We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Not great”
Review of Malaya Hotel

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Kuala Lumpur
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Malaya Hotel
Ranked #297 of 349 Hotels in Kuala Lumpur
Reviewed 1 May 2014

The rooms are really depressing. The first room I was allocated had a window that faced out onto noisy Chinatown and there was absolutely no chance of resting there. I asked to move to a quieter one and was allocated a windowless room! I just took it as I was tired but it wasn't much quieter as there were kids running up and down the corridor all day and night. The lights are fluorescent and create quite a clinical atmosphere in the rooms. The beds were clean enough as was the bathroom but the room was really quite depressing and I didn't want to spend any more tim in it than I needed to. Breakfast was included - it consisted pretty much of just rice, which I guess isn't surprising considering I was in a hotel in Chinatown in Malaysia. The location is okay for shopping and Chinese food, but there's no real local cuisine. The hotel is also hard to find so get a taxi. The streets are narrow and packed and it'd be easy to miss it unless you took a taxi. However, given the rock bottom price I paid, I can't complain too much. It's okay for a one night if you are just needing somewhere to - attempt - to sleep before transiting elsewhere.

Room Tip: Ask for a room that does not face onto Chinatown.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Enchantedprincess
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (72)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

2 - 6 of 72 reviews

Reviewed 17 August 2012

This is a late review, we stayed here in 2008.

It's 3-star hotel only around Chinatown so it’s convenient for shopping though the area is not that clean and classy. But then again, once you get inside the hotel it starts to get better!
The hotel lobby is decent enough and well-designed, receptionists are very friendly and accommodating, the lift is not that big and new so expect it be slow.
The room is neat and big for the price, it has a clean bathroom and a very comfy bed. Lastly, the buffet breakfast is soooo good and scrumptious!

  • Stayed: September 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank shylla s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 May 2012

The location of this hotel is in the middle of China Town. Dont be scared when you enter in cos it has lot of chinese stuff & decorum. The staff is friendly, nice budget hotel & has good breakfast. Overall very good

  • Stayed: June 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank palamitwipro
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 June 2011

We liked the hotel and the staff was helpful and friendly. it is conveniently located in China town. Be careful fi you opt for a prepaid cab from the airport as the cab driver left us on the road saying the hotel was inside chinatown and the cab could not go there.

  • Stayed: October 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank richaram
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 February 2011

The location is in the middle of chinatown.Very crowded and noisy. Didnt like the service and rooms.But if you are under low budget and want to spend more time in sight-seeing and shopping then definitely recommended.

  • Stayed: March 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank sanjeev1978
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Kuala Lumpur hotels
2.2 km away
Mandarin Oriental, Kuala Lumpur
1.5 km away
Hilton Kuala Lumpur
Hilton Kuala Lumpur
#13 of 349 in Kuala Lumpur
4,304 reviews
2.4 km away
Traders Hotel, Kuala Lumpur
Traders Hotel, Kuala Lumpur
#8 of 349 in Kuala Lumpur
10,065 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.6 km away
Shangri-La Hotel Kuala Lumpur
Shangri-La Hotel Kuala Lumpur
#5 of 349 in Kuala Lumpur
7,330 reviews
3.3 km away
DoubleTree by Hilton Kuala Lumpur
1.7 km away
Aloft Kuala Lumpur Sentral
Aloft Kuala Lumpur Sentral
#16 of 349 in Kuala Lumpur
3,342 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Malaya Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Malaya Hotel

Address: Hotel Malaya Kuala Lumpur 16 Jalan Hang Lekir, Kuala Lumpur 50000, Malaysia
Region: Malaysia > Wilayah Persekutuan > Kuala Lumpur
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #297 of 349 Hotels in Kuala Lumpur
Price Range: $60 - $73 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Malaya Hotel 2*
Number of rooms: 238
Also Known As:
Malaya Hotel Kuala Lumpur

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing