We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Quality Inn(Andrews)
US$93
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Quality Inn & Suites(Robbinsville)(Great Value!)
US$81
QualityInn
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Phillips Motel(Robbinsville)(Great Value!)
Free cancellation until 28/07
Book now, pay at stay
US$65
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Free cancellation until 04/08
US$199
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Bar/Lounge
Stonebrook Lodge(Murphy)(Great Value!)
Free cancellation until 03/08
Book now, pay at stay
US$125
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Book now, pay at stay
US$134
Hampton.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Free cancellation until 03/08
Book now, pay at stay
US$124
US$99
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Days Inn by Wyndham Murphy(Murphy)(Great Value!)
US$96
US$71
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Savings alert! 14% below average rates

The price you found is 14% lower than this hotel's average rate of US$83/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

US$133
US$128
HIExpress.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Fontana Village Resort(Fontana Dam)(Great Value!)
US$129
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
Reviews (82)
Filter reviews
82 results
Traveller rating
80
2
0
0
0
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
80
2
0
0
0
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsdestination weddingthe main housefire pitextended weekendwedding coordinatorbeautiful kitchenzip liningamazing weekendnantahala national forestsolar eclipsemountain tophorseback ridinggorgeous venuethe cottagesdietary restrictionsstone fireplaceliving room
Filter
Updating list...
8 - 13 of 82 reviews
Reviewed 4 October 2017

We rented Creekside, a lovely 3 bedroom cottage at Hawkesdene for a few days around the solar eclipse of August 21. We were so lucky to find such charming, private accommodations right in the path of totality! The cottage was spacious and stylishly rustic. It was much larger than expected and very comfortable for three couples. It had everything you could want for relaxing with friends and family. The kitchen is modern and new and there's a large dining table that seats perhaps twelve people. All bedrooms had TVs and there was a larger one in the living room with ample seating on cushy sofas near a stone fireplace. There was a screened porch with comfy Adirondack chairs and even a burbling little creek nearby. So nice!

The setting and grounds are sprawling, beautifully kept, and there are paths and trails galore. There is a beautiful barn with pet llamas!

The owner invited us up to the observatory on the property—a large wooden deck with a gazebo right on the side of the mountain—to view the eclipse. It couldn't have been a more perfect spot and it was the experience of a lifetime. Most guests were friends of the owner or else had booked a couple of years in advance for the eclipse. The Universe was kind to me, because I got a reservation about ten days before the eclipse due to a change in someone's plans.

Hawkesdene is perfect for corporate retreats, writers' retreats, celebrations like weddings or reunions. I've recommended it to several organizations that I'm involved with.
You couldn't ask for nicer staff or better hospitality. We hope to return to Hawkesdene.

Room Tip: Creekside is very private.
  • Stayed: August 2017, travelled with friends
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank siesu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 September 2017

We booked just the two cottages on the edge of the property as a group of 14: 7 adults, 7 kids (including an infant) and all our pets. We needed to get out of Florida before Hurricane Irma, and our group of friends decided to make this a fun trip (not just a stressful evacuation) and leave together. Our drive to the property was long and stressful because of the sheer number of people heading north out of the storm, but once we arrived we were thrilled!

We stayed 4 days and 4 nights, and during the days we hiked with the kids around the property, took excursions to go "gem mining" and to the Nantahala Outdoor Center, and cooked giant meals in the bigger of the two cottages (it has a beautiful kitchen). On the one rainy day we took Uno and board games to the Hoppy Trout Brewing Company for beer and pizza (a 7 minute drive).

The two cottages were joined by a stairway from one wraparound porch to the other, and were perfect for 4 families. We stayed with our infant in the bigger room in the smaller of the two cottages, with our friend and her puppy staying in the room next door.

The two bigger families stay in the bigger house with 3-bedrooms, with one family taking the suite downstairs and the other family taking the two bedrooms and bathroom upstairs. The linens were luxurious, the kitchens were stocked with what we needed and plenty of room for what we brought with us. The wraparound porches were perfect for big dinners.

We loved this property and will be back as a bigger group next year!

  • Stayed: September 2017, travelled with friends
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Coler and Tee A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 August 2017

From the moment we arrived, I could tell this place was different than most other accommodations, the staff and owners were VERY unobtrusive, from no check in, or out. to the total package. The common grounds were very picturesque, and the setting was beautiful as well, from the view on the deck, to the complete view of the solar eclipse without any obstructions at all. In fact, the cabin we stayed in (Cherokee Cabin and Studio) were so nice, that we did not get nearly as much driving the roads done as we had planned! All in all, a very pleasant stay, and I honestly have no complaints.

  • Stayed: August 2017, travelled with friends
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank stevehH2144FU
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 August 2017

We just had our multicultural wedding here (Indian + Caucasian) from Thursday-Sunday. We could not have picked a better venue for our special day. The grounds are absolutely magnificent, and this is a hidden gem in the blue ridge mountains. Our photographers and videographers were excited to be able to shoot here given the beautiful options and scenes. After going to countless city weddings in hotels, all of our friends and family were amazed by this unique experience Hawkesdene offered. The cottages for accommodations are very cozy and cute. The details put into each of the cottages and the main house did not go unnoticed. Given the semi-rural location and all of the food and activities offered on-site, our guests had no reason to leave the property, and both sets of families and friends were able to spend quality time with each other. The food was phenomenal. We had a fully customized Mexican menu the first night with Margheritas, a fully customized Indian menu the second night (they picked up exactly what ingredients and groceries we requested from an Indian store in Atlanta), and a traditional American menu with customized vegetarian option (stuffed summer squash) and individual lava cakes (cheaper than catering in a large cake) for dessert. Caroline nailed each of these dinners. We have never seen this level of customization at a wedding venue. Many of our Indian family members stated the Indian food she made was better than that of their favorite restaurants. We had many additional dietary restrictions and needed separation for some meals due to religious reasons, and Hawkesdene still executed everything perfectly. On the second day, we went for a group hike to the mountain top (Hawkesdene gave rides to all guests who couldn't make it on a four wheeler) where we had our Mendhi (henna) ceremony. This was another incredible experience only possible at Hawkesdene. Our guests absolutely loved it and said they had never experienced something so neat. Rob, Jami, and Caroline were attentive, friendly, and incredibly helpful throughout the process but especially during the actual wedding festivities. We spent a lot of money on outside vendors including outside planners and decorators but probably would have been just fine had we saved some money and let Jami and Hawkesdene handle more of it. They have done this countless times and work tirelessly to make sure our experience is perfect. Finally, given that the estate rental includes all the accommodations and food and it is essentially BYOB, Hawkesdene is an absolute steal when it comes to value. If you are ok with having your guests drive or fly to come here, it will be 100% worth it. We are already looking forward to trying to plan a future reunion so all of our friends and family can return to this magical place. If you have any questions about our experience, feel free to contact us! I am sure Rob or Jami can give you our email addresses.

  • Stayed: August 2017, travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Summit - Julie S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 August 2017

Rob, Jami, and the rest of the Hawkesdene staff were an absolute pleasure to work with! During planning, they were hyper-responsive, and willing to accommodate all of our group's needs. The grounds are beautiful, and each of our employees was pleased with their respective accommodations. The communal outdoor space was fantastic for the evening's activities, and the staff had set up drink mixers, ice, and corn hole sets for our use! The fire pit had also been set up for our use. The food was extremely well done, and they accommodated all of our group's dietary restrictions. The morning breakfast, hike to the on-property waterfall, and hike up to the Hawk's Nest view of the surrounding area were all a wonderful start to our Sunday. I can't recommend this venue, and staff, highly enough - we'll be back next year!

  • Stayed: July 2017, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank Rachel F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews