We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The Westin Miyako Kyoto
Nearby Hotels
US$102
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
Savings alert! 22% below average rates

The price you found is 22% lower than this hotel's average rate of US$130/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

Hotel Kanra Kyoto(Kyoto)
US$259
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
Savings alert! 26% below average rates

The price you found is 26% lower than this hotel's average rate of US$352/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

US$145
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
US$90
Hotels.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
Savings alert! 18% below average rates

The price you found is 18% lower than this hotel's average rate of US$110/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

US$101
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
US$223
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
Ryokan 
Ryokufuso(Kyoto)
US$127
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Free Internet
Savings alert! 12% below average rates

The price you found is 12% lower than this hotel's average rate of US$145/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

US$152
US$103
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Savings alert! 13% below average rates

The price you found is 13% lower than this hotel's average rate of US$118/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

US$290
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
Savings alert! 14% below average rates

The price you found is 14% lower than this hotel's average rate of US$338/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

Ryokan 
Arashiyama Benkei(Kyoto)
US$750
US$414
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (2,715)
Filter reviews
2,715 results
Traveller rating
918
1,076
496
141
84
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
918
1,076
496
141
84
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsshuttle busheavenly bedthe executive loungestarwood pointskeage stationphilosopher's pathjunior suiteshuttle servicetea roomphilosophers walksilver pavilionconcierge deskheian shrinelarge hotelcity viewbit datedjapanese style room
Filter
Updating list...
1,203 - 1,208 of 2,715 reviews
Reviewed 21 January 2011

We found the Westin Miyako to be an excellent base for a visit to Kyoto. We arrived on my sons birthday. We asked if it was possible to organise a cake for him (at about 8PM). About 15 minutes after checking in, a cake arrived at our room. Similarly, we asked if it was possible for a rollaway bed to be used. This arrived within minutes. We found the staff at the front desk, the shuttle bus organiser and the concierge to be extremely helpful and gave us all the information we needed (including bullet train schedules). The only downside was the expensive internet access which was 1050 Yen for 1 hour wireless in the foyer (approx $13 per hour). The breakfast buffet was also a little expensive but there are several places within a 5 minute walk where you could have a fine breakfast at less than half the price. There are numerous small restaurants, close by, where fine local food is available at very good prices if the rather formal hotel restaurants are not to your taste. The shuttle bus service to the train station leaves from the front of the hotel every 30 minutes (although you could walk in about 30 minutes on a fine day). The subway is about 50m from the hotel so access to most of the city is easy. It did seem odd that access to the fitness centre cost 500Y per visit after the first. (it hardly seems worth charging such a nominal fee).
Incidentally, we were not charged for the birthday cake nor for the rollaway bed which meant we left with an even more favourable view of the hotel. All in all, we found the Westin Miyako Kyoto to be an excellent place to stay and I would thoroughly recommend it to anyone.

  • Stayed: January 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank SteveWebber
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management response:Responded 24 January 2011

hank you for taking the time to post a review for the Westin Miyako Kyoto and for the positive comments about our staff at the front desk, the shuttle bus and the concierge. Your highly appraise were very inspiring, and we will certainly pass on your compliments to our team and continue to provide our professional and high-standard service to all of our guests. They will work exceptionally harder to make every guest feel special.

We appreciate your recommendation and feel excited when reading “Westin Miyako Kyoto to be an excellent place to stay and I would thoroughly recommend it to anyone.” I also noted your comment about our location, close to the subway line and to the scenic spot and historic resort of Kyoto.

We appreciate your comment on the price of the internet access, breakfast and access of fitness. As the high-end brand hotel of Starwood, it's our pursuit to provide our professional and high-standard service to all of our guests. The Westin brand values most the uncompromising and bespoke services. Therefore, we are carefully looking into your comment and our Rooms department will improve the service level for colleagues and advance the fallibilities. We believe you'll have a better experience next time you stay with us.

Thanks again for your sincere sharing and look forward to your return visit in near future. We will be striving for a more seductive environment and a truly home for our guests. Wish you and your sun all the best!

Best Regards,
Toshiyuki Hayashi
On-Line Marketing, Westin Miyako kyoto

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 January 2011

We stayed here for 5 nights with three rooms all facing North with the great view of Northern and Eastern Kyoto. We arrived on New Years Eve after it snowned for most of the day. The view from our rooms were incredible. Since it was New Year Holiday, getting restaurant reservation was tough especially for a large party and starting 4 weeks before our arrival, I worked with the Concierge and she was extremely helpful. She make reservation for us and check on many restaurnats that we were interested to see if they are opened during the New Year Holiday. The shuttle bus though not as frequent as we would like and not enough stops but it is complimentary so I am thankful. It did provided us with most of the transfer to Kyoto station or bus stops that we needed. The location is quite good. We walked to Chion Temple in snow (10 minutes) to witness the New Years Eve bell ringing. We walked from the Silver Pavillion via the Philosopher's Walk back to the Hotel. They are even a 3 michellin star restaurant within walking distance of the Hotel like Hyo-tei and popular tofu restaurant like Okutan is close by. The rooms are actually very big for Japanese Standard. The restaurants are expensive like all major Hotel in the world. The food we had at Kunugi Teppanyaki was very good and bottle of Veuve Cliquot Rose Champagne at 16,000 yens was fair for New Years Eve (in Rome they double and triple their regular restaurant price for the same bottle of wine). Service was great both at the restaurant and hotel services. I will definitely return. I am also very impress that Toshiyuki Hayashi actually reply to review here. I think that show they listen and care.

  • Stayed: January 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank AVFOOL
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management response:Responded 20 January 2011

Thank you very much for your kindly supporting of Westin brand and taking the time to share your thoughts about your recent stay in the Westin Miyako Kyoto on Tripadvisor. We are delighted to read how much you enjoyed your stay and our hotel features among the most wonderful hotels you have stayed in.

We are very proud to hear that you had such a good experience at the Westin Miyako Kyoto, and appreciate that you noted our concierges, shuttle bus, location, facilities, restaurants and services, the entire team will be happy to learn of your great experience with us and we will share your recognition of our efforts.

Thank you for acknowledging the friendliness and attentiveness of our team; it is certainly with great pleasure that we take every opportunity to exceed your expectations and we do hope to ensure you will want to return.

We truly appreciate your kind support as our guest, and look forward to welcoming you back again soon!

Best Regards,
Toshiyuki Hayashi
On-Line Marketing, Westin Miyako kyoto

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 January 2011

Overall a beautiful hotel. We had a room with an amazing view of Kyoto and the mountain lines of central Japan.
Service was immaculate and the staff were all very friendly.
If you're not in a rush to get out, take the buffet for breakfast. A great selection of both Japanese and western food is offered for appx 3000yen. This is not expensive considering the quality of the food served. You can even have your eggs cooked the way you want by the chef- right in front of you!
If you're dining in for dinner try the chinsese. Chefs know exactly what they are doing and everything was of 5star quality. You must try the mango pudding here. It is even better than the ones offered at the infamous To-Cho in Aoyama, Tokyo.

  • Stayed: January 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Tokyoschmo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management response:Responded 23 January 2011

It was a great pleasure to have you as our guest!
Thank you for taking the time to write a positive review and for the 5 stars you gave us for your recent stay. We appreciated hearing about all the refreshing things you enjoy about our hotel.

For breakfast buffet, we serve Japanese-style& Western-style breakfast made with locally harvested seafood and vegetables in season. The Mango pudding you mention is one of the most popular menus in our Chinese restaurant!  We were delighted to hear that you enjoyed our food and service. I will share your kind comments with our team.

At each season, we have a great view from the guest room. I hope you will enjoy these view on your next stay!
Thank you again for all of your comments, and will look forward to welcoming you back again soon.

Best Regards,

Richard Suter,
General Manage

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 January 2011

if you're staying in a Starwood hotel in Japan, you're probably missing out on some local culture, but this place is a solid choice nonetheless. the location is good, in eastern Kyoto, a 2-3 minute walk from the (small but occasionally useful) Kyoto Metro; it is also a short taxi ride from major temples/sites such as Kiyomizudera, Ginkakuji, etc. if you don't have a ton of baggage, you can take the subway here from Kyoto station with one transfer, otherwise there is a free Westin shuttle from Kyoto station to the hotel that leaves from the other Miyako hotel opposite Kyoto station--ask if you can't find it at the station. This shuttle bus doesn't start until something like 8 or 9am though, so the subway's a good option to have early in the morning. if you're a walking type, you could walk a lot of places from the hotel, it's not far at all to sites in eastern Kyoto (10-20 mins). don't listen to the concierge (who had a bit of an attitude problem IMO--exceedingly rare in Japan) who claimed ludicrously inaccurate walking distances--claiming things would take an hour that took me 15 mins; of course this will obviously differ based on your walking speed/enthusiasm for such things.

the rooms were good if small (typical for Japan). internet access fees were typically outrageous (Starwood's trademark move). the gym had nice facilities--the pool looked nice. one minor complaint. it was like a sauna in the fitness center--unbearably muggy--but it was great otherwise.

i tried the buffet (pricey) for breakfast and it was really good if you have to have that sort of thing (i think it's free for elite Starwood folk--but don't quote me on that). there are western and eastern options (actually there were tons of Japanese staying there to my surprise).

would recommend to anyone, but especially good for Starwood junkies.

  • Stayed: December 2010, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Bmckay75
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management response:Responded 23 January 2011

Thanks for staying at The Westin Miyako Kyoto and posting your review on Tripadvisor.com. We are pleased to know that you were quite satisfied with hotel location and our free shuttle bus service.

Meanwhile we feel sorry about that you were unhappy for the reply of concierge and the muggy air of fitness center at our hotel. As the high-end brand hotel of Starwood, it's our pursuit to provide our professional and high-standard service to all of our guests. The Westin brand values most the uncompromising and bespoke services. Therefore, we are carefully looking into your comment and our Rooms department will improve the service level for colleagues and advance the fallibilities. We believe you'll have a better experience next time you stay with us.

Thanks for your helpful feedback on our services and we'll work even harder to make the Westin Miyako Kyoto a truly "Address" for discerning travelers all over the world. We look forward to your return visit in near future to witness our progress.

Best regards

Toshiyuki Hayashi
On-Line Marketing, Westin Miyako Kyoto

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 January 2011

We recently stayed at the Westin in Kyoto. Although it's not in the center of town, it has a free shuttle that connects with Kyoto Station and Gion every 30 minutes, which is very convenient and you can easely walk downtown if you feel like it. It's a huge hotel, with everything in it, from spa, pool, gym, several restaurants, a huge garden and trail where you can walk and do some bird watch. Rooms and bathroom are super clean and with a good size, not small at all (at least the one we stayed in. The staff, as you could expect, is very, very friendly and always ready to help you. The only "fault" I have to point is that, like other starwood hotels you have to pay for the internet access in the room and also in the lobby area...)

  • Stayed: January 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank m_portugal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management response:Responded 24 January 2011

Thank you for staying at The Westin Miyako Kyoto posting your review on Tripadvisor.com. We appreciate your recommendation and feel very pleased knowing that you've spent a wonderful weekend with us.

As one of the most luxurious hotel in Kyoto, The Westin Miyako Kyoto is prestigious for its location with unique natural environment and great cultural diversity as well as for its renovated facilities. I'm glad that you like everything. We want to consider as much as possible for our guests and to make their stay with us a wonderful experience, more than just a sound sleep or a sumptuous breakfast.

As for the payment of internet access, I would be more than glad to introduce to you our special offers with free internet service until to March 17th. You can visit our official website for more information. Anyway, look forward to meeting you during "Happy Hour" at our hotel in near future.

Warm regards

Toshiyuki Hayashi
On-Line Marketing, Westin Miyako kyoto

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews