We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A Magical Time” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Adamstown Inns & Cottages

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Adamstown Inns & Cottages
Ranked #1 of 3 Adamstown B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
San Jose, Costa Rica
Level Contributor
9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“A Magical Time”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 December 2011

We visited the Adamstown Inn for a birthday weekend and we couldn't have chosen a better location. The bed and breakfast is very romantic with wonderful rooms and excellent service. Even though it was a bed and breakfast we felt like we were in our own private niche throughout the weekend. We stayed at the Cobalt suit which included a two person jacuzzi and our own fireplace and balcony. We also booked the Royal Treatment package and got delicious treats, a dinner certificate and all the information we needed to explore Lancaster. The rooms very big and very charming. The Inn is not in Lancaster but if you have a car you should not have any problems getting there. The Adamstown Inn gives you everything you would expect if you are looking for an escape weekend.

  • Stayed November 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank carolinacastro90
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

162 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    129
    25
    4
    2
    2
See reviews for
13
126
1
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (41)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
NW PA
Level Contributor
7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 November 2011

We spent 4 nights at the Amethyst Inn in the Topaz Room. We love old houses, especially Victorian ones, so we fell in love with this house. Our room was pretty and clean. The bed was cozy and comfortable. The bathroom was a good size. The shower head is over the Jacuzzi and had adequate pressure for a good long shower and we never ran out of water. I only used the Jacuzzi one time when we arrived. It was great after many hours in the car.The door to the bathroom doesn't have a lock but that wasn't an issue for us but maybe for some. Also, in order to get the door shut we had to kind of shut it hard because of a tight fit, which made noise that we were afraid might bother a neighboring room.Our main door to the hall didn't shut flush (but still locked) and there is a little daylight towards the bottom that shows through. Such is old houses. Not an issue for us as our house has the same problems but maybe for some. There was WiFi but it was very weak and sometimes nonexistant in our upstairs room but was OK downstairs. I only used my smart-phone and it was able to connect 3G for data most of the time when I couldn't get WiFi in our room. We found the breakfasts to be really good. Each morning we got something different and enjoyed it. Each day when we returned from our outings we were greeted with a nice little gift on the bed which was a really nice touch. The room could use some kind of a shelf or very small night stand on the wall side as I couldn't put my glasses, book etc down. I had to get out of bed and use the night stand on the far side. Otherwise, the room was convenient. There was off-street parking up a steep driveway on the right side of the house. We never had the chance to meet the owners as they were away while we were there. The staff that was there was very helpful and friendly.

  • Stayed November 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank CA2PAfishers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
41 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 September 2011

We stayed in the Dragonfly Cottage. Very comfortable beds and really enjoyed the hot tub. The fireplace was a nice touch but the living room furniture is uncomfortable.

A little disappointed in the breakfast, 4 boxes of dried cereal, instant oatmeal and store bought muffins.
The Inn is in a good location, centrally located to Reading, Lancaster, Intercourse and Harrisburg.

Be sure to visit the gift shop at the main Inn for unique items.

  • Stayed September 2011, travelled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank valsay
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AdamstownInns, Owner at Adamstown Inns & Cottages, responded to this review, 15 November 2011
Thank you for choosing one of our Vacation Homes for your visit in Lancaster County. We love knowing that guest had a fabulous time. We were sorry to hear about the misunderstanding about breakfast. Staying in one of our vacation homes is different than our Bed and Breakfast accommodations. All of our Vacation Rentals have fully equipped kitchens and breakfast in not included in our vacation rental pricing. As a courtesy for guests which arrive late and are unable to visit the grocery store, we stock cereal for the children and muffins from a local bakery, milk, teas and coffee.

As stated in our rental contract, a full breakfast, delivered each morning to the vacation home is available for an additional cost if arrangements are made in advance.

Fortunately, we do have the space in the Dragonfly Cottage to accommodate 6 guests with the use of a sleep sofa. Unfortunately, sofa beds are not the most comfortable. We have recently purchased an air mattress to make your stay as comfortable as possible.

We look forward to creating a great vacation experience in Lancaster County, PA.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Palmyra, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
126 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 September 2011

Tucked away in a very small town with pretty much nothing to do except look for antiques, this was such a nice surprise!! I would go back to Adamstown again in a heartbeat, for no other reason than to stay in this quaint and comfortable Inn. The innkeeper was friendly and pleasant but non-intrusive. Our room was filled with antiques, but not in an "old dusty" way as I might have feared. We had the room on the first floor, which had an incredible tub and shower (as do all the rooms, from what I recall.) The breakfast was superb and quite more than was expected! While we didn't spend any time on the beautiful front porch (because we didn't want to leave our room!) but it was certainly very inviting. Hope to return again soon.

Room Tip: Most rooms appear to have fantastic jetted tubs, showers, and fireplaces. I don't think you can...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank karenandgrady
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Marlboro, New Jersey
2 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 September 2011

My husband & I have been coming here in April & November 4 years now. Best place ever.
Wanda, Tom and Kristen are the best hosts. They make us feel at home and so welcomed. The best place ever!!! Of course, the antique shopping is a plus and see you all in November. Stephane and Arthur Leonetti

Room Tip: Rooms are quaint and so beautiful!!!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Stephanie L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Adamstown
3.9 km away
Comfort Inn of Lancaster County North
12.1 km away
Hampton Inn & Suites Ephrata - Mountain Springs
21.3 km away
The Inn at Leola Village
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.8 km away
Living Spring Farm Bed and Breakfast
6.2 km away
Brownstone Colonial Inn
Brownstone Colonial Inn
#1 of 2 in Reinholds
5.0 of 5 bubbles 209 reviews
26.2 km away
EJ Bowman House Bed and Breakfast
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Adamstown Inns & Cottages? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Adamstown Inns & Cottages

Property: Adamstown Inns & Cottages
Address: 144 W Main St, Adamstown, PA 19501-5011
Region: United States > Pennsylvania > Lancaster County > Adamstown
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 3 B&Bs / Inns in Adamstown
Price range (per night): $193 - $224
Hotel Class:3 star — Adamstown Inns & Cottages 3*
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Adamstown Inns & Cottages, a Lancaster PA Bed and Breakfasts located in the heart of Antiques Capital in Lancaster County’s Amish country. We are minutes from outlet shopping, historical sites and golf ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Agoda so you can book your Adamstown Inns & Cottages reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing