We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good Location & Good Buffet Bfast”
Review of Melia Kuala Lumpur

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Melia Kuala Lumpur
Ranked #42 of 353 Hotels in Kuala Lumpur
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 3 May 2012

Good Location which opposit Time Square shopping Mall a good place to find cheap clothing. I think is time to renovate thier room ....Very impressed the Manager at the buffet breakfast place...good services to every guest coming in and guide his stafts very manageable ...alot of choices for buffet breakfast and FREE welcome drink at Piona Lounge....if you driving, the hotel car park space super narrow...after taking the car park token must remember ask the reception to validate the chip if not you will need to pay RM5 per hour which for in-house guest only RM3 per entry....WIFI is chargable.....

  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MsLoveBeauty
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (2,373)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,543 - 1,547 of 2,374 reviews

Reviewed 3 May 2012

I chose this hotel for the Melia reputation, and it did not fail our expectations. We stay at The Level and could not have been more satisfied. All the staff at the hotel, from the doormen, bellman, reception, and information were more than helpful. They made us feel as family, they remembered our names and smiled every time we left the hotel and returned. The staff in The Level were very attentive and always made us welcome when we came in for breakfast or afternoon drinks and snacks after a full day of sightseeing. From the cleanliness, the food, the staff, the location, you can not want for more in Kuala Lumpur. This hotel has surpassed the 4 star rating it has and I would consider it on par with some of the 5 star properties I know. The location is perfect, across the road from Times Square and behind the hotel is the large electronics plaza, plenty of restaurants around, and the monorail right outside the hotel. If you are looking for a great place to stay in Kuala Lumpur, look no further than the Melia Kuala Lumpur. We want to thank everyone at the hotel for making our stay a memorable one.

Room Tip: For a little extra money, splurg on The Level if you can, you will not be disappointed. All the room...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank MRP1503
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 May 2012

I had stayed at The Level at Melia KL for 3 nights recently and the overall experience was quite good. The hotel's location is ideal for shopping and the monorail system is just nearby. The rooms are comfortable except that the fixtures & furnishing looks a bit outdated and I think some refurbishment would be good. The height of the toilet bathtub & the sink area is a bit high and I think it may not be very user-friendly for the kids & the elderly if there is no able adult around to assist.

I think further improvments could be done to provide a wider selection of cable tv channels and also to the internet access speed in the room as it's considered relatively slow in comparison to such similar service provided by 4 or 5-star hotels worldwide nowadays. The breakfast spread at The Kitchen is considered quite well-covered with a selection of Asian & Western food available but it can be enhanced.

I will still consider Melia KL for my next trip to KL but would like to see the necessary improvements being made.

  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank May L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 May 2012

I have reviewed the Melia in the past some years ago and felt it worthwhile doing it again following a month touring through Vietnam and Cambodia with a stopover in KL.
After a great flight from Melbourne with Emirates and again the excellent(and cheap) Ekspres train from KLIA to KL Sentral, and the equally convenient taxi stand within the terminal where you pay for the taxi first and simply go outside with your voucher and hop into your taxi.
As previously mentioned the Melia is in THE most convenient and central position in KL. Monorail station outside the door, and all major shopping centres, and Jalan Alor for night dining, all within ten minutes easy walk.
It is obvious that the Melia has undergone a major refurbishment since our last visit. The lobby, rooms and restaurant have all received a major makeover for the better. It was looking tired at our last visit. We can’t comment on breakfast this time as it wasn’t included in our package. Suffice to say it is now served downstairs in The Kitchen which looks very chic and upmarket. Based on last time the breakfast was extensive and the staff attentive.
The reception staff were their ever efficient self and went out of their way to assist.
Whether planning a longer stay or a short stopover in KL the Melia will meet your needs and is very competitively priced. We have stayed in Malaysia a number of times over the years and reading reviews and from personal experience most establishments suffer severe maintenance issues and are not recommended. I am pleased to say the Melia does not fall into that category.

Room Tip: Rooms facing the monorail have a better view. Ours faced a blank wall of the building opposite
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank TasMissy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 May 2012

Just like typical big hotels with reasonable rates. Nicely decorated rooms, clean (mine is on the 17th floor good view!) with comfortable beds and memory pillows but needs a little make over, like repainting the corner of the walls and scrubbing the tiles of the bathroom.
The staffs are helpful. Smooth check in and check out procedure. Always asking me how was my day/ tour went on. They have a wide range of suggestions on how to spend your 3-day stay in KL. Good location as it is near the Monorail station and some shopping areas.
Breakfast at "The Kitchen" has a yummy variety.
Wifi is not free. Strange as most of the hotels now offers free internet.
I didn't tried their Spa, I heard from other guests that its really nice one.

  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank ayesha_saigon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Kuala Lumpur hotels
0.3 km away
ParkRoyal Kuala Lumpur
ParkRoyal Kuala Lumpur
#36 of 353 in Kuala Lumpur
3,580 reviews
0.3 km away
Furama Bukit Bintang
Furama Bukit Bintang
#50 of 353 in Kuala Lumpur
2,362 reviews
0.8 km away
Dorsett Kuala Lumpur
Dorsett Kuala Lumpur
#43 of 353 in Kuala Lumpur
1,565 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 km away
Berjaya Times Square Hotel, Kuala Lumpur
0.6 km away
Ramada Suites Kuala Lumpur City Centre
0.4 km away
Mercure Kuala Lumpur Shaw Parade
Mercure Kuala Lumpur Shaw Parade
#29 of 353 in Kuala Lumpur
263 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Melia Kuala Lumpur? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Melia Kuala Lumpur

Address: Melia Kuala Lumpur 16 Jalan Imbi | Kuala Lumpur, Kuala Lumpur 55100, Malaysia
Phone Number:
Region: Malaysia > Wilayah Persekutuan > Kuala Lumpur
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#34 Family Hotel in Kuala Lumpur
#40 Luxury Hotel in Kuala Lumpur
Price Range: $93 - $146 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Melia Kuala Lumpur 4*
Number of rooms: 288
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Set in the city's prime location, among all the prestigious business addresses, stands the Melia Kuala Lumpur. Right at the heart of the city's 'Golden Triangle' and commercial district, the hotel occupies an unbeatable location. With the iconic Petronas Twin Towers reachable in 3 minutes by monorail, popular shopping attractions footsteps away, and cultural attractions such as the Bintang Walk and Little India nearby. The hotel features spacious, well-appointed rooms that are bathed in warm sunlight. A range of dining options, filled with the flavors and diversity that define Malaysia, is served daily within the hotel. Gym are available for leisure while a business center and host of functional meeting rooms stand ready when work calls. With an outstanding location, top-rate service, facilities that delight, and a dedication to sustainability, Melia Kuala Lumpur is perfect for any traveler looking to be at the center of all the action. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Asiatravel.com Holdings, Agoda, Expedia and TripOnline SA so you can book your Melia Kuala Lumpur reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Melia Kuala Lumpur Hotel Kuala Lumpur
Sol Melia Kuala Lumpur
Kuala Lumpur Melia

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing