We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Not impressed”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Candlewood Suites - Austin South
Ranked #133 of 205 Hotels in Austin
Reviewed 14 March 2016

To start off the positives were that I requested a room opposite of the highway, and they fulfilled my wish. The room was larger than I expected with the large desk and the miniature kitchen.

After I checked and got on the elevator I instantly got a whiff of cigarette smoke. The smell continued on my way up to the third floor. The entire hallway smelled like every room was chain smoking. I was surprised by the stench considering the majority of the rooms I passed had a non smoking sign.

Thankfully when I entered my room, it did not have the same odor as the hallway.

I found some gross stains on the curtains when I went to close the shades for the night. After seeing that it made me question the cleanliness of the rest of the room.

Note: Breakfast is not free, and must be purchased from the pantry.

Room Tip: Request a room opposite the highway
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2016, travelled on business
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank TobiasAugustus
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
IHGService, Guest Relations Manager at Candlewood Suites - Austin South, responded to this reviewResponded 30 March 2016

Dear TobiasAugustus,

Thank you for writing a review about your recent stay with us. We appreciate that you find our location to be convenient from the highway and had liked the size of our rooms and kitchens. On the other hand, we apologize for any inconvenience regarding with smell of smoke along the hallways and the cleanliness that was missed out by our housekeeping staff. Your feedback is highly appreciated as this helps us gauge what we are doing right, and identify areas that may benefit from additional attention. We hope you would consider staying with us again should your travels bring you back to the area.

Sincerely,

Dianne L.
Case Manager
IHGService

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (128)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

25 - 29 of 128 reviews

Reviewed 8 February 2016

Your regulation Candlewood in a moderately edgy location next to a freeway. Just there for an overnight, but was disturbed by the folks sitting in the lobby when I checked out. Thin walls - heard the guy snoring next to me - truth be told, he probably heard me, too...

I won't return.

  • Stayed: February 2016, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank deep_in_Dallas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
IHGService, Guest Relations Manager at Candlewood Suites - Austin South, responded to this reviewResponded 24 February 2016

Dear deep_in_Dallas,

Thank you for your stay and your comments. We're so sorry to hear that you had a noisy stay with us. Your comments have been escalated and we will look into the situation. We hope that you will give us another opportunity to better accommodate you.

Sincerely,

Christian C.
Case Manager
IHGService

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 January 2016 via mobile

Staying in Austin for the weekend, nice establishment as well as a decent price for two days. Rooms were clean, comfortable bed, nice kitchenette area. Staff was very friendly and laundry facilities were free. The only complaint I have was that the room smelled of curry as well as the hallways, and the water had a bit of a funny smell and taste. This may be due to whom ever stayed in the room before us, and as far as the water goes that may just be the area. I would definitely stay in this hotel again, all in all it was a good place.

Stayed: January 2016, travelled as a couple
1  Thank John H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 January 2016 via mobile

The staff was friendly and helpful. The room was clean and very adequate. It was our second time to stay here while visiting family and we will stay again because the location is great and it meets our needs.

Stayed: December 2015, travelled with family
1  Thank Purpkerose57
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 December 2015

This hotel is a nice little home away from home. The staff is great and always willing to help you help if you need. the floors, lobby and rooms are really clean which gives you a good sense the staff looks after the place.

  • Stayed: December 2015, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
1  Thank Oscar R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Austin hotels
Wyndham Garden Austin
#46 of 205 in Austin
1,626 reviews
South Austin
Red Roof PLUS+ Austin - South
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Crowne Plaza Austin
#17 of 205 in Austin
1,311 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Candlewood Suites - Austin South? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Candlewood Suites - Austin South

Address: 4320 S Interstate 35, Austin, TX 78745-2023
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Texas > Austin
Amenities:
Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #133 of 205 Hotels in Austin
Price Range: S$137 - S$210 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Candlewood Suites - Austin South 2.5*
Number of rooms: 122
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
We are an all Suite Hotel with Studio and One Bedroom Suites located just minutes from Downtown Austin and the Austin Airport. We provide complimentary high speed internet in all guest rooms and free parkingas well. We are pet friendly and have a 24 hr fitness center. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with IHG, Hotels.com, Agoda, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Expedia and HotelQuickly so you can book your Candlewood Suites - Austin South reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Candlewood Suites - Austin South Hotel Austin
Candlewood Austin
Austin Candlewood Suites

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing