We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good Location”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Amarillo East
Ranked #31 of 72 Hotels in Amarillo
Reviewed 16 July 2014

As we have traveled across the US and back, we find ourselves booking Holiday Inn Express rooms for our overnight stops. We like the newness of mist if the locations and the beautifully appointed rooms. This location we had a suite which is a regular room with a 10x10 area between the sleeping area and the bath area with a sofa and tables. The room was very clean and had ample room with the extra area. Big screen TV, mini-fridge and a mini bar with sink. Plush carpeting, plush bedding, quality furnishings. Bath was done in high end tile and granite. Bath was appointed with Kohler appliances. The room was very quiet. This location had a laundry facility on the second and third floors which was a much needed perk as we needed to use these facilities. The washer on the second floor was out of order so we had to use the one on the third floor. Staff was helpful and accommodating. The mini-fridge did not have a small freezer compartment. We required this to freeze freezer packs to keep diabetic medications cold. This was the second IR third Holiday Inn location that did not have a freezer in the mini-fridge. The front desk was able to store the packs for us in a freezer. The room came with free WiFi and it worked great. Complimentary hot breakfast buffet was included. It was mostly the same as all the other locations. Scrambled eggs, sausage patsy, chipped beef, variety if toasts, bagels and muffins along with cereals. The scrambled eggs at this location were done in omelet style with some sort of Texmex goop inside. This needs to change as not everyone staying there likes Texmex. Just serve them plain as all the other locations do.

Room Tip: Book ahead of time as many locations in Amarillo were booked up.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Dave0616
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (183)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

75 - 79 of 183 reviews

Reviewed 3 July 2014

Friendly staff. Beautifully decorated. Clean. Bathroom in our room was AWFUL. Shower curtain did not cover the opening and water leaked all across the floor.....during each of our four showers. We clean up after ourselves whenever we stay at a hotel, but this was MAJOR work that should not have been necessary. Pool was wonderful. Breakfast too. Just inconsistent among all areas.

Stayed: July 2014, travelled with family
Thank Christine W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Amarillo East, responded to this reviewResponded 20 July 2014

Dear Christine W,

Thank you for writing a review on your recent stay. We appreciate your feedback about the friendly staff and cleanliness of the hotel, and we are glad that you enjoyed the complimentary breakfast and pool area. On the other hand, please accept our sincere apologies for the shortcomings regarding the bathroom quality. I have forwarded your concerns with the respective departments for appropriate action, and ensure that similar situations will be avoided.

Your feedback is very important to us as this helps us gauge what we are doing right and what we need to improve on. We do hope you would consider staying with us again on your next future visit.

Kind Regards,

Tracy V.
Case Manager
IHGCare

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 July 2014

1st plus is that they are pet friendly. Very nice comfortable room. I had been traveling with my granddaughter, 5 , and she was very pleased with the pool and spa :-) She ( like many 5 year olds) is an honest cretic. Being and IHG club member , If you aren't I would recommend you become, I got late check out ( 2pm) so she could enjoy her stay and the pool. The room was very clean and pleasant. The only reason I didn't rate EXCELLENT is because I didn't eat the free breakfast buffet. I was to tired from traveling and the beds were to comfortable to get out of LoL :-) The price was very,very reasonable 129$ with pet. Again IHG membership was able to get me a better price. The staff were very friendly and helpful and non robotic. I will definitely be using this hotel again and would high recommend it to anyone. Plus, if you are traveling with family for fun everyone usually "eats&runs" so by 10 or 11 you and your family could possibly have place to yourselves. Like we did :-) Enjoy them and make memories

Room Tip: Ask for a back side room as to avoid any possible road noise.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank 5FishingStooges
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 June 2014

En route to Oklahoma, our 2nd and final night of a 1400+ mile road trip after a 8 hour drive from Las Cruces, NM. I use Holiday Inn's and IHG properties when I can. This did not disappoint, familiar quality, service and hospitality. Right off I-40 and easy access to food, gas and other businesses we had a great stopover. Kudo's to staff who had a color board with our name indicating us as VIP Customers.

Room Tip: Amazing that our room was ground floor on the I-40 side of the hotel. Quiet as ever, good soundproo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Tony G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 May 2014 via mobile

Proximity to airport is nice. Check in was simple and quick.
I can see this hotel being an issue if you don't have a vehicle. Its only within walking distance of one restaurant (buffalo wild wings) and a couple gas stations. There are no sidewalks, no places to walk.
My room was clean, I did not have any issues with the water temperature. I may try a different HI Express in town the next time I'm there.

Stayed: May 2014, travelled on business
Thank Jeff K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Amarillo East, responded to this reviewResponded 27 May 2014

Dear Jeff K,

Thank you for taking the time to provide feedback on your stay. We are pleased to see you enjoyed your time at the hotel, and look forward to serving you in the future.

Sincerely,

Ben J
Case Manager
IHGCare

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Amarillo hotels
0.4 km away
Fairfield Inn & Suites Amarillo Airport
12.5 km away
Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Amarillo
18.4 km away
Holiday Inn Express & Suites Amarillo West
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
13.9 km away
Staybridge Suites Amarillo-Western Crossing
18.7 km away
Drury Inn & Suites Amarillo
2.2 km away
Hampton Inn & Suites Amarillo East
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Amarillo East? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Amarillo East

Address: 9401 E Interstate 40, Amarillo, TX 79118-6960
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Texas > Amarillo
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #31 of 72 Hotels in Amarillo
Price Range: $168 - $217 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Amarillo East 2.5*
Number of rooms: 69
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
East Amarillo Hotel Offers Convenient Location Enjoy a comfortable stay at the Holiday Inn Express Hotel and Suites of East Amarillo, located within a mile of Amarillo Rick Husband International Airport (AMA). You can take the family for a day of fun at Wonderland Amusement Park, just 10 miles from our Amarillo hotel! If you're more in the mood for shopping, the Westgate Mall is only 10 miles away. Amarillo offers attractions for nature lovers as well, and you can check out Palo Duro Canyon or Historic Route 66. Lodging in our Amarillo Airport hotel while in town for business means you have an ideal location close to the airport! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Amarillo East reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Express Hotel And Suites Amarillo East
Holiday Inn Express Amarillo
Holiday Inn Amarillo
Amarillo Holiday Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing