the same bottle of wine). Service was great both at the restaurant and hotel services. I will definitely return. I am also very impress that Toshiyuki Hayashi actually reply to review here. I think that show they listen and care.

  • Stayed: January 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank AVFOOL
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management response:Responded 20 January 2011

Thank you very much for your kindly supporting of Westin brand and taking the time to share your thoughts about your recent stay in the Westin Miyako Kyoto on Tripadvisor. We are delighted to read how much you enjoyed your stay and our hotel features among the most wonderful hotels you have stayed in.

We are very proud to hear that you had such a good experience at the Westin Miyako Kyoto, and appreciate that you noted our concierges, shuttle bus, location, facilities, restaurants and services, the entire team will be happy to learn of your great experience with us and we will share your recognition of our efforts.

Thank you for acknowledging the friendliness and attentiveness of our team; it is certainly with great pleasure that we take every opportunity to exceed your expectations and we do hope to ensure you will want to return.

We truly appreciate your kind support as our guest, and look forward to welcoming you back again soon!

Best Regards,
Toshiyuki Hayashi
On-Line Marketing, Westin Miyako kyoto

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (2,585)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,137 - 1,141 of 2,585 reviews

Reviewed 15 January 2011

Overall a beautiful hotel. We had a room with an amazing view of Kyoto and the mountain lines of central Japan.
Service was immaculate and the staff were all very friendly.
If you're not in a rush to get out, take the buffet for breakfast. A great selection of both Japanese and western food is offered for appx 3000yen. This is not expensive considering the quality of the food served. You can even have your eggs cooked the way you want by the chef- right in front of you!
If you're dining in for dinner try the chinsese. Chefs know exactly what they are doing and everything was of 5star quality. You must try the mango pudding here. It is even better than the ones offered at the infamous To-Cho in Aoyama, Tokyo.

  • Stayed: January 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Tokyoschmo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management response:Responded 23 January 2011

It was a great pleasure to have you as our guest!
Thank you for taking the time to write a positive review and for the 5 stars you gave us for your recent stay. We appreciated hearing about all the refreshing things you enjoy about our hotel.

For breakfast buffet, we serve Japanese-style& Western-style breakfast made with locally harvested seafood and vegetables in season. The Mango pudding you mention is one of the most popular menus in our Chinese restaurant!  We were delighted to hear that you enjoyed our food and service. I will share your kind comments with our team.

At each season, we have a great view from the guest room. I hope you will enjoy these view on your next stay!
Thank you again for all of your comments, and will look forward to welcoming you back again soon.

Best Regards,

Richard Suter,
General Manage

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 January 2011

if you're staying in a Starwood hotel in Japan, you're probably missing out on some local culture, but this place is a solid choice nonetheless. the location is good, in eastern Kyoto, a 2-3 minute walk from the (small but occasionally useful) Kyoto Metro; it is also a short taxi ride from major temples/sites such as Kiyomizudera, Ginkakuji, etc. if you don't have a ton of baggage, you can take the subway here from Kyoto station with one transfer, otherwise there is a free Westin shuttle from Kyoto station to the hotel that leaves from the other Miyako hotel opposite Kyoto station--ask if you can't find it at the station. This shuttle bus doesn't start until something like 8 or 9am though, so the subway's a good option to have early in the morning. if you're a walking type, you could walk a lot of places from the hotel, it's not far at all to sites in eastern Kyoto (10-20 mins). don't listen to the concierge (who had a bit of an attitude problem IMO--exceedingly rare in Japan) who claimed ludicrously inaccurate walking distances--claiming things would take an hour that took me 15 mins; of course this will obviously differ based on your walking speed/enthusiasm for such things.

the rooms were good if small (typical for Japan). internet access fees were typically outrageous (Starwood's trademark move). the gym had nice facilities--the pool looked nice. one minor complaint. it was like a sauna in the fitness center--unbearably muggy--but it was great otherwise.

i tried the buffet (pricey) for breakfast and it was really good if you have to have that sort of thing (i think it's free for elite Starwood folk--but don't quote me on that). there are western and eastern options (actually there were tons of Japanese staying there to my surprise).

would recommend to anyone, but especially good for Starwood junkies.

  • Stayed: December 2010, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Bmckay75
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management response:Responded 23 January 2011

Thanks for staying at The Westin Miyako Kyoto and posting your review on Tripadvisor.com. We are pleased to know that you were quite satisfied with hotel location and our free shuttle bus service.

Meanwhile we feel sorry about that you were unhappy for the reply of concierge and the muggy air of fitness center at our hotel. As the high-end brand hotel of Starwood, it's our pursuit to provide our professional and high-standard service to all of our guests. The Westin brand values most the uncompromising and bespoke services. Therefore, we are carefully looking into your comment and our Rooms department will improve the service level for colleagues and advance the fallibilities. We believe you'll have a better experience next time you stay with us.

Thanks for your helpful feedback on our services and we'll work even harder to make the Westin Miyako Kyoto a truly "Address" for discerning travelers all over the world. We look forward to your return visit in near future to witness our progress.

Best regards

Toshiyuki Hayashi
On-Line Marketing, Westin Miyako Kyoto

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 January 2011

We recently stayed at the Westin in Kyoto. Although it's not in the center of town, it has a free shuttle that connects with Kyoto Station and Gion every 30 minutes, which is very convenient and you can easely walk downtown if you feel like it. It's a huge hotel, with everything in it, from spa, pool, gym, several restaurants, a huge garden and trail where you can walk and do some bird watch. Rooms and bathroom are super clean and with a good size, not small at all (at least the one we stayed in. The staff, as you could expect, is very, very friendly and always ready to help you. The only "fault" I have to point is that, like other starwood hotels you have to pay for the internet access in the room and also in the lobby area...)

  • Stayed: January 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank m_portugal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management response:Responded 24 January 2011

Thank you for staying at The Westin Miyako Kyoto posting your review on Tripadvisor.com. We appreciate your recommendation and feel very pleased knowing that you've spent a wonderful weekend with us.

As one of the most luxurious hotel in Kyoto, The Westin Miyako Kyoto is prestigious for its location with unique natural environment and great cultural diversity as well as for its renovated facilities. I'm glad that you like everything. We want to consider as much as possible for our guests and to make their stay with us a wonderful experience, more than just a sound sleep or a sumptuous breakfast.

As for the payment of internet access, I would be more than glad to introduce to you our special offers with free internet service until to March 17th. You can visit our official website for more information. Anyway, look forward to meeting you during "Happy Hour" at our hotel in near future.

Warm regards

Toshiyuki Hayashi
On-Line Marketing, Westin Miyako kyoto

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 January 2011

stayed for 3 nights with family of 4 in 2 rooms. One facing the North with nice views of the Eastern and Northern hills. A comfortable stay for all of us and I thought the price of the rooms were not unreasonable. The only complaint is the outrageous price for the breakfast buffet downstairs (2 Floor) - 2900 yen per person (at 83 yen per dollar, that's $35) At that price, unless it's raining or snowing, I'd go down the street to the pancake place. As a matter of fact after the first morning, we got some nice rolls at a bakery and had coffee and rolls the next 2 days. Since it was raining the first night, we did order room service for dinner - expensive but very ample portions and was good. The staff was very nice and helpful.

  • Stayed: December 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank greenshoe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management response:Responded 11 January 2011

Thank you for staying at the Westin Miyako Kyoto and posting your experience on Tripadvisor.com for others to share.

We are very proud to read your appraisal of our services and facilities and I know my colleagues will be equally pleased to learn of your kind remarks and recognition of their efforts to meet your needs. We strive to express our passion of service through a great hotel experience, and your comments have brought valuable feedback for our improvement.

Refer to the breakfast, we serve Japanese-style& Western-style breakfast made with locally harvested seafood and vegetables in season. One of the ways that Westin has made it easy for guests to maintain a healthy lifestyle is with the introduction of our extensive SuperFoodsRx(TM)* menu. We are the first hotel to offer a signature SuperFoodsRx menu with more than 10 delicious options – from steel-cut oatmeal and blueberry smoothies to smoked turkey tacos and broccoli and cheddar omelets. These nutrient-rich dishes are available on our in-room dining menu in addition to being offered à la carte and in the breakfast buffet downstairs. It’s just one of the many ways Westin is committed to your wellness, from the inside out and we hope you will get what you pay for.

We truly appreciate your kind support as our guest, and look forward to welcoming you back again soon!

Best Regards,
Toshiyuki Hayashi
On-Line Marketing, Westin Miyako kyoto

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Kyoto hotels
City Center
Kyoto Hotel Okura
Kyoto Hotel Okura
#21 of 405 in Kyoto
1,308 reviews
Kyoto Station
Hyatt Regency Kyoto
Hyatt Regency Kyoto
#9 of 405 in Kyoto
2,512 reviews
Nishijin District
Kyoto Brighton Hotel
Kyoto Brighton Hotel
#17 of 405 in Kyoto
934 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Shimogyo-ku
Hotel Granvia Kyoto
Hotel Granvia Kyoto
#14 of 405 in Kyoto
3,147 reviews
City Center
Mitsui Garden Hotel Kyoto Shinmachi Bettei
Shimogyo-ku
RIHGA Royal Hotel Kyoto
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Westin Miyako Kyoto? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Westin Miyako Kyoto

Address: 1 Awadaguchi Kachocho, Higashiyama-ku | Sanjo Keage, Kyoto 605-0052, Kyoto Prefecture
Region: Japan > Kinki > Kyoto Prefecture > Kyoto > City Center
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#10 Family Hotel in Kyoto
#10 Business Hotel in Kyoto
#12 Spa Hotel in Kyoto
#18 Luxury Hotel in Kyoto
#25 Romantic Hotel in Kyoto
Price Range: $204 - $656 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — The Westin Miyako Kyoto 4*
Number of rooms: 499
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Western-style 11-story Hotel located amid Japanese gardens, 5 miles from train station & 31 miles from Kansai Int'l Airport. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Ctrip TA, JAPANiCAN, Agoda and HotelQuickly so you can book your The Westin Miyako Kyoto reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Westin Miyako Kyoto Hotel Kyoto
Westin Miyako Kyoto
Westin Kyoto
Kyoto Westin

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing