We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Destinia.com
Etrip
Trip.com
ZenHotels.com
StayForLong
Expedia.com
View all 15 deals
Prices are the average nightly price provided by our partners and may not include all taxes and fees. Taxes and fees that are shown are estimates only. Please see our partners for more details.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (265)
Filter reviews
265 results
Traveller rating
62
149
49
3
2
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveller rating
62
149
49
3
2
See what travellers are saying:
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
17 - 22 of 265 reviews
Reviewed 15 May 2017 via mobile

Stayed here for one night with the Mrs and TBH we where both less than impressed. Staff where friendly enough just the hotel and facilities are very dated and small, for the price there are much better options in Osaka.

Date of stay: May 2017
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
2  Thank Chris G
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
堂島川温泉天神の湯ドーミーイン梅田東, フロント オフィス マネージャー at Dormy Inn Umeda Higashi, responded to this reviewResponded 23 September 2017


We appreciate that you stayed at our hotel and your comment.
We hope to seeing you again.

Thank you.

Yusuke Matsuura.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 May 2017

We booked this hotel as it was one of the few places that could accommodate 7 of us during Sakura season. What a great find. We had 4 rooms, located next to each other. It's a 20 minute trek from Osaka station with luggage (pity they don't offer a minibus pickup, but we used the morning shuttle to the station a couple of times. Just remember to book in advance to be sure of a seat). It's only 5 minutes walk from the subway and JR line.
Rooms are large for Japanese standards and the beds were comfortable. Wifi worked well. Shower was great but for a real treat try the onsen. Very clean and nice free toiletries.
We loved the choice at breakfast- something for everyone. Our party leader, on his 6th visit to Japan, was very complimentary about the breakfast. It was certainly the best breakfast of the 4 hotels we stayed in during our holiday to Japan. We also tried the free noodle service one night and enjoyed it.
The laundry is next to the onsen. Washing machines are free but you pay for the tumble dryer. The washing cycle took about 1 hour and clothes were dry enough to hang up in the room overnight and be ready to wear in the morning without needing to use the tumble dryer.
The hotel has a relaxed atmosphere. We saw several people appear at breakfast or the evening noodles wearing the hotel pyjamas (which are very comfortable). The front desk staff speak sufficient English and are very friendly.
If we return to Osaka we will certainly consider staying here again.

Date of stay: April 2017
  • Trip type: Travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
2  Thank chrism1161
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
天神の湯, フロント オフィス マネージャー at Dormy Inn Umeda Higashi, responded to this reviewResponded 5 July 2017

Thankyou for your visit to our hotel. We are glad to hear that you have enjyoed your stay with us.
We will keep trying to provide our guests a confortable time.
We hope to see you again.





From
Taiki Nishiura

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 May 2017 via mobile

We stayed here as a family of six with two in each room in the early part of Japan's Golden Week. As with all the Dormy Inn hotels I've stayed in, this one was fantastic.

First up, the rooms are pretty spacious by Japanese standards. We had no trouble fitting the luggage of two people in our room and we were very comfortable generally. Having a door to separate the entrance/sink/toilet/shower and the bed area, and having things like a brand new-looking, large flatscreen television are also very nice bonuses that make this hotel feel quite premium. You even get some touches from much more expensive hotels, like a choice of pillows according to your preference. Everything was impeccably clean and tiny, and everything looks like it is in immaculate condition.

Another highlight was the breakfast, which is buffet style but with everything freshly cooked and being constantly refilled. I could have eaten a dozen of their made to order omelettes or fresh fried eggs. There's enough of a selection of both western and Japanese style food to cater to all tastes, even my kind of picky family. Everything tasted delicious. There is a small amount of competition for the food on offer (especially the bread basket and use of the toaster) but your patience will be rewarded. One thing to bear in mind, however, is that for groups larger than two, it might be difficult to find seats all together. We only managed to do this on one of our three mornings here, but all things considered it's a minor quibble in light of everything else.

As an extra treat, there's also a public bath which is freely available to use. It's relatively well-sized with indoor and outdoor options and a sauna. Like everything else it was beautifully clean and in great condition.

The staff were at all times friendly and helpful - ordering taxis when we requested them, giving extra pillows, and being extremely apologetic when they couldn't seat us together at breakfast. Some also speak a bit of English so you don't have to worry when you check in if you don't speak Japanese.

General hotel amenities are quite strong - there's free public WiFi everywhere, a hotel computer which is free to use, vending machines which unlike some hotels are not overpriced, high quality toiletries including razors, shampoo, toothbrushes and everything else you'd expect, and a complimentary late night noodle service. You also get a multi-purpose charger for phones and tablets.

The location, while not as convenient as one of the main tourist hotels in Namba, is also pretty good. The nearest station is just five minutes away and takes you directly to the main areas like Dotombori and Tennoji in ten to twenty minutes. It's a great balance of convenience and price.

All in all, I can't recommend this hotel (and this chain) enough. They've never let me down, and I'm sure they won't let you down either. Dormy Inn punch far, far above their weight for the price and the official TripAdvisor three-star rating does no justice to the five-star service you'll get at every turn.

Date of stay: May 2017
Trip type: Travelled with family
2  Thank James K
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 27 April 2017

While in Japan, one should embrace the local customs and food - this is a great spot in Osaka to do just that. While the rooms are quite small, we stayed at several places much smaller, the service is polite and helpful. We had a special set of circumstances and the staff tried their best to assist.
The breakfast is quite good and the onsen is excellent with indoor and outdoor spa

Date of stay: March 2017
  • Trip type: Travelled with friends
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Ganghook48
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
天神の湯, フロント オフィス マネージャー at Dormy Inn Umeda Higashi, responded to this reviewResponded 5 July 2017

Thankyou for your warm reviews about our hotel.
As you have mentioned, we are very confident about our onsen and we are glad to here you have had a confortable time.
We hope to see you again.





From,
Taiki Nishiura






Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 April 2017 via mobile

Spent four nights here, the location is good and close to underground a JR lines, and a convenient minibus to Osaka station (not Shin Osaka) You are required to had you key back every time you leave the hotel and found this quite odd and would only issue breakfast vouchers daily.
While I like Japanese food I and enjoyed most of the food I ate in japan i found the breakfast indistinguishable from meals normally eaten in the evening, they would have curry rice and grilled fish, the western part of the buffet was limited to tiny waffles and croissants. I cannot fault the staff for their politeness or their effort to accommodate my total lack of Japanese. The TV service does not have any English speaking channels and the WIFI is useless even after they had issued me with some sort of booster it still didn't work. I get the feeling that most of the people visiting this hotel was for the spa, we never visited as am of the opinion that their requirement for nudity too far.

Date of stay: April 2017
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
2  Thank dyanisis1978
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews