We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great little hotel, great location and nice atmosphere.”
Review of Manor Motel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Manor Motel
Ranked #15 of 19 Hotels in Ashland
Yokkaichi, Japan
Level 4 Contributor
30 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
“Great little hotel, great location and nice atmosphere.”
Reviewed 27 August 2011

First things first: This is Ashland. There are no cheap hotels or motels in Ashland. What goes for $60 down the road in Medford can easily be over $90 here. That said,

Great motel for the price (about $90 a night). We wanted to stay right near downtown and that's what we got. Could've walked to Lithia Park (though we didn't). Nice owner who had everything set up for us when we arrived.

Room was big with a good set of cable channels. Our room also had a usable kitchen (with pots, pans, plates, cookware and silverware, plus stove and oven), which costs a bit more. If you use this kind of thing, I'd recommend it. The kitchen is big enough to accomodate cooking and still have a little two person table.

The only negative - and it wasn't a problem for us - is that the toilet is in a very narrow place next to the shower. We are pretty small people and we live in Japan, so we're used to this kind of thing. However, if you are a naturally large person or perhaps your doctor has told you that you need to lose a few pounds... this may make your stay rather unpleasant (at least during bathroom breaks). Again, we had no hassles.

If you love Ashland - and I've hardly met anyone who doesn't - it's hard to go wrong with this motel.

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank FloydMcDaniel2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

89 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    23
    39
    13
    10
    4
See reviews for
24
33
10
7
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (35)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Oregon
Level 6 Contributor
123 reviews
39 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 61 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 June 2011

I recently stayed two nights with two friends at the manor motel on our weekend girls getaway to Ashland! We wanted to stay somewhere inexpensive but walkable to the festival and this motel met the bill. The motel was spotless and the owners were very friendly. It could use some pads for the beds, they are quite firm. While there is no breakfast provided, you can walk to a number of amazing bakeries. It is a no frills place, but in Ashland a welcome budget friendly option.

Room Tip: Ask for #11 it is cute!
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank sjfoodies
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Los Altos, California
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 September 2010

The hotel has a charming car port that is tree lined. It definitely has more character than the typical motel. The room was quiet, clean, and bed was comfortable. Despite the heat, it was very comfortable. It was the perfect size for two people, but would have been cramped if we were traveling with our children. The hotel is located a good 20 minute walk from downtown Ashland.

The hotel clerk recommended Bread Board for breakfast which turned out to be a poor recommendation since I was very disappointed in the quality of the baked goods. The cinnamon bun was too sweet with too much cinnamon and doughy.

  • Stayed August 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank EmptyNester_CA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Seattle
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 August 2010

Finding lodgings in Ashland presents some real difficulties for a person with my set of hopes, likes/dislikes, and finances. This charming little throwback of a motel was just perfect for me. I feel really lucky that I was able to get into it without a reservation. I thought I might be forced to pitch my tent elsewhere (literally) because, having splurged on a ticket to a play and the gas to drive from Seattle and back, I then need to spend the bare minimum to sleep, but I stubbornly resist putting out money to stay in a place that feels like it's part of a chain or which simply has no character.

Enter, to my complete delight, the Manor Motel! It's little, it's old, it's cute. I had my own set of steps leading up to my own screen door. I parked my car in front of my unit. The bed was firm, the A/C worked, the lady at the front desk was kindly and accommodating, and the price is probably unbeatable anywhere else in the city (or so my hours of websurfing lead me to believe). If I'd been in better shape, I'd have found walking to and from the OSF to see my play not too hard, but I timed it earlier in the day and it took me 40 minutes, so I drove instead.

I've made something of a ritual of going to OSF these last few years and having found the Manor Motel is going to make it that much easier to build my tradition. I was really getting tired of the tent.

As to "Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?": I've said yes but the real answer is that it would depend strongly on who the friend was. My sense is that the Manor Motel is a love it or hate it kind of place.

  • Stayed August 2010, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Caroldz8080
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stockton, CA
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 21 June 2009

The motel staff are very nice and accommodating. We knew it would not be the Ritz, but the bed was very uncomfortable for me, although my husband thought it was fine, and there was mold in the bathroom. The bathroom is so small you could only fit one person at a time in it. If you're a large person the toilet is in a very small cubby, making it difficult to care of business. The kitchen is very well equipped and works well. I personally would not stay here again, but my husband thought that it was OK. It could, with some work, be a very comfortable place to stay in Ashland as it is close to the downtown and Oregon Shakespeare Festival. But it definitely needs some work. PS. The internet worked great at this motel.

  • Stayed June 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank singer0
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Ashland hotels
0.7 km away
Plaza Inn & Suites at Ashland Creek
2.9 km away
Comfort Inn & Suites Ashland
5.1 km away
Ashland Hills Hotel & Suites
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.9 km away
Flagship Inn
Flagship Inn
#12 of 19 in Ashland
207 reviews
23.0 km away
Green Springs Inn
Green Springs Inn
#7 of 19 in Ashland
188 reviews
1.2 km away
Ashland Springs Hotel
Ashland Springs Hotel
#4 of 19 in Ashland
683 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Manor Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Manor Motel

Property: Manor Motel
Address: 476 N Main St, Ashland, OR 97520-1750
Region: United States > Oregon > Ashland
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #15 of 19 Hotels in Ashland
Price range (per night): $130 - $157
Hotel Class:2 star — Manor Motel 2*
Number of rooms: 14
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Manor Motel is a quaint 40’s style motel located in a quiet garden setting. Originally, the motel was a 1940’s auto court with its own distinctive style. We are within a short walk to the Shakespeare Theater, restaurants and The Plaza (downtown Ashland).The Manor features 12 one- and two-bed units, seven of which have fully equipped kitchens, and five that are equipped with mini-fridges, microwaves, and coffeemakers. We have shaded picnic areas with tables and chairs for your leisurely enjoyment. All rooms have direct dial telephones, cable television, free wireless internet, and air conditioning. All rooms are 100% smoke-free.Helman Street Guest House and Studios consists of three units. The main house is a charming early 1900's two bedroom/two bathroom that can comfortably sleep up to five guests. It is only three short blocks from the Plaza, resaurants, and theaters. The large master bedroom, located on the ground floor, has a luxurious king-size bed, its own television, and the large master bathroom. The second bathroom is also downstairs and has a vintage claw-foot bathtub/shower combination. The second bedroom is a sweet upstairs room with natural light, a queen-size bed, and a twin-size bed. Rollaway beds and air mattresses are available at the request of larger parties. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com and Expedia so you can book your Manor Motel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Manor Hotel Ashland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing