We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Bathrooms need an upgrade”
Review of Melia Kuala Lumpur

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Melia Kuala Lumpur
Ranked #42 of 355 Hotels in Kuala Lumpur
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 31 July 2012

Please don't take my title literally. This was our second stay at the Melia booked due to it's fantastic location right in the heart of Bukit Bintang. From checking in to checking out we had a great stay and couldn't fault the staff everyone was extremly courteous and friendly. We had booked a double room with an extra bed for our 14 year old daughter but we given two rooms with interconnecting doors, which was fantastic we had such a laugh as the staff were obviously expecting a smaller child as the bedding was all designed for toddlers and the room came complete with plastic cups and plates.
The only disappointment was the very small bathroom where you couldn't have more than one person in the room and certianly in a 4 star hotel you don't expect to have to shower in the bath so come on Melia time to upgrade the bathrooms because at the moment its letting the hotel down and thats a shame when everything else in perfect.

  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank kwain3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (2,376)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,508 - 1,512 of 2,376 reviews

Reviewed 30 July 2012 via mobile

This is true 4 star hotel; food , staff, amenities, position are all 1st rate; especially the staff who always go out of their way to assist. BUT and it is a big but, the 50 Malysian Ringitts charge for wi-fi access (for each device) was just unnecessary, over priced and nearly destroyed what had been a great stay. My son and I were booked into stay in a twin room but needed access to wifi; my son for his face book connectivity and me for email, planning and some work. The 50 Ringitts/night to obtain access was seen to be the same price as an update to the next level of accomodation so we thought that was good value. We upgraded, obtained the room and were granted access to the wifi password. The speed of youth saw my son on and surfing before we were out of he elevator and when I went to log on via tablet found my access blocked; I contacted reception only to discover that the upgrade/50 Ringitts only allowed access for one device. As we were not informed of this beforehand the process made my blod boil. Why is it that the higher starred hotels so often look for and find ways to charge for what should be standard services; wifi is pretty well universally free in all lower priced hotels and this 'service' took a huge amount of shine of what otherwise was a great experience.

  • Stayed: July 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank amigho
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 July 2012

We really couldn't fault the Melia. We had a 12th floor room which was spacious, modern,well equipped and with a large, comfortable (firm) bed. Excellent location by the monorail, and only a few minutes walk to a host of cafés. hawker food locations, bars, malls. Unlike some other reviewers we found the buffet breakfast to be perfect - better than just about anywhere else we have stayed! There was great range of fresh fruits, freshly baked breads and pastries, an excellent egg cook, juices, local dishes, just about everything you could ask for. Of course there is no "real" bacon, but that's not unreasonable given the culture and chicken bacon is too bad! We didn't need to use the internet (and there are plenty of hot spots around KL) though it did look expensive. Thoroughly recommended.

Room Tip: The hotel is on a main city road, so be prepared for some early morning traffic noise, but no worse...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank ABsChristchurch
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 July 2012

Stayed here for one night, can't fault the staff, such friendly service and couldn't be more helpful. Great location for exploring and lots of places nearby to eat or shop. Room was clean, large, modern and well appointed with everything you would hope for. Breakfast was gorgeous, wide selection and lovely coffee.

  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank sarah w
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 July 2012

Good: locación, price, facilities. Next to monorail station and across the road to one of the biggest shopping centers in KL . 

Bad: dated rooms, had to move 3 times to get something acceptable, do not get a room in levels 1 and 2 as they are very old and they do not have a safe. 

Ugly: Internet cost at R58 a day! which is almost half the price of a room. Also no free Internet in lobby, costing R10 for 45 min at the bar.. Oh! and smoking is allowed in the piano bar.  
They also label all drinks in the mini bar, so you cannot drink one and think you can replace it the next day. How desperate really!

Stayed: July 2012, travelled as a couple
Thank Albertito65
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Kuala Lumpur hotels
0.3 km away
ParkRoyal Kuala Lumpur
ParkRoyal Kuala Lumpur
#36 of 355 in Kuala Lumpur
3,583 reviews
0.3 km away
Furama Bukit Bintang
Furama Bukit Bintang
#50 of 355 in Kuala Lumpur
2,367 reviews
0.8 km away
Dorsett Kuala Lumpur
Dorsett Kuala Lumpur
#43 of 355 in Kuala Lumpur
1,567 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 km away
Berjaya Times Square Hotel, Kuala Lumpur
0.6 km away
Ramada Suites Kuala Lumpur City Centre
0.2 km away
Capitol Hotel
Capitol Hotel
#57 of 355 in Kuala Lumpur
1,194 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Melia Kuala Lumpur? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Melia Kuala Lumpur

Address: Melia Kuala Lumpur 16 Jalan Imbi | Kuala Lumpur, Kuala Lumpur 55100, Malaysia
Phone Number:
Region: Malaysia > Wilayah Persekutuan > Kuala Lumpur
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#34 Family Hotel in Kuala Lumpur
#40 Luxury Hotel in Kuala Lumpur
Price Range: $95 - $147 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Melia Kuala Lumpur 4*
Number of rooms: 288
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Set in the city's prime location, among all the prestigious business addresses, stands the Melia Kuala Lumpur. Right at the heart of the city's 'Golden Triangle' and commercial district, the hotel occupies an unbeatable location. With the iconic Petronas Twin Towers reachable in 3 minutes by monorail, popular shopping attractions footsteps away, and cultural attractions such as the Bintang Walk and Little India nearby. The hotel features spacious, well-appointed rooms that are bathed in warm sunlight. A range of dining options, filled with the flavors and diversity that define Malaysia, is served daily within the hotel. Gym are available for leisure while a business center and host of functional meeting rooms stand ready when work calls. With an outstanding location, top-rate service, facilities that delight, and a dedication to sustainability, Melia Kuala Lumpur is perfect for any traveler looking to be at the center of all the action. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Agoda, Expedia and TripOnline SA so you can book your Melia Kuala Lumpur reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Melia Kuala Lumpur Hotel Kuala Lumpur
Sol Melia Kuala Lumpur
Kuala Lumpur Melia

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing