We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wow what a disappointment”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Candlewood Suites - Austin South
Ranked #132 of 204 Hotels in Austin
Reviewed 4 July 2016

Room smelled like dirty dog, and the Air Conditioner was loud. Couldn't sleep with the noise from the AC. No maid service if you stay more than one day and the price is the same each night. Really!!!!! Had to take my dirty towels to the front desk in order to get new ones. I've had better stays at Motel 6. The shower water pressure was poor.

Room Tip: Don't use this hotel!!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2016, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank brewerb44
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
IHGService, Guest Relations Manager at Candlewood Suites - Austin South, responded to this reviewResponded 30 July 2016

Dear brewerb44,

Thank you for staying with us and for leaving a review on TripAdvisor. We rely on guest feedback as this will allow us to improve wherever possible. I regret to read that you found your last visit to be disappointing. I am sorry for not meeting your expectations when it comes to the cleanliness of the room, air conditioning system, and customer service delivered. In line with this, I have sent you a private message to help us get additional information regarding this event.

Again, thank you for your feedback and I hope to hear from you soon.

Sincerely,

Ingrid V.
Case Manager
IHGService

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (128)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

20 - 24 of 128 reviews

Reviewed 2 July 2016 via mobile

After looking for a hotel for 2 hours after a long day of swimming, we stumbled upon this one and it was great, very clean, and the staff was very friendly. The room was spacious, and the bed was comfy. It felt a lot safer than the La Quinta a few hotels down. Our room was equipped with a microwave, stove, dish washer, and an apartment size refrigerator. I would definitely come back.

Stayed: July 2016, travelled as a couple
4  Thank Victoriaarene
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 June 2016

Room was average, was clean. They had a room on main floor where you could get packaged food to cook in the microwave and using honor system they would add to your expenses if occurred.. Worked out well since we had no way of getting to a restaurant unless walked a ways.

  • Stayed: May 2016, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank MelodyPaul
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
IHGService, Guest Relations Manager at Candlewood Suites - Austin South, responded to this reviewResponded 14 July 2016

Dear MelodyPaul,

Thank you for taking the time to tell us about your experience at our hotel. It is good to know that you approve of the cleanliness level of the property. On the other hand, I am sorry to read that your stay was only average. I apologize for the disappointments you had with your room accommodations and regret the inconvenience this may have caused. I have taken note of your valuable comments and will use these to monitor and improve the quality of services we offer to our guests in the future.

While I understand your stay was not 100% satisfactory, I sincerely hope that we get another chance of providing you a better experience on your next visit.

Sincerely,

Ingrid V.
Case Manager
IHGService

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 June 2016

Candlewoods in general have always felt somewhat generic to me. This one is no different. The staff are very friendly and helpful. I had a standard room. The arrangement is inconvenient, with the recliner right between the bed and the wall with nearly no space between. I do like the workdesk, dining table combo setup. The bed bothered me the first couple of nights, but fortunately, they were replacing all the beds the week I was there. I slept so much better the last night on the new bed. Air conditioning worked great. My only complaint is the bedding. The sheets had that uncomfortable slightly rough texture of cheap sheets that have been washed many times. I ended up having to put my travel blanket beneath myself to keep the bottom sheet from touching my skin. I hope they get new bedding to go with their new beds.

  • Stayed: June 2016, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Cheri D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
IHGService, Guest Relations Manager at Candlewood Suites - Austin South, responded to this reviewResponded 11 July 2016

Dear Cheri D,

Thank you for taking the time to write a review about your stay with us. We are pleased to know that you found our staff to be very friendly and helpful. However, we would like to apologize for falling below your expectations regarding our rooms and bedding. Reviews like yours are very valuable as they enable us to target areas we need to improve on. Rest assured your feedback will be forwarded to the appropriate departments for evaluation.

We value you as our guest and hope to accommodate you again for a chance to provide you with a much better experience.

Sincerely,

Joel A
Case Manager
IHGService

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 May 2016 via mobile

I just love this hotel!!! The staff is amazing, sweet and informative.
Our room was clean, comfortable, cool and inviting.
The little snack cabinet was awesome and handy. The laundry area was so convenient and always clean.
I stayed here in November for 3 weeks and had a wonderful experience then too.
This trip was for 10 days.
We brought our 1 yr old Morkie Maggie with us as this hotel is pet friendly.
Great location... Close to down town Austin and highway I-35 to everyplace south like The Alamo!
There is no pool, but there are so many lakes and cool places to go tubing also dozens of dog parks too with and without water for your dog to swim in.
So nice to have a kitchen in your room, go shopping at H.E.B and fill the fridge...lol
Texas I love you!
Cheers from Canada

Stayed: May 2016, travelled as a couple
2  Thank ckilpat63
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Austin hotels
Wyndham Garden Austin
#46 of 204 in Austin
1,621 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
South Austin
Red Roof PLUS+ Austin - South
Crowne Plaza Austin
#20 of 204 in Austin
1,306 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Candlewood Suites - Austin South? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Candlewood Suites - Austin South

Address: 4320 S Interstate 35, Austin, TX 78745-2023
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Texas > Austin
Amenities:
Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #132 of 204 Hotels in Austin
Price Range: $135 - $208 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Candlewood Suites - Austin South 2.5*
Number of rooms: 122
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
We are an all Suite Hotel with Studio and One Bedroom Suites located just minutes from Downtown Austin and the Austin Airport. We provide complimentary high speed internet in all guest rooms and free parkingas well. We are pet friendly and have a 24 hr fitness center. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with IHG, Expedia, Hotels.com, Agoda, Booking.com, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your Candlewood Suites - Austin South reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Candlewood Suites - Austin South Hotel Austin
Candlewood Austin
Austin Candlewood Suites

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing