We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
US$95
US$80
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$150
US$110
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$79
Doubletree
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
US$88
US$86
Hotels.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Grand Hyatt Kuala Lumpur(Kuala Lumpur)
US$192
US$161
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Savings alert! 15% below average rates

The price you found is 15% lower than this hotel's average rate of US$189/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

US$72
US$66
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
Traders Hotel, Kuala Lumpur(Kuala Lumpur)
US$126
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Hilton Kuala Lumpur(Kuala Lumpur)
US$86
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
US$98
US$91
Priceline
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Fitness centre
US$199
US$188
Mandarin Oriental
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (2,458)
Filter reviews
2,458 results
Traveller rating
725
1,077
414
150
92
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
725
1,077
414
150
92
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsberjaya times squareimbi monorail stationlevel roombukit bintangtour desklow yat plazasungei wangexcellent locationsmoking floorbit datedwalking distancecentral locationgolden trianglebuffet breakfastshopping mallpublic transportpetronas towers
Filter
Updating list...
1,564 - 1,569 of 2,458 reviews
Reviewed 30 July 2012 via mobile

This is true 4 star hotel; food , staff, amenities, position are all 1st rate; especially the staff who always go out of their way to assist. BUT and it is a big but, the 50 Malysian Ringitts charge for wi-fi access (for each device) was just unnecessary, over priced and nearly destroyed what had been a great stay. My son and I were booked into stay in a twin room but needed access to wifi; my son for his face book connectivity and me for email, planning and some work. The 50 Ringitts/night to obtain access was seen to be the same price as an update to the next level of accomodation so we thought that was good value. We upgraded, obtained the room and were granted access to the wifi password. The speed of youth saw my son on and surfing before we were out of he elevator and when I went to log on via tablet found my access blocked; I contacted reception only to discover that the upgrade/50 Ringitts only allowed access for one device. As we were not informed of this beforehand the process made my blod boil. Why is it that the higher starred hotels so often look for and find ways to charge for what should be standard services; wifi is pretty well universally free in all lower priced hotels and this 'service' took a huge amount of shine of what otherwise was a great experience.

  • Stayed: July 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank amigho
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 July 2012

We really couldn't fault the Melia. We had a 12th floor room which was spacious, modern,well equipped and with a large, comfortable (firm) bed. Excellent location by the monorail, and only a few minutes walk to a host of cafés. hawker food locations, bars, malls. Unlike some other reviewers we found the buffet breakfast to be perfect - better than just about anywhere else we have stayed! There was great range of fresh fruits, freshly baked breads and pastries, an excellent egg cook, juices, local dishes, just about everything you could ask for. Of course there is no "real" bacon, but that's not unreasonable given the culture and chicken bacon is too bad! We didn't need to use the internet (and there are plenty of hot spots around KL) though it did look expensive. Thoroughly recommended.

Room Tip: The hotel is on a main city road, so be prepared for some early morning traffic noise, but no worse than any other city. A room on higher floors is probably a good idea.
  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank ABsChristchurch
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 July 2012

Stayed here for one night, can't fault the staff, such friendly service and couldn't be more helpful. Great location for exploring and lots of places nearby to eat or shop. Room was clean, large, modern and well appointed with everything you would hope for. Breakfast was gorgeous, wide selection and lovely coffee.

  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank sarah w
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 July 2012

Good: locación, price, facilities. Next to monorail station and across the road to one of the biggest shopping centers in KL . 

Bad: dated rooms, had to move 3 times to get something acceptable, do not get a room in levels 1 and 2 as they are very old and they do not have a safe. 

Ugly: Internet cost at R58 a day! which is almost half the price of a room. Also no free Internet in lobby, costing R10 for 45 min at the bar.. Oh! and smoking is allowed in the piano bar.  
They also label all drinks in the mini bar, so you cannot drink one and think you can replace it the next day. How desperate really!

Stayed: July 2012, travelled as a couple
Thank Albertito65
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 July 2012

For our first stay in Kuala Lumpur we were extremely impressed by this hotel. Location is excellent, opposite the Berjara Times Square which will cater to your every need with its 9 floors, cinema, mini themepark, shops and eateries galore. It is barely a 10 mins walk to the 'action' centre and is directly outside the monorail station. There is a starbucks next door and opposite, and a Krispy Kreme also which does a breakfast special of a coffee and 2 doughnuts for 5.5RM (just over £1)....... Unbelievable. The prices throughout KL (apart from starbucks) are very cheap.

The rooms were large, clean and of excellent quality. It has a nice swimming pool and a great gym with all the latest equipment which we used during our stay. The beds were extremely comfortable.

The service was fantastic as we arrived very tired from an overnight flight and we were able to check in at 8:30am which was massively appreciated. We were also given two welcome drinks in the hotel bar.

Getting to and from the airport is fairly straight forward given that KL central is around an hour from the airport. We caught the direct bus from the LCCT (low cost carrier terminal) for 9RM to KL Sentral and then the monorail 5 stops to the hotel which was 1.2RM each. Takes about an hour and a half in total.......but not bad for around £2 each.

Apart from the Petronas Towers which we walked to in around 20mins and the numerous new shopping malls there is not a great deal to do in KL. We however were grateful to have chosen such a great hotel. We would return here and recommend to others especially at the price we paid.

  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank sazkebab
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews