We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Foodies!! 5 minutes off I-5 for a 5-star James Beard chef meal”
Review of Sybaris

Sybaris
Ranked #1 of 157 Restaurants in Albany
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Fusion
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic, Special Occasion Dining, Local cuisine
Dining options: Dinner, Reservations
Reviewed 15 October 2016

Heading North or South on I-5? Head into Historic Albany. Sybaris is at the end of First Avenue. It's nice Victorian town, so allow time for a walk around.
Sybaris is celebrating its fifteenth year of operation and longevity is always a golden sign where restaurants are concerned. The menu changes every month but you can check it out online. Lots of local, seasonal, ingredients. Really inventive choices all through the menu from Chef Matt Bennett who has been invited to cook twice at the James Beard House in New York. Terrific table staff and good wine choices.

    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
2  Thank Michael W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
wegoouttoeat, Owner at Sybaris, responded to this reviewResponded 2 December 2016

Michael,
Thank you for your very kind review of Sybaris. We agree that Albany is an absolutely charming town and is worth a visit, especially with the beautiful carousel being built and opening in July, 2017! We are pleased that you enjoyed your meal and look forward to serving you again.
Sincerely,
Matt and Janel Bennett

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (172)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

36 - 40 of 172 reviews

Reviewed 14 September 2016 via mobile

Seasonal menus monthly, Thai curry was the star of the night I don't know how the chef makes this but it was full of flavor. The dessert was phenomenal as well. We had cheddar cheese ice cream with and apple pie, and a glass of mosacato. Plan to visit again in the near future to see what else the chef has come up with.

2  Thank Jason B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
wegoouttoeat, Owner at Sybaris, responded to this reviewResponded 30 September 2016

Jason,
Thank you for your kind review of Sybaris. We appreciate your business and look forward to serving you again soon.
Sincerely,
Matt and Janel Bennett

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 August 2016

Sybaris is located in a large industrial hall with eclectic art -- a precursor to the interesting menu choices (don't go here if you're looking for basic American staples). The tables are generously spaced; good a romantic dinner or a private business lunch.

My tomato sampler was stunning and my Grilled pork tenderloin (with Summer vegetables, lobster emulsion and sweet corn coulis) was mostly good -- excepting for the puddle of corn and lobster it sat it. The Cornflake crusted halibut cheeks (with corn chowder and grilled tomato oil) went down well.

    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
2  Thank Harry B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
wegoouttoeat, Owner at Sybaris, responded to this reviewResponded 13 September 2016

Thank you for your review of Sybaris. We are happy that you enjoyed the food, service and ambiance of our restaurant and appreciate that you took the time to let us know about your experience. We look forward to serving you again in the future.
Sincerely,
Matt and Janel Bennett

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 August 2016

Family of four dinning outdoors. Good service. Stick with the specials of the house. Lamb dish was best of the four selected. Steak dish ok but a lot better choices are available.

    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
2  Thank ifd3313
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
wegoouttoeat, Owner at Sybaris, responded to this reviewResponded 13 September 2016

Thank you for your nice review of Sybaris. We appreciate that you took the time to let us know about your experience and look forward to serving you again soon.
Sincerely,
Matt and Janel Bennett

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 August 2016

We have eaten at Sybaris several times during visits to the Corvallis area. When in the area never miss an opportunity to dine with Chef Matt. He creates delicious new monthly menu items, using seasonal fruits and veggies to blend with meats and fish that match the time of year. You might find an elk ragout in the late fall or a lamb in the spring. Halibut in winter, perhaps. The preparations are original. We almost always find something we've never seen before. The atmosphere is warm and cozy, with brick walls and a fireplace. The service is excellent...attentive but not pushy, Don't miss it if you are in the Corvallis area. It's worth a side trip!

    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
2  Thank jgwhiteside
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
wegoouttoeat, Owner at Sybaris, responded to this reviewResponded 20 August 2016

Thank you for your very nice review of Sybaris. We are thrilled that you enjoy the food, service and atmosphere that we provide and it means a lot to us that you would recommend our restaurant to others. We look forward to serving you again very soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Been to Sybaris? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing