We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Travelers room comments”
Review of Hotel Sogo

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Hotel Sogo
Ranked #52 of 76 Manila B&B and Inns
Reviewed 25 February 2012

I spend 3 night the lobby service is good, room is good and big but the problem is the air con very noisy even if i turn off the air con of my room I still can hair the noisy outside air con of other room and the people slapping there door when they close there's constructing close to my room and the house keeping is lazy they don't clean the room properly still dirty specially the toilet they don't put new soap, tooth paste etc and didn't replace the dish....

  • Stayed: February 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank anonymous_feb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (64)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

32 - 36 of 64 reviews

Reviewed 23 January 2012

I've stayed in two of these. Both were quite clean and basic. If I ever go to Manila again, I will consider using this chain of motels.
1. Imelda Avenue, Cainta. One block from the ESDA with transportation available to just about anywhere. The motel is situated next to two malls, restaurants are everywhere. I wouldn't eat at the in house restaurant, you'd have to be braver than me. The outside area is congested and noisy, inside is reasonably quiet. We stayed in a "deluxe" room, which is small if you have a lot of luggage.
2. EDSA Harrison Pasay. 1/2 mile from the Mall of Asia with good, quick access to Manila International Airport. No decent restaurants nearby, but the in house restaurant is good. Outside is horribly noisy and congested, inside again, was reasonably quiet. Nudey bars are across the street in the "casino". Don't bother wasting your time. The "executive" room we stayed in was quite nice.

Room Tip: Spend a little extra and get the executive rooms. They don't cost that much more and are in bet...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank whip5209
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 January 2012

This is a growing chain of discount lodging with numerous locations, twenty in Metro Manila alone. You can spot the hotels with their gaudy Red and Yellow paint. My two experiences were Edsa Pasay and Edsa Cubao. Both were extremely popular locations and extremely busy.

Sogo is first come, first served facility, no reservations. They are sucessful because they are located in high density locations, within easy reach of transportation, and are efficient in moving people in and out of their facilities.

They have individual waiting booths. Also rent by the hour, so once you pass your 24hour daily rate, check out promptly or you will be charged.


Its a mechanical operation not very personnable but efficient. So don;t expect the service and hospitality of a owner operated facility. Various rooms with various prices, locations, and condition. My two rooms didn;t have any windows but was clean and efficient, bathroom ok. Nothing to write home about. When you leave your room you to go to the lobby you must be buzzed out by staff. (part of their security standards). Somewhat disconcerning of what would happen in a fire.

I would think with such a wide and large operation you would get a wide variety of comments. It is not a first class, luxury style hotel chain. Just basic lodging and artery clogging cheap food. My rooms were quite but once you step out of the hotel (at least at my two occasions) its noisey, congested and jammed packed.

I was fortunate that my stay was just ordinary, I can imagine others with stories to tell.

  • Stayed: April 2011, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank edinstk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 December 2011

After going to this hotel i am extremely disappointed with the service and cleanliness of the room. Parts of it are unswept with food and broken glass slivers. After stepping on a sliver and bleeding profusely they had no first aid equipment like betadine and cotton. Only thing they can proving in exchange to this injury was a 30 minute extention stay! Like i wanted to stay longer in the horrible place! The la paz batchoy i had was very salty even with rice! And dont expect an apology from them. For me it SOOOO LOOONG SOGO! So clean so good... Yeah right!

  • Stayed: December 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Jaygo5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 December 2011

food was terrible. Food was really bad and done unprofessionally . The room and carpet smells like an old dog. Theres no hotel standards here. Very poor.

  • Stayed: December 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
11  Thank Paul R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Manila hotels
The Oasis Paco Park Hotel
#15 of 111 in Manila
779 reviews
Malate
Red Planet Mabini
Red Planet Mabini
#8 of 111 in Manila
991 reviews
Go Hotels Otis-Manila
#33 of 111 in Manila
153 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Ermita
Casa Bocobo Hotel
Casa Bocobo Hotel
#16 of 111 in Manila
521 reviews
Victoria Court Malate
#46 of 111 in Manila
42 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Sogo? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Sogo

Address: 2120 Mabini St. | Malate, Manila, Luzon, Philippines
Region: Philippines > Luzon > Metro Manila > Manila > Malate
Amenities:
Restaurant Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #52 of 76 B&Bs / Inns in Manila
Price Range: $30 - $46 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Hotel Sogo 2.5*
Number of rooms: 8
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Ctrip TA, Travel Book Philippines, Inc. and Expedia so you can book your Hotel Sogo reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing