We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great location (from StarMart Express station) but...”
Review of Melia Kuala Lumpur

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Melia Kuala Lumpur
Ranked #42 of 353 Hotels in Kuala Lumpur
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 19 February 2012

1. The room given to us had a broken AC unit; they tried fixing it but to no avail.
2. Rooms on the second floor looked shabby and old.
3. Quite overpriced for the quality of the rooms and given that it's a four-star hotel, I expected much more.
4. Musty smell inside the rooms.

Meanwhile:

1. Staff was very friendly and helpful.
2. Key card access in elevators and rooms.
3. Yummy breakfast spread! :)
4. Location was right across the StarMart Express bus station, which is convenient should you decide to visit Singapore. There was also a 7-11 store next door.

Room Tip: Avoid the rooms at the end of the second floor. Make sure your AC unit is in good condition.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank iamHunnyBee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (2,372)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,587 - 1,591 of 2,372 reviews

Reviewed 17 February 2012

My 2nd trip to KL and this time with a girlfriend. We just wanted to shop and get away from work and the worries back home. Upon reaching the hotel, we were greeted with happy staff. Upon entering the lobby, it boast of a very organized system in client's checking in. Wider reception and more people. It was smooth and quick. As for us who arrived exhausted and tired, we really appreciated it. The room isn't the best that I've seen in my life but it was good enough. Clean and spacious. The best part of it, we had a corner view which we can see the streets easily. To our left was another mall and the view in front was just shops and shops! My gf and I just totally loved it. It was really the perfect location. Internet wasn't free back then (I'm not sure now) so if you require one, you have to pay for it per day. Buffet breakfast was not bad but it offered a lot of Malaysian cuisine. Well,after all, we are in Malaysia right?

We had good memories of that trip and would definitely recommend this hotel to our friends!

Room Tip: Request for a corner room like we had for better views. And since this hotel is by the street, try t...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank LonelyPTraveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 February 2012

we stayed for 3 nights in october, the hotel is in a execellent location. Across from times square shopping centre. (great shopping) and a monorail station 50 metres away. Walk to great shopping areas. The room was nice, well maintained. You can't be to tall or you will hit your head in the bath come shower. Breakfast was a fantastic variety. My only disappointment was the reception staff. They unfortunately didn't know what they were doing with my booking. would stay again however.

  • Stayed: October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank mazdaCraigmore
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 February 2012

We spent 2 nights at this hotel again during the Lunar New yaer period but was disappointed as we were not given rooms facing Times Square like our previous stay. Not only the view was nothing to shout about, the room conditions were not that good as well.

Those driving to the hotel should take note the access to the carpark with narrow driveway and sharp turns to the basement carpark. Parking in the basement is RM3 per day while parking on the ground level just outside the hotel is RM20 per day.

Location is perfect and staff impeccable in service. The restaurant on level two had just shifted to the ground level called The Kitchen and it opened the first day we were there. The food was fantastic. However, for Zafiro members, they should take note of the change in policy where only one members benefit certificate can be used per day and members discount card for dining cannot be used together as well.

Breakfast was still served on level two which can be crowded. Unfortunately, non-smokers may have to endure cigarette smoke coming up from the ground level lobby or lounge.

Overall our stay was fine. As for shopping, just in front across the road is Times square and turn left to reach Sungei Wang and Bukit Bintang Plaza. Crossing the bridge from Sungei Wang will lead to Lot 10 where the Japanese Isetan departmental store is the anchor tenant.

Room Tip: Choose rooms facing Times Square where the view is good.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank TJX05
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 February 2012

After looking at Melia, Park Royal, Raja Chulan, we settled for Melia for significantly lower price (A$40 per day less) than the other two. We are happy wioth our choice. The hotel is literally next door to the Imbi Monorail station. We took the skybus from LCCT (AirAsia airport) to the Sentral station (MR 9), and then the monorail to the hotel (MR 3). Quite straight forward, low cost and idiot-proof. During our stay A$ = 1.06 US$ = MR 3.2.

Being next to Monorail defintely helps. We used monorail extensively for our travelling around. To go to KLCC (Twin towers there), we had to change from Monrail to other train (LRT/RapidKL? - Look at the map located everywhere), but that was straightforward too. You buy the tickets separately.

The room was spotless, bathroom was clean, and the staff were exceptionally helpful in every way. The breakfast was not extraordinaly, but was quite adequate with a good variety.

We changed A$ at one of the three money changers at Sungei Wang plaza next door which gives a slightly better rate than the ones at Bukit Bintang.

When we returned we took the hotel limousine for MR 120. A random taxi booked by the hotel would cost MR90. Now that everything had gone well per plan, we wanted the extra comfort for the MR30.

Right opposite to the hotel, at the Time Square building, there is a taxi counter. You can get prepaid taxis from there to any location including the airport (MR 85). We found that useful as we could avoid haggling with the taxi drivers. Blue taxis are generally good I was told. It is written on them that they run by meter.Taxis are inexpensive in KL. When more than 2 people travel this could be the same as public transport.

Melia KL is a good value for money, located nicely. We will not hesitate to stay here next time too. Walking to Pavilion mall from here should not take more than 15 minutes.

  • Stayed: January 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank sivakugan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Kuala Lumpur hotels
0.3 km away
ParkRoyal Kuala Lumpur
ParkRoyal Kuala Lumpur
#36 of 353 in Kuala Lumpur
3,578 reviews
0.3 km away
Furama Bukit Bintang
Furama Bukit Bintang
#50 of 353 in Kuala Lumpur
2,362 reviews
0.8 km away
Dorsett Kuala Lumpur
Dorsett Kuala Lumpur
#43 of 353 in Kuala Lumpur
1,564 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 km away
Berjaya Times Square Hotel, Kuala Lumpur
0.6 km away
Ramada Suites Kuala Lumpur City Centre
0.4 km away
Mercure Kuala Lumpur Shaw Parade
Mercure Kuala Lumpur Shaw Parade
#29 of 353 in Kuala Lumpur
262 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Melia Kuala Lumpur? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Melia Kuala Lumpur

Address: Melia Kuala Lumpur 16 Jalan Imbi | Kuala Lumpur, Kuala Lumpur 55100, Malaysia
Phone Number:
Region: Malaysia > Wilayah Persekutuan > Kuala Lumpur
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#34 Family Hotel in Kuala Lumpur
#40 Luxury Hotel in Kuala Lumpur
Price Range: $93 - $145 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Melia Kuala Lumpur 4*
Number of rooms: 288
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Set in the city's prime location, among all the prestigious business addresses, stands the Melia Kuala Lumpur. Right at the heart of the city's 'Golden Triangle' and commercial district, the hotel occupies an unbeatable location. With the iconic Petronas Twin Towers reachable in 3 minutes by monorail, popular shopping attractions footsteps away, and cultural attractions such as the Bintang Walk and Little India nearby. The hotel features spacious, well-appointed rooms that are bathed in warm sunlight. A range of dining options, filled with the flavors and diversity that define Malaysia, is served daily within the hotel. Gym are available for leisure while a business center and host of functional meeting rooms stand ready when work calls. With an outstanding location, top-rate service, facilities that delight, and a dedication to sustainability, Melia Kuala Lumpur is perfect for any traveler looking to be at the center of all the action. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Agoda, Expedia, Asiatravel.com Holdings and TripOnline SA so you can book your Melia Kuala Lumpur reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Melia Kuala Lumpur Hotel Kuala Lumpur
Sol Melia Kuala Lumpur
Kuala Lumpur Melia

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing