We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“BEST DECISION OF OUR LIVES! ABSOLUTELY AMAZING!!”
Review of Hawkesdene

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Andrews
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Hawkesdene
Reviewed 23 October 2017

THE BEST PLACE YOU COULD EVER GET MARRIED!!! We are so unbelievably happy we stumbled across this place for our wedding! All our guests had the time of their life and continue to tell us "Your wedding was the BEST wedding we have EVER been to". The staff is top notch. Jami the wedding coordinator is the best ever and is included in the wedding package. She is the nicest, most incredible, laid back, easy going wedding coordinator we have ever met! All the staff including the owners are very responsive to any emails or calls. We had a destination wedding from Florida, we only saw the property once and everything went flawless the wedding weekend. Jami and her crew decorated and made the entire scenery absolutely gorgeous! We could not have asked for anything better. The mountains are beautiful, guests can hike up to the top or hitch a ride by staff with a Kawasaki Mule. I can not say enough about the staff- they make you feel like family and treat you that way too. Our wedding weekend was absolutely perfect, and everyone (including us) agreed that we picked the perfect location possible! You will love Hawkesdene, the staff, the property and everything associated with your wedding! INCREDIBLE, INCREDIBLE, INCREDIBLE, we can't wait to go back and visit this property again!
I could go on and on about this place because it is so unbelievable! A wedding weekend here will stay in your mind and hearts forever and you will be so happy with your decision.
BEST FOOD AND ACCOMMODATIONS YOU COULD EVER ASK FOR!
We are forever grateful to hawkesdene, Jami, and the staff for the best weekend of our lives. WE LOVE YOU AND THANK YOU FOR EVERYTHING!! :)

  • Stayed: October 2017, travelled with family
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank lmills21
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (79)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

5 - 9 of 79 reviews

Reviewed 4 October 2017

We rented Creekside, a lovely 3 bedroom cottage at Hawkesdene for a few days around the solar eclipse of August 21. We were so lucky to find such charming, private accommodations right in the path of totality! The cottage was spacious and stylishly rustic. It was much larger than expected and very comfortable for three couples. It had everything you could want for relaxing with friends and family. The kitchen is modern and new and there's a large dining table that seats perhaps twelve people. All bedrooms had TVs and there was a larger one in the living room with ample seating on cushy sofas near a stone fireplace. There was a screened porch with comfy Adirondack chairs and even a burbling little creek nearby. So nice!

The setting and grounds are sprawling, beautifully kept, and there are paths and trails galore. There is a beautiful barn with pet llamas!

The owner invited us up to the observatory on the property—a large wooden deck with a gazebo right on the side of the mountain—to view the eclipse. It couldn't have been a more perfect spot and it was the experience of a lifetime. Most guests were friends of the owner or else had booked a couple of years in advance for the eclipse. The Universe was kind to me, because I got a reservation about ten days before the eclipse due to a change in someone's plans.

Hawkesdene is perfect for corporate retreats, writers' retreats, celebrations like weddings or reunions. I've recommended it to several organizations that I'm involved with.
You couldn't ask for nicer staff or better hospitality. We hope to return to Hawkesdene.

Room Tip: Creekside is very private.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2017, travelled with friends
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank siesu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 September 2017

We booked just the two cottages on the edge of the property as a group of 14: 7 adults, 7 kids (including an infant) and all our pets. We needed to get out of Florida before Hurricane Irma, and our group of friends decided to make this a fun trip (not just a stressful evacuation) and leave together. Our drive to the property was long and stressful because of the sheer number of people heading north out of the storm, but once we arrived we were thrilled!

We stayed 4 days and 4 nights, and during the days we hiked with the kids around the property, took excursions to go "gem mining" and to the Nantahala Outdoor Center, and cooked giant meals in the bigger of the two cottages (it has a beautiful kitchen). On the one rainy day we took Uno and board games to the Hoppy Trout Brewing Company for beer and pizza (a 7 minute drive).

The two cottages were joined by a stairway from one wraparound porch to the other, and were perfect for 4 families. We stayed with our infant in the bigger room in the smaller of the two cottages, with our friend and her puppy staying in the room next door.

The two bigger families stay in the bigger house with 3-bedrooms, with one family taking the suite downstairs and the other family taking the two bedrooms and bathroom upstairs. The linens were luxurious, the kitchens were stocked with what we needed and plenty of room for what we brought with us. The wraparound porches were perfect for big dinners.

We loved this property and will be back as a bigger group next year!

  • Stayed: September 2017, travelled with friends
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Coler and Tee A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 August 2017

From the moment we arrived, I could tell this place was different than most other accommodations, the staff and owners were VERY unobtrusive, from no check in, or out. to the total package. The common grounds were very picturesque, and the setting was beautiful as well, from the view on the deck, to the complete view of the solar eclipse without any obstructions at all. In fact, the cabin we stayed in (Cherokee Cabin and Studio) were so nice, that we did not get nearly as much driving the roads done as we had planned! All in all, a very pleasant stay, and I honestly have no complaints.

  • Stayed: August 2017, travelled with friends
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank stevehH2144FU
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 August 2017

We just had our multicultural wedding here (Indian + Caucasian) from Thursday-Sunday. We could not have picked a better venue for our special day. The grounds are absolutely magnificent, and this is a hidden gem in the blue ridge mountains. Our photographers and videographers were excited to be able to shoot here given the beautiful options and scenes. After going to countless city weddings in hotels, all of our friends and family were amazed by this unique experience Hawkesdene offered. The cottages for accommodations are very cozy and cute. The details put into each of the cottages and the main house did not go unnoticed. Given the semi-rural location and all of the food and activities offered on-site, our guests had no reason to leave the property, and both sets of families and friends were able to spend quality time with each other. The food was phenomenal. We had a fully customized Mexican menu the first night with Margheritas, a fully customized Indian menu the second night (they picked up exactly what ingredients and groceries we requested from an Indian store in Atlanta), and a traditional American menu with customized vegetarian option (stuffed summer squash) and individual lava cakes (cheaper than catering in a large cake) for dessert. Caroline nailed each of these dinners. We have never seen this level of customization at a wedding venue. Many of our Indian family members stated the Indian food she made was better than that of their favorite restaurants. We had many additional dietary restrictions and needed separation for some meals due to religious reasons, and Hawkesdene still executed everything perfectly. On the second day, we went for a group hike to the mountain top (Hawkesdene gave rides to all guests who couldn't make it on a four wheeler) where we had our Mendhi (henna) ceremony. This was another incredible experience only possible at Hawkesdene. Our guests absolutely loved it and said they had never experienced something so neat. Rob, Jami, and Caroline were attentive, friendly, and incredibly helpful throughout the process but especially during the actual wedding festivities. We spent a lot of money on outside vendors including outside planners and decorators but probably would have been just fine had we saved some money and let Jami and Hawkesdene handle more of it. They have done this countless times and work tirelessly to make sure our experience is perfect. Finally, given that the estate rental includes all the accommodations and food and it is essentially BYOB, Hawkesdene is an absolute steal when it comes to value. If you are ok with having your guests drive or fly to come here, it will be 100% worth it. We are already looking forward to trying to plan a future reunion so all of our friends and family can return to this magical place. If you have any questions about our experience, feel free to contact us! I am sure Rob or Jami can give you our email addresses.

  • Stayed: August 2017, travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Summit - Julie S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Been to Hawkesdene? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hawkesdene

Address: 381 Phillips Creek Rd, Andrews, NC 28901-7347
Region: United States > North Carolina > North Carolina Mountains > Andrews
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Speciality Lodging in Andrews
Price Range: $236 - $3,024 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 29
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
54 acre Private Mountain Estate for your perfect destination wedding for up to 150 guests Luxurious onsite accommodations with 25 – 30 bedrooms for up to 90 onsite guests complete with the highest quality furniture, bedding & amenities Transportation to offsite accommodations located within a 4-mile radius for your overflow guests Talented in-house culinary team featuring local fresh & creative farm-to-fork cuisine Professional & courteous staff to assist and handle all of the details Complete wedding planning & coordination services included Open Air Pavilion situated above the rushing waters of Phillips Creek complete with custom furniture, a massive stone fireplace, bar, sound system and smokehouse Llama & Alpaca Stable with our own heard of resident llamas & alpacas Direct access into the Nantahala National Forrest with trails for hiking, walking and biking Onsite activities include coordinated group hikes, daily llama & alpaca feeding, corn hole tournaments, horse shoe courts, basketball, campfires and quality time with family & friends Hawkesnest Pavilion located 1/2 mile to the top of our mountain offering stunning sunsets & mountain views Close proximity to numerous activities including White Water Rafting, Horseback Riding, Zip lining, Casino, Golf and day trips to the Biltmore House and surrounding areas ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing