We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
US$99
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$71
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Dutch Motel(Palmyra)
US$62
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Travel Inn(Lebanon)
US$58
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$97
US$88
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$129
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$102
US$99
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
TripAdvisor
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
TripAdvisor
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (138)
Filter reviews
138 results
Traveller rating
130
4
3
1
0
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
130
4
3
1
0
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsmovie roomsecret roomenglish manorbed and breakfastcountry comfortamazing weekendarea attractionswonderful hostspool and hot tubedible flowershershey parkrooms were very cleanchef lisarosalieamenitiessolariumfireplace
Filter
Updating list...
62 - 67 of 138 reviews
Reviewed 7 January 2014

Let me start off by saying that the inn itself is very pretty. We were in the Mardi Gra room. The grounds were nice. My sister and I like to go to B & B's as weekend girls getaways. Maybe we are spoiled, but the other inn we have been to all had rooms that were way larger and way nicer than that off the Annville Inn. The main concern we had upon arrival was the heat. It was showing at 62 degrees. We were told by Craig that it just had to take a while for the cold air to get out of the room. That was around 4:30pm that we noticed that. We went around to the house and checked it out, went back to the room and it was 63. Okay..slowly going up. We went out to dinner, and while we were gone, we were told that Rosalie and Craig would be going into the room (Which was odd to begin with) to turn down the bed and take the decorative pillows. I would have thought since I mentioned my concern about the heat that they would have checked it 3 hours after we checked in to see if it went up at all. That didn't happen, we arrived back to our room to find it at 62 again. We were the only guests that night so we went into a neighboring room and got some extra blankets out of the closet there. We were never told where to find the innkeepers should there be a problem. We were given their phone number but by the time we gone done with dinner and a movie, it was after 11pm. I didn't want to call that late. As the night went on, the temperature in our room went all the way down to a whopping 53 degrees. Needless to say, we barely slept at all. The next morning, we were asked how we slept, I said not well at all and told the innkeepers why. They turned it around and made it seem as though it was our fault that we didn't notify them. WHICH WE DID! They said they would have moved us to another room, however, as I was getting ready to pull out of the driveway after check out, I got a knock on my door from Craig and it turns out that the heating unit outside the house was frozen solid, hence why we had no heat. They gave us a $25 gift certificate towards our next stay to make up for the trouble, however, it will not be used. Also, there were sooo many rules. We aren't totally clueless and yet, it was a 10 minute explanation for how to turn the TV on in the movie room and on how to dim the lights. It was not needed. We were not impressed at all.

  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank saritchie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rosalie G, Owner at Annville Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 10 January 2014

Our number one goal is guest comfort and pleasure. Everything we do at our Inn is focused on guest happiness. These guests enjoyed our movie room, the hot tub, complimented us on a delicious breakfast, and they themselves selected our Inn's smallest room. Their welcome letter in their room and the sign on our registration desk tell how to reach us.

We were thrilled to have them here and really thought they were wonderful people. We were dismayed when we learned the room was cold, and so sorry they took it as we blamed them. That was not in our heart at all. Unknown to us, due to the subzero weather outside, the brand new heat pump unit that warms their room had no heat in the air to "pump" back into their room. We were shocked it hadn't worked in the night and felt that giving them a gift certificate was something we could do to help make up for the inconvenience. We sincerely expressed to them how sorry we were and commiserated with them about the situation. Our intent is always that our guests have a wonderful visit, and we are most regretful that the weather froze up our unit. The HVAC company told us that on that night, heat pumps failed all over our region. From now on, we'll be on our guard for unseasonably cold weather and have alternate room heating methods ready. We are so sorry these guests were unhappy. No doubt that one thing could cast a pall over everything else, no matter how wonderful it all was. These were very nice people, and we are sorry our frozen unit offended them, and we understand.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 November 2013

While there's so much I could write about our recent stay at the Annville Inn, I will try to keep this fairly brief. This B&B is absolutely stunning, immaculate and comfortable all at the same time. The high-end decor rivals any 5-star hotel. We stayed in the English Manor suite, which is so beautiful. There's a big king-size bed (which, BTW, is super comfy!) complete with luxurious linens! The bathroom is beautiful (I love the bronze fixtures) and very large. There's a view of the gardens off the porch. Skylights to let fresh air in, if needed. And, let's not forget the big jacuzzi in the room, too.

With your reservation comes breakfast, which is not only beautifully presented, but it is absolutely delicious. There is plenty to do here, if that's what you want (outdoor swimming pool, hot tub, movie theatre, pool table, card and board games, piano, etc.) They also offer cooking classes, photography classes, and spa services, but we did not have time to take advantage of these options. But, if you just want a quiet retreat, then grab a book, curl up on a sofa in the sunroom and just kick back and releax. Another plus - Hersheypark, you're only 10 minutes away.

The owners (Rosalie and Craig) are such sweet people. You can tell they take amazing pride in their home, and they treat their guests as though we are their best friends. How gracious of them to open their homes to us all, and make us feel so totally welcome and comfortable. No request is too big or too small... just ask and they'll help you out.

We don't normally stay at B&B's, but the Annville Inn has definitely raised the bar really high. If you have any hesitation about staying here, I would say, "just do it!" It's well worth it. If you have other questions that I can answer, please email me. I'm a tough critic, and I don't give out 5-stars often. However, in this case, I'd give this beautiful property a perfect "10". :-)

PS - Any "Young Frankenstein" fans will love the "Secret Room." I won't give away the surprise, but you'll understand what I'm referencing once you see this. :-)

Room Tip: I've only stayed in one room, the English Manor - it's beautiful and you won't be disappointed.
  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank HotelCritic0917
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rosalie G, Owner at Annville Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 10 January 2014

Thank you for your insightful and inspiring message. Your thoughtful, warm and meaningful comments have made our day. It is wonderful for us to know that what we strive to achieve for our guests came through for you. We believe B&B's should be a magical experience, and hope for that for all of our guests. We are truly pleased your experience was positively memorable. Comments like yours are what keeps us going! Wonderful guests such as yourselves bring joy to our Inn.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 November 2013

What can I say about this place? It was the best B&B I have ever been to. The service was off the charts. The food was out of a food network show. Close enough to amazing attractions like Hershey park and many others. The property is gorgeous. They have a 10-15 person home theater. Rooms are one of a kind. Will definitely make a trip back.

Room Tip: All rooms are different and unique.
  • Stayed: December 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Danielle C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rosalie G, Owner at Annville Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 10 January 2014

Danielle, thank you for your thoughtful and wonderfully positive review. We love our guests, and are thrilled when they write that they like what we are doing here. Our philosophy is, "The difference between good and great is a little extra effort,” which is what we try to achieve every day for every person. Thank you for your photography that you shared, and you are right--there is so much to do in this area with Hershey only minutes away, and also Lancaster, Harrisburg and many other points. When we lived in Washington, DC, there was always something going on and available every night. When we moved out to the country, we wondered if we'd notice a difference and were amazed at all there is to do here considering the numerous exemplary theatres for live theatre and symphony, the antiquing and galleries, and then all the entertainment venues such as those you mentioned--not to mention all the chocolate! Thanks again, Danielle.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 October 2013

This place is a gem! Beautifully seasonally decorated, great breakfaasts, great rooms, A movie room, gorgeous grounds and great atmosphere. The hosts, Rosalie and Craig, are very friendly and helpful both at the Inn as well as guiding you to attractions and restaurants. Close to Hershey and a reasonable distance from Lancaster. Great place!

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Henry B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rosalie G, Owner at Annville Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 10 January 2014

Henry and Sue, you are both such dears to write your wonderful review, and you are terrific photographers! Thanks for those four beautiful photos that you posted, we love them! It is always a pleasure to have you here, and we can't wait until you come back with all your friends this summer! Thank you for your support of everything we are doing here at our Inn to ensure our guests have a wonderful, relaxing experience. Thanks again for your kind and supportive words. Rosalie

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 September 2013

We recently stayed 2 nights at the Annville Inn, and had a great time. The place is clean, beautiful, has wonderful views, and a first class breakfast. I've stayed in several B&B's, but this was by far the nicest one at which I have stayed. We chose the smallest room, that was decorated beautifully and was very comfy and cozy. Both breakfasts were prepared by a chef with more than enough food. It was truly gourmet. Craig and Rosalie made us feel like family. They were very helpful in recommending places to dine and sites to see in the area. Whether you wanted to be out touring all day, or kicked back reading a book and relaxing at the inn, this place has it all; it's comes complete, with rec room, movie theater, dvd players in every room, pool, hot tub, beautiful gardens, books to read, and plenty of snacks to eat. All for about the same price as a local motel room.

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Pam_H1234
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rosalie G, Owner at Annville Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 10 January 2014

Pam, we feel so fortunate to have met the two of you this summer when you came to stay with us for a get away. It was a delight having you both here as our guests, and we look forward to you coming back again. We went into this business for only one reason, to create an environment where people can be refreshed, rejuvenated, recharged, and we work hard every day to realize that goal. We are so glad you appreciated this, and we very much appreciate your inspiring review and you coming up from Virginia to enjoy beautiful Pennsylvania with us!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews