We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very comfortable room, we had a pleasant stay”
Review of Hotel New Tanda

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Hotel New Tanda
Ranked #31 of 74 Hotels / Ryokan in Nagasaki
Reviewed 1 May 2015

Reading the other reviews we realize we were lucky to get a renovated room on the 7th floor (room 710). Great beds, spacious, new bathroom (unfortunately the shower curtain tends to cling to your body and the stepdown is somewhat steep), pleasant view at the inlet of the harbour. Short walk to the trams or to the terraces of the restaurants at the cosy harbour site. Please visit the atomic bomb museum, we found it more appealing than the museum in Hiroshima.

  • Stayed: April 2015, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
1  Thank Paul_&_Sanderella
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (78)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

3 - 7 of 78 reviews

Reviewed 2 April 2015 via mobile

Poorly maintained with mould on shower curtains. A 10 minute drive by taxi from Jr station and few stops on the team which is located close to hotel. Breakfast was surprisingly decent with an ok Western selection and plenty of Japanese favourites.

Stayed: March 2015, travelled with family
1  Thank HKFamily2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 March 2015 via mobile

We made a reservation at this hotel based on the location. Close to Glover garden, Dejima wharf and China town, all in walking distance. For those coming by car it's very close to the highway exit, and parking is free!

For the 5000 yen we paid per room we got a typical business hotel room, it might have been slightly bigger. The floor we stayed on was refurbished, but some of the furniture is still original (old).

We didn't make use of the breakfast option, but overall the experience is slightly better than other business hotels we've stayed in Japan.

Stayed: March 2015, travelled with family
1  Thank jsteenderen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 January 2012

Having spent three nights here I came away with mixed emotions: was this a hotel for business users or was it catering for families (certainly not families with young children as there are no facilities)? or holiday goers? a bit of all really, but as a result the hotel feels soulless. Additionally, the standard of food in the restaurant (very good, but expensive) and the breakfast (excellent) far exceed the quality of the rooms.

The room I stayed in was dark and dingy, lacking natural and artificial light. This is not help by the the seventies decor: the carpets I could see were new, but are back in the vastly seventies style. Bed was comfy and bathroom functional but not comfortable. There is a television and phone service, but I did not use these. Internet is available via a LAN, and annoyingly you need to provide your your own cable (RJ45): seem s little silly and most people on the go will be using laptops or tablets and use wireless, so some infrastructure needs updating here!

The location of the hotel is excellent and overlooks a park and the harbour. The view of the mountains surrounding the city is simply gorgeous. Approximately 300 metres from the main entrance is a tram stop and the tram system in Nagasaki is easy to use and cheap (120 Yen per trip at the time of this review). The hotel has a car park beneath it too should you have a car.

The standard of the restaurant is fairly high, but the menu is confused. You get the feel of French and Japanese, but I am not entirely sure. There are some classic Nagasaki dishes on offer and these are excellent and plenty of food to get through. The French style dishes lack refinement, but the quality of the produce is of the highest standard. Food is expensive here and I am not entirely sure it's targeted at the right audience, seeing the restaurant was almost empty every night I was there. Breakfast was a mix of Japanese, European and English; all cook very well and plenty of it; presented as a buffet, you can can back as often as you like. Do NOT miss breakfast as you will not be disappointed!

This hotel has the potential to be stunning, but requires focus. Additionally, new decor, infrastructure and fittings are needed, with a little market research required. You get the feeling that someone here has looked at the Laura Ashley and Wedgewood catalogue, but forgotten what really matters.

Nagasaki has loads on offer and you get the felling that the city is too modest for its own good. Hotel New Tanda could focus on catering to the tourist more and shout out what Nagasaki has to offer as the place is beautiful and I prefer it to Tokyo. Come on Hotel New Tanda, get a grip, focus on a market and shout out what Nagasaki has to offer!

Room Tip: You can smoke in all rooms, so as a non-smoker, ask if there is such a room available.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Richard W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
An Agoda Traveller
Reviewed 12 June 2009

  • Stayed: June 2009
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank An Agoda Traveller
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Nagasaki hotels
0.5 km away
Nagasaki Washington Hotel
Nagasaki Washington Hotel
#21 of 74 in Nagasaki
242 reviews
0.8 km away
Comfort Hotel Nagasaki
Comfort Hotel Nagasaki
#20 of 74 in Nagasaki
264 reviews
0.1 km away
Hotel Monterey Nagasaki
Hotel Monterey Nagasaki
#5 of 74 in Nagasaki
626 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 km away
Hotel Belleview Nagasaki Dejima
0.5 km away
Hotel JAL City Nagasaki
Hotel JAL City Nagasaki
#12 of 74 in Nagasaki
462 reviews
0.7 km away
Victoria Inn Nagasaki
Victoria Inn Nagasaki
#23 of 74 in Nagasaki
139 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel New Tanda? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel New Tanda

Address: 2-24 Tokiwa-machi | Nagasaki-shi, Nagasaki 850-0843, Nagasaki Prefecture
Region: Japan > Kyushu-Okinawa > Nagasaki Prefecture > Nagasaki
Amenities:
Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #31 of 74 Hotels / Ryokan in Nagasaki
Price Range: $69 - $229 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel New Tanda 3*
Number of rooms: 135
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with JAPANiCAN, Agoda, TripOnline SA and Rakuten so you can book your Hotel New Tanda reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing