We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Staybridge Suites Austin NW(Austin)(Great Value!)
US$103
US$93
Staybridge.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
The Driskill(Austin)
US$173
US$159
Hyatt.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
Savings alert! 38% below average rates

The price you found is 38% lower than this hotel's average rate of US$256/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

US$179
EmbassySuites.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Breakfast included
  • Pool
Savings alert! 22% below average rates

The price you found is 22% lower than this hotel's average rate of US$229/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

Best Western Plus Austin City Hotel(Austin)(Great Value!)
US$120
US$106
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Savings alert! 20% below average rates

The price you found is 20% lower than this hotel's average rate of US$132/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

InterContinental Stephen F. Austin(Austin)(Great Value!)
US$144
InterContinental
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
Savings alert! 22% below average rates

The price you found is 22% lower than this hotel's average rate of US$184/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

US$103
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$138
US$128
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Savings alert! 21% below average rates

The price you found is 21% lower than this hotel's average rate of US$163/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

W Austin(Austin)
US$229
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
Savings alert! 30% below average rates

The price you found is 30% lower than this hotel's average rate of US$328/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

US$195
US$182
Priceline
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
Savings alert! 20% below average rates

The price you found is 20% lower than this hotel's average rate of US$228/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

Crowne Plaza Austin(Austin)(Great Value!)
US$102
US$99
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Savings alert! 12% below average rates

The price you found is 12% lower than this hotel's average rate of US$113/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

Reviews (335)
Filter reviews
335 results
Traveller rating
260
42
15
9
9
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
260
42
15
9
9
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsexercise classesthe blue roomfrozen yogurtstarry nightgirls tripguest roomsindoor pooldemosrelaxationpamperingmeditationacupuncturenutritionluxurytechnicianretreataccommodations
Filter
Updating list...
22 - 27 of 335 reviews
Reviewed 3 August 2017

This was my third visit to Lake Austin, the last one being two years ago. It's a beautiful resort: there is much to do from water sports to classes (cooking demos, cardmaking etc), to fitness along with the spa itself, which offers a wide range of indulgences from facials to massages to acupuncture. The food is mouthwatering and the portions are reasonable: not crazy double portions but just right for the healthy eater. The level of service has changed however: in previous visits the staff could not do enough to provide a positive, special experience. This time, I had to ask for a Lake Austin water bottle, which previously had been presented (with my name on it) as part of the welcome upon arrival. And when I asked for one, the person who gave it to me seemed...annoyed. Room service was also inconsistent. We made a special request for my daughter's birthday (breakfast) and it was excellent. Two days later we ordered breakfast from room service, and the pancakes I ordered arrived with exactly one (!!) small pancake sitting beneath the metal cover. Really? Our room was nice but something was wrong with the bar provided for hanging clothes and it was hard to get clothes on it as it didn't hang straight across. We had fun but it was not the across the board special experience that I had on two previous visits when the staff was welcoming and service-oriented across the board.

Room Tip: a room with a lake view is preferable
  • Stayed: June 2017, travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank KatienBill
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
lakeaustinspa, Managing Director at Lake Austin Spa Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 5 August 2017

Dear KatienBill,

Thank you for sharing your recent experience with us. I apologize that our service levels did not measure up to your previous visits and I assure you we take these concerns very seriously and will be addressing these issues with our team. I would like to invite a follow up conversation with you, offline, to discuss this in more detail. Please send me an email to info@lakeaustin.com and we can arrange a time to talk.

Sincerely,
Janis Clapoff
Managing Director
Lake Austin Spa Resort

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 July 2017

Booked this trip on the spur of the moment (18 hours before arrival) and was not disappointed. Rooms were not ostentatious but quite comfortable and quaint. The public spaces were comfortable and well maintained. The food quality is OUTSTANDING well prepared and presented. We enjoyed the lakefront area and activities and spent probably the hottest day this summer relaxing in the cooling waters of Lake Austin don't know what else we could have asked for.

Room Tip: Best views are from the room block closet to the spa
  • Stayed: July 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank Robert F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
lakeaustinspa, Managing Director at Lake Austin Spa Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 4 August 2017

Dear Robert,

Thank you so much for taking the time to write a review - we're so happy you enjoyed so many aspects of Lake Austin Spa Resort and we also can't get enough of Executive Chef Stephane Beaucamp's cuisine! So happy you were able to take a dip into Lake Austin too. We look forward to welcoming you back to the lake soon!

Sincerely,
Janis Clapoff
Managing Director

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 July 2017

This place is a little piece of paradise. You almost have no choice but to relax as soon as you enter the door. Went with friends for a girls weekend and enjoyed relaxing by lake in hammocks and lounging in the pool before enjoying an excellent lunch and one of the best massages we have ever had. One of my friends said it was, in fact, the absolute best massage. The facilities are clean and comfortable. The Blue Room where you relax before and after the treatments may be my favorite place in the world. The only reason I am not giving five stars is because of the service. The management needs to focus on training. The young girl who checked us in was rather clueless and sort of rude as well. The waiter at lunch was equally as clueless. For a spa of this caliber, it was surprising not to see a better trained staff.

  • Stayed: July 2017, travelled with friends
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank acker98
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
lakeaustinspa, Managing Director at Lake Austin Spa Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 19 July 2017

Dear acker98,
Thank you for the feedback and for the kind and effervescent words about our food, the treatments, the Blue Room and of course the hammocks - one of my personal favorite places to relax on property. I’m truly sorry that you did not experience the excellent service that we strive to provide each of our guests. I would be happy to have a further conversation with you offline and hope that you will get in touch so that we can work on improvements for future visits. Please send an email to info@lakeaustin.com with your contact information and I will follow up with you personally.

Sincerely,
Janis Clapoff
Managing Director
Lake Austin Spa Resort

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 June 2017

If you're from Texas, this is about as close to heaven as it gets: Lake Austin, water activities, fabulous spa, lots of activities, amazing food and tranquility. If you're not from Texas, it's still amazing, but perhaps not the same type of 5-star locale you might be accustomed to. The rooms are rustic but the AC works, the beds are comfy, the shower is great and everything is clean. The spa is beautiful and so comfortable (shout out to Monica and Aquastretch -- definitely recommend this treatment if deep tissue massage isn't doing it for you anymore!). The kitchens turn out fantastic food (the menu listings of calories and nutrition data can't possibly be right), and although you look at the proportions and think "this can't be all...", they are perfect. The lake is....well, it's the lake!

Lake Austin Spa is fabulous, even with lots and lots of lizards. Have already booked a return trip for next year. Adult summer camp is a great vacation!

A word of caution, when the activities schedule lists something as challenging, it is. Don't expect differently.

Room Tip: The rooms in block 21-26 are actually the most convenient on the property; centrally located and easy to access from everywhere.
  • Stayed: June 2017, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
1  Thank Serena_sayeth
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
lakeaustinspa, Managing Director at Lake Austin Spa Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 28 June 2017

Dear Serena,

Thank you so much for sharing your experience with other travelers - sounds like you might have gone to one of our "challenging" fitness classes. I hope you've recovered!

We are also fans of Monica and the AquaStretch massage - the treatment is so unique and we've had rave reviews from other guests as well, so we are happy to hear that you also enjoyed it. We're also happy to hear that you'll be returning as our guest again next year!

Until then, our appreciation for your kind words.
Sincerely,
Janis Clapoff
Managing Director, Lake Austin Spa Resort

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 June 2017

This place is great for relaxing, working out with the choice of many types of classs every day. There's Lake sports, pool sports, yoga, even painting, and cooking.
It is VERY casual , almost Camp like, however the price is not Camp like.... the food fantastic and mostly home grown here on property ....
the accommodations in the rooms are four star, not five... but comfortable.
All in all a great trip of a girls trip together....

Room Tip: Do not get with your view of the Buildings, you want to have a Lake view....
  • Stayed: June 2017, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
1  Thank nyani46
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
lakeaustinspa, Managing Director at Lake Austin Spa Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 22 June 2017

Dear Nyani46,

Thank you for taking the time to share a review. We appreciate your kind words about our food, relaxation and workout opportunities! We hope to welcome you back to our shore very soon.

Sincerely,
Janis Clapoff
Managing Director
Lake Austin Spa Resort

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews