We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great value for money”
Review of Hotel Sogo

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Hotel Sogo
Ranked #53 of 76 Manila B&B and Inns
Reviewed 27 February 2010

Whilst on my travels in Philippines, I stayed in the Pasay Rotunda Sogo, which is one of Metro Manila's biggest and most well known(!) branches - purely out of accident. My girl and I were looking for a place to stay and i had seen the rates for this place displayed on a banner whilst going past it one day in a Jeepney. Anyway, the staff inside were quite friendly, the rooms are usually charged on a maximum of 24 hours, due to the nature of the franchise. Basically rooms start at around 100 pesos an hour but for 1000 Pesos you can have the VIP room which has mirrors on every wall and the ceiling. All rooms have standard cable TV and an ensuite bathroom. Food is available to order, although that was not fantastic. I really enjoyed my stay in this place and to think i found it by accident! It is also part of a shoppping mall which backs onto it. Highly recommend the VIP room.

  • Stayed: April 2007, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank AzitiZ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (64)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

43 - 47 of 64 reviews

Reviewed 19 December 2009

I stayed in the Cainta SOGO and 1) They advertise wifi and there wasn't any. They told me they would check to see if any rooms were connected and their idea of "check" was me taking my laptop from room to room to try and find a signal. Never found one. Then I asked for a blanket as there were not even top sheets on the bed. I was charged P50 for an "extra" blanket. After paying I found a sign on the nightstand saying extra blankets were P25. Go to their site and most of the contact links are broken so there is no way to complain. My advice?? Stay away from there. Plenty of much better places around.

  • Stayed: December 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank norich
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 October 2009

My brother got me and my husband a room here. Not sure if this is the exact Sogo but there are several Hotel Sogo in Manila. The one I stayed at was near the City hall. One thing I wanted to mention, each and every time we stepped out the bellboys would stop us and ask what room we were staying. I got really suspicious wondering why in the world do they need to know after I had told them that I'm coming back and I'm not ready to check out, are they going to our rooms to look through our stuff?? Anyways I called the manager and asked, they said this is standard practice so that they don't let anyone leave without paying the balance. People have been known to walk out without paying. I guess it's not the states, to where they have your credit card on file. We stayed 2 nights and nothing ever turned up missing, but they're standard practice did make me uneasy especially since they don't have a safe. I really don't like the idea that I have to announce every time I'm leaving my room unattended.

On the other hand, the place is not fancy..however they did keep it clean. Sheet was folded up with the towels...I didn't see it at first and ended up ordering an extra sheet for extra pesos. Great for locals, but if you're from the states and your standards are higher...this place might not be the one for you. However, it was more affordable than most so if you don't mind adapting to the culture....you should be okay here. I didn't mind staying here, since I am a filipino. I guess I would compare this to a slighlty ghettofied motel 6....with red lights and mirrors hmmm. Also I heard some rooms are themed, didn't get to see what the other rooms looked like..but we definitely got the red light special.

  • Stayed: October 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Spunkypnay
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 September 2009

I stayed in this hotel for 2 nights on my recent trip to Philippines. Chose if initially because I wanted a change from Swagman. Room rate at Sogo was was 1,700 Php, you can get a cheaper room for 1,500 but I opted for the higher priced room. The BIG benifit to this place is the FREE breakfast buffet. The first day it was ok with eggs, corned beef and rice. But the second morning it was great. Eggs, tocino, vegatables, rice, toast, juice. The room was pretty average with a matteress which was not the greatest. It was the bathroom that would have me come back to this hotel. Great shower, lots of hot water, clean big and everything worked well (my last swagman bathroom shower had a slow drain so got water all over the floor).

This place is a short time hotel so you may see a working girl or two. But there are also pleanty of familes who use this place. Don't let this prevent a stay here. Across the street you will find a Japanese themed karaoke club which has a very good drink special. 500 Php for all you can drink for 2 hours and this includes hard liquor. There are plenty of restaurant near by and you can get there by taxi for around 40 Php.

The one odd thing about this hotel is that they will only clean your room if you are present. I got kind of irritated that my room was not cleaned by around 5 PM but I did not know the policy. So if you stay more than 1, night just remember to remain by the room and it will be cleaned right away.

  • Stayed: August 2009, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank PITraveler123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 January 2018
Google Translation

Room Tip: 価格が安い部屋を選ばない。
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2017, travelled solo
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Tokyo1996
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Manila hotels
Ermita
Casa Bocobo Hotel
Casa Bocobo Hotel
#16 of 111 in Manila
521 reviews
The Oasis Paco Park Hotel
#15 of 111 in Manila
780 reviews
Malate
Red Planet Mabini
Red Planet Mabini
#9 of 111 in Manila
990 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Go Hotels Otis-Manila
#31 of 111 in Manila
153 reviews
Wanderers Guest House
#2 of 76 in Manila
305 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Sogo? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Sogo

Address: 2120 Mabini St. | Malate, Manila, Luzon, Philippines
Region: Philippines > Luzon > Metro Manila > Manila > Malate
Amenities:
Restaurant Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #53 of 76 B&Bs / Inns in Manila
Price Range: $29 - $46 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Hotel Sogo 2.5*
Number of rooms: 8
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Ctrip TA, Expedia and Travel Book Philippines, Inc. so you can book your Hotel Sogo reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing