We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Zilker Zephyr Miniature Train
Open today: 10:00 AM - 6:00 PM
Save
Review Highlights
MUST DO FOR KIDS

I grew up in Austin, and still love the train. Wave at everyone you pass, they wave back, it’s... read more

Reviewed 18 September 2018
Alysa J
,
Denver, Colorado
Kid's had fun

About 20 mins long. No cover, so take a hat for the sun. Does go through a short tunnel and cuts... read more

Reviewed 17 May 2018
nancysP2211IK
via mobile
Read all 118 reviews
  
Reviews (118)
Filter reviews
118 results
Traveller rating
53
49
12
2
2
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
53
49
12
2
2
Show reviews that mention
All reviews all ages nice ride train leaves road bridge downtown austin tunnel playground park fun hat track trees
Filter
Updating list...
9 - 14 of 118 reviews
Reviewed 8 April 2017 via mobile

Great plan to share with kids and go around the Zikler park. It's a very nice experience and totally recomendable for kids and family

Date of experience: April 2017
Thank Iggyxii
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 December 2016

A great little train located in Barton Springs are of Zilker Park. Kids of all ages will enjoy the 20 minute train ride around the park that hugs the springs, through the park, and around the outskirts of Zilker Park.

Date of experience: December 2016
Thank andrewrC8080XB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 November 2016

We rode the train just to get a glimpse of the park beyond the streets and trails. It was an o.k. experience, and we saw workers setting up for the Tail of Lights (Christmas. But it was great fun for the little kids on the train, especially going through the 2 tunnels.

The ride is 25 minutes long. The train leaves on the hour. EXACTLY on the hour. we missed one because we were having trouble finding parking. Buy your tickets in advance, visit the restroom, and try some of the pizza if you are early or miss the train.

The train has no covering, so wear a hat, sunscreen, etc. if it is sunny. Bring an umbrella if it is raining, although you will have to close it for the tunnels.

Date of experience: November 2016
Thank capitollover
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 November 2016 via mobile

The Zilker zephyr train was the destination for our family of two grandparents, one parent and two 3-year-olds. Just a wonderful bonus that it's located in Zilker Park with all of the other things the park has to offer.

On our day, the train wasn't leaving the station for a half an hour, so we just sat in the cars and enjoyed chatting with each other. The actual ride seemed to be about 20 or 25 minutes, longer than I expected. We paid three dollars per adult and two dollars per kid.

The train is on a nice scale (large enough to be comfortable for adults, but small enough to be approachable for children). It's clean and in good repair. The ride was smooth and never scary.

We went through two tunnels, and twice past the guitar playing man (TIP: have some money ready if you are inclined to tip troubadours).

Why am I only giving this a "3"? Jaded adult, I guess. The three-year-olds would rate it 4 and 5.

Date of experience: November 2016
Thank timebes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 October 2016

West to Zilker Park on Wednesday and rode the Zilker Zephyr. 25 minute ride through the woods and two different tunnels. Kids loved it.

Date of experience: October 2016
Thank donandeileen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews