We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Everything went well, exective room with mirror ceiling, gf loved it ;-)”
Review of Hotel Sogo

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Hotel Sogo
Ranked #53 of 76 Manila B&B and Inns
Reviewed 29 September 2011

we stayed at Sogo Monumento, it is located at the northern end of the LRT, right outside the LRT Exit. The entrance is in the small mall opposite, so you impossible to miss for LRT traellers.
I like the idea of only paying 12 hours for a room, although budget travellers may not be the original target demographic for Sogo management (hehe).
Sogo Monumento was much cheaper than Sogo Pasay, and is well located near the cheaper bus companies for travelling to Northern Luzon (Clark via Dau) at the nearby Caloocan terminus. There are a few types of room, but not as many as at Pasay. The rooms were OK, clean, reception efficient. WiFi not in range (as usual).
Room felt a little used and old,but was very well priced, located. I will be back

Room Tip: Seeing it was a 12 hour room rental, i took the best room, with Toiletries kit and mirrored ceilings...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Martin P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (64)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

40 - 44 of 64 reviews

Reviewed 20 September 2011

I happened to stay in this hotel during my 3 day visit to Manila. It is not as bad as people have mentioned. I stayed close to St Lucia and it was a great location to be at. Free wifi actually worked on my iphone and i did not have any trouble at all. Checking in was seamless, and hassle free. I always go for the best room there, so that short time stay rooms can be avoided. Room was noise free as there are no windows. Even in the afternoon it would seem like night time coz of no natural light. No problems of mosquitoes, air con worked well and TV had sufficient english channels. Washroom is decent size and did not really have any discomfort there. One thing which can upset people is the attitude of the room service guys. They always want to peep inside the room (though you have 2 doors and can have enough privacy) whenever they deliver food. All in all, good location, good / clean hotel, average food. I dont mind staying there again on my next visit.

Room Tip: Higher floors are better. Go for the VIP room. Always tip the bell boy (if at all they assist you).
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2010, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank majmani
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 September 2011

i stayed at Sogo Cubao
i like the room especially the red light.
the location is very accesssible..
i really hate the noise outside and even the neighbor's room.
I want to suggest that please provide an elevator for the staffs.
i enjoyed being "pacute"to side and ceiling mirrors.
the food is not that fantastic.
the room? executive? yeah its okay the worse scenario is that the other staffs singing along the hallway nagising tuloy ako..

the saddest part the flash is noisy the shower masakit sa likod..NO TISSUE!
the towels can't explain if its clean or not.

im not aware if there's a swiiming pool at edsa cubao? IDTS.

Room Tip: tips: stay for 24 hours more cheaper
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2011, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank sailorshii
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 February 2010

Whilst on my travels in Philippines, I stayed in the Pasay Rotunda Sogo, which is one of Metro Manila's biggest and most well known(!) branches - purely out of accident. My girl and I were looking for a place to stay and i had seen the rates for this place displayed on a banner whilst going past it one day in a Jeepney. Anyway, the staff inside were quite friendly, the rooms are usually charged on a maximum of 24 hours, due to the nature of the franchise. Basically rooms start at around 100 pesos an hour but for 1000 Pesos you can have the VIP room which has mirrors on every wall and the ceiling. All rooms have standard cable TV and an ensuite bathroom. Food is available to order, although that was not fantastic. I really enjoyed my stay in this place and to think i found it by accident! It is also part of a shoppping mall which backs onto it. Highly recommend the VIP room.

  • Stayed: April 2007, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank AzitiZ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 December 2009

I stayed in the Cainta SOGO and 1) They advertise wifi and there wasn't any. They told me they would check to see if any rooms were connected and their idea of "check" was me taking my laptop from room to room to try and find a signal. Never found one. Then I asked for a blanket as there were not even top sheets on the bed. I was charged P50 for an "extra" blanket. After paying I found a sign on the nightstand saying extra blankets were P25. Go to their site and most of the contact links are broken so there is no way to complain. My advice?? Stay away from there. Plenty of much better places around.

  • Stayed: December 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank norich
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Manila hotels
The Oasis Paco Park Hotel
#15 of 111 in Manila
780 reviews
Malate
Red Planet Mabini
Red Planet Mabini
#9 of 111 in Manila
991 reviews
Go Hotels Otis-Manila
#31 of 111 in Manila
153 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Ermita
Casa Bocobo Hotel
Casa Bocobo Hotel
#16 of 111 in Manila
521 reviews
Victoria Court Malate
#39 of 111 in Manila
40 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Sogo? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Sogo

Address: 2120 Mabini St. | Malate, Manila, Luzon, Philippines
Region: Philippines > Luzon > Metro Manila > Manila > Malate
Amenities:
Restaurant Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #53 of 76 B&Bs / Inns in Manila
Price Range: $29 - $46 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Hotel Sogo 2.5*
Number of rooms: 8
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Ctrip TA, Expedia and Travel Book Philippines, Inc. so you can book your Hotel Sogo reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing