We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Huge disappointment and the worst JW stay so far”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
JW Marriott Kuala Lumpur
Ranked #11 of 349 Hotels in Kuala Lumpur
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 14 September 2017

Renovations, Terrible process, Failure prone Designs but compensated by acceptable service and location.

First time @ JW KL, and what a disappointment. Lobby itself looks like I am entering a serviced apartment while the lift took a good 5 min to appear. Did I say that we took another 10 min to reach our room? Be it the long queues at lifts (seriously JW??), not working lifts, access card rejections and refusing to move from Ground floor.. Staff were there all the time but they appear to be busy or well aware that this is not their problem (??)

Rooms are ok and nothing great to talk about.

Food: Be it breakfast, or in-room dining was a huge disappointment. Find your way to breakfast, queue up to sign the bill first (??) and walk around to find an empty table. Just like a food court.. Oh yeah, I overheard a complaint that somebody else took their table while the original guest went to get some food. So good to start carrying the tissue to chope.

Finally, I fully understood that the hotel is under renovation but a little proactiveness and empathy can go a long way. The 'renovation' should not be an excuse for guests to get any thing less than JW experience.

Room Tip: Avoid until the renovations are done.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2017, travelled on business
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank srikrishnak
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Skaf M, General Manager at JW Marriott Kuala Lumpur, responded to this reviewResponded 14 September 2017

Dear srikrishnak,

Thank you for taking the time to share your valuable feedback with us. We apologize that our appearance and service extended during your stay at the hotel was not up to yours and also our expectoration. Trust that your thoughts are very much appreciated and we will definitely review it with the team with further plans of improvement.

Once again, thank you for sharing your review on TripAdvisor and we do hope to have another opportunity to serve you better on your future stays to Kuala Lumpur.

Regards,
Mahmoud Skaf, Area General Manager, Kuala Lumpur

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (2,602)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

74 - 78 of 2,602 reviews

Reviewed 13 September 2017

JW Marriott is in the heart of KL. Pavilion shopping center is just across the street. It is very easy to go for shopping, dinning, or drinking.

The hotel is in remodeling at this point. I got a newly renovated room during my stay. The room is big, clean, and comfortable. I really like the room. However, the gym and executive lounge lounge are in the temporary sites. I am looking forward to visiting the renovated executive lounge and gym next time.

I also want to take this opportunity to thank the Executive Lounge Manager (Velu). I met him at the first day of my stay. Whenever I met him during my stay, he was always with full of energy and hospitality. I really enjoyed his services. He and other hotel staff gave me wonderful experience at JW Marriott. I am looking forward to my next visiting...

  • Stayed: August 2017, travelled on business
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Nanuk B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Skaf M, General Manager at JW Marriott Kuala Lumpur, responded to this reviewResponded 14 September 2017

Dear Nanuk B,

Thank you for sharing your comments with us on TripAdvisor. We are delighted to read about your experience with us and also very pleased to inform you that both our Gym and Executive Lounge are now open again. Thank you for mentioning the names of those associates whom provided excellent service so that we may recognize and thank them personally. We will share your comments with our team and we look forward to welcoming you back again on your next trip to Kuala Lumpur. Thank you once again for your loyalty to our brand and our hotel.

Regards, Mahmoud Skaf, Area General Manager, Kuala Lumpur

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 September 2017

Neither am I rich nor am I royalty but the staff here at the JW made me feel like both. All the -ve reviews I kept reading about the ongoing renovation made me almost cancel my reservation in favor of The Majestic.

Enter Wonder woman - Shireen Monteiro who took it upon herself to make sure our stay was most comfortable, I am blown away by the fact that every little aspect of our stay was looked into and catered to with flawless execution.

The entire staff went above and beyond the call of duty to help their guests and made sure the stay was truly wonderful. They were pulling 12 hour shifts but still had a smile on their face and always willing to help.

Bill Marriott should be proud that such great people are part of his team.

Room Tip: Ask for a higher floor
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2017, travelled with family
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank SidKak
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Skaf M, General Manager at JW Marriott Kuala Lumpur, responded to this reviewResponded 14 September 2017

Dear SidKak,

Thank you for sharing your comments and photos with us on TripAdvisor. We are very pleased to read that your stay was a pleasant one and appreciate the time take to share the names of those associates whom provided excellent service so that we may recognize and thank them for the efforts personally. We hope that we may welcome you back again to our hotel should your travel plans bring you back to Kuala Lumpur. Thank you once again for your loyalty to our brand and our hotel.

Regards, Mahmoud Skaf, Area General manager, Kuala Lumpur

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 September 2017

Newly renovated, 5* hotel in a perfect location in Bukit Bintang. Housekeeping prepared our room especially for our Anniversary. Staff in the Executive Lounge was absolutely superb, every morning and every afternoon, and repeatedly sought ways to make excellent service even better. When the internet faltered, technical support staff provided an Ethernet cable and a supplemental router to improve connectivity. Extensive renovations will make the hotel even more lovely, but service was consistently excellent even during minor disruptions. Great views of the city from high floors. Very impressive hotel and Associates.

  • Stayed: September 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 69WorldTraveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Skaf M, General Manager at JW Marriott Kuala Lumpur, responded to this reviewResponded 13 September 2017

Dear 69WorldTraveler,

We are honored to celebrate your Anniversary with you and it was a pleasure to know that we've made it a memorable experience. Your kind words of encouragement has definitely inspired the team to continue on their great efforts and trust that we will recognize them for their outstanding performance.

Thank you very much for the positive review and we do certainly look forward to welcome you back to JW Marriott Kuala Lumpur.

Regards,
Mahmoud Skaf, Area General Manager, Kuala Lumpur

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 September 2017

We visted JW Marriott in Kuala Lumpur and we will be back .Despite being in remodeling, we did not feel any discomfort . The staff were super friendly and made us feel at home, it is a 5 start hotel close to a very nice shopping center and a lot of restaurant .
There is a very good Arabic Restaurant we had late dinner there marvelous .
The bar is awesome with live music .

  • Stayed: August 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
2  Thank Elena P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Skaf M, General Manager at JW Marriott Kuala Lumpur, responded to this reviewResponded 12 September 2017

Dear Elena P,

Thank you for sharing your comments with us on TripAdvisor. We are delighted to read that you enjoyed your stay with us and were able to try Al Halabi restaurant. We will share your comments with our team and hope that we may welcome you back again in the future should your travel plans bring you back to Kuala Lumpur.

Regards, Mahmoud Skaf, Area General Manager, Kuala Lumpur

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Kuala Lumpur hotels
0.2 km away
The Ritz-Carlton, Kuala Lumpur
The Ritz-Carlton, Kuala Lumpur
#6 of 349 in Kuala Lumpur
936 reviews
0.1 km away
Grand Hyatt Kuala Lumpur
Grand Hyatt Kuala Lumpur
#3 of 349 in Kuala Lumpur
2,937 reviews
0.9 km away
Mandarin Oriental, Kuala Lumpur
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 km away
The Westin Kuala Lumpur
The Westin Kuala Lumpur
#26 of 349 in Kuala Lumpur
2,627 reviews
1.1 km away
Shangri-La Hotel Kuala Lumpur
Shangri-La Hotel Kuala Lumpur
#5 of 349 in Kuala Lumpur
7,336 reviews
0.7 km away
Traders Hotel, Kuala Lumpur
Traders Hotel, Kuala Lumpur
#8 of 349 in Kuala Lumpur
10,073 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to JW Marriott Kuala Lumpur? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about JW Marriott Kuala Lumpur

Address: 183 Jalan Bukit Bintang, Kuala Lumpur 55100, Malaysia
Region: Malaysia > Wilayah Persekutuan > Kuala Lumpur
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Family Hotel in Kuala Lumpur
#4 Business Hotel in Kuala Lumpur
#8 Spa Hotel in Kuala Lumpur
#11 Luxury Hotel in Kuala Lumpur
#11 Romantic Hotel in Kuala Lumpur
Price Range: $246 - $409 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — JW Marriott Kuala Lumpur 5*
Number of rooms: 578
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
JW Marriott Kuala Lumpur unfolds its next chapter "The Happening Hotel" rich in pleasures and discoveries, as KL's latest vibrant scene. Located in the heart of the exciting "Golden Triangle", the city's prime business and shopping district and adjoining to the prestigious Starhill Gallery, JW Marriott offers easy access to the lively and vibrant shopping strip which boasts upscale brands, a vast variety of restaurants and numerous entertainment outlets. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda, Hotels.com, Expedia and Ctrip TA so you can book your JW Marriott Kuala Lumpur reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Marriott Kuala Lumpur
Kuala Lumpur Marriott

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing