We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice clean hotel but bright property lights shine in rooms”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Holiday Inn Express Austin Airport
Ranked #121 of 201 Hotels in Austin
Reviewed 6 December 2011

I had stayed at this hotel a couple of years ago and was very happy with the nice, fresh, new bed linens and decided to book again. The room was good, but I didn't get the same comforting feeling as before. The property has bright flood lights that were glaring into the room until about 3:00 am which was disappointing. The bed was comfortable, the room was clean and the free hot breakfast was good. I would recommend this hotel, but ask for a room that is not facing the ground property lights.

Room Tip: Ask for a inner room not near ground flood lights that shine up
See more room tips
Stayed: December 2011, travelled with family
Thank from_texas_too
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (142)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

102 - 106 of 142 reviews

Reviewed 15 October 2011

My room was huge, clean and comfortable, and the staff most pleasant and helpful. I had booked through Hotwire because of it's rating and airport van service.

My only problem had to do with my pick up on arrival at the airport. Since I have knee problems, I called the hotel a few days before to get down the logistics of connecting with the van at the airport. She told me the courtesy phone was right across from the baggage claim and the area I'd be picked up was right outside the door. I asked her if there was a place to sit, and she said there was. The reality was that after I phoned the hotel that I was ready to be picked up, I was told to wait between pillars 6 and 7 outside. Once I got outside, I couldn't see the numbers on the pillars, but a kind airport employee showed me where. Once I got there, it was a greater distance from where I'd claimed my baggage than I'd anticipated, and there was nowhere to sit, and the wait was a bit longer than I'd hoped. Once I was picked up, everthing was great; the concierge himself was the driver filling in, and he invited me to Happy Hour was was to begin in a bit.

Happy Hour -- actually available more like three hours -- offered local draft beer, local and California wine, iced or hot tea or coffee, both beef and chicken taquitos, tortilla chips with cheese dip and/or salsa, sandwiches, popcorn and crudites with ranch dressing! After spare airplane edibles, was I ever ready for that!!!

The swimming pool -- very attractive -- was great for exercise and relaxation in 88 to 90 degree October afternoon in the Heart of Texas.

The WiFi worked very well, so I got some work done.

This was by far the best of the five hotels I've used in the past four years of trips to Austin.

  • Stayed: October 2011, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank TexanJerseyite
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 September 2011

My colleagues and I traveled to Austin recently for a conference and stayed at the Holiday Inn Express instead of the conference hotel. We were pleasantly surprised by the friendliness of the staff and the comfortable accommodations. The hotel hosts a nice happy hour each afternoon and serves a full, hot breakfast. It's close to the airport and major freeways in the Austin area. The front desk staff was friendly and made several recommendations about restaurants in the area and made us feel welcome. We're planning to travel to Austin again this winter and are making plans to stay at the Holiday Inn Express.

  • Stayed: September 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank mgm858
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 September 2011

Although I appropriately cancelled my hotel reservation as required, I was charged nevertheless. Discussions were fruitless. The "day manager" was very rude and unfriendly, her name is Nora Morales. I took this situation up with the national Holiday Inn service center (1 800 621 0555). They advised I call my credit card company to have the charge cancelled or talk to the owner. So I opted for the latter at the time being. I learned that no day manager would be available the next three days and the owner was in California but could be reached anytime at ----------. So I called only to be shocked by the lack of education and social manners expected of a hotel owner. Billy, the owner, claimed he had nothing to do with daily business and could not help. ????? Uhhh ??? In my opinion, this hotel does not deserve the name Holiday Inn. Unfortunately, a few rotten apples always ruin the bunch. At least the credit card company could help. Hope Billy was enjoying California. Do you think he was staying at a Holiday Inn? I wonder.

  • Stayed: September 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Angelica G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 August 2011

Be aware of thieves at the hotel. They state they have cameras and security but they do not. Even the crime scene unit and police officer could not find cameras outside. The hotel itself was good and the desk was nice. But when you park right in FRONT of the hotel and someone bashes your window and takes over 500 dollars of stuff. Well just add it up.. almost 1000 when it was said and done, a Saturday down the drain, and it makes the overall stay a bad one! Its funny how they were so nice but not as helpful with the crime that occurred. Get a rental and have them break into that but from what Austin PD told us its a high crime area for hotel vehicle break ins. Of course the hotel wont tell you that and they will put their stupid signs that they are not responsible. I get that but put those signs when you have at least some sort of security for your customers!

Stayed: August 2011, travelled with family
3  Thank LjGarcia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Austin hotels
South Austin
La Quinta Inn & Suites Austin Airport
South Austin
Courtyard Austin Airport
Courtyard Austin Airport
#61 of 201 in Austin
524 reviews
South Austin
Comfort Suites Austin Airport
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
South Austin
Hampton Inn & Suites Austin - Airport
South Austin
Holiday Inn Austin Airport
Hilton Austin Airport
#59 of 201 in Austin
1,112 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn Express Austin Airport? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Express Austin Airport

Address: 7601 E Ben White Blvd, Austin, TX 78741-6819
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Texas > Austin > South Austin
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #121 of 201 Hotels in Austin
Price Range: $141 - $319 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Holiday Inn Express Austin Airport 2.5*
Number of rooms: 80
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Whether you are in Austin for business or pleasure, the Holiday Inn Express Austin Airport offers all the comforts and conveniences you expect. We are centrally located near Austin-Bergstrom International Airport downtown Austin, Austin Convention Center, and the University of Texas. The Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites is perfect choice for the business traveler. We offer free high-speed (wired & wireless) fiber Internet service, a business center, fitness center, and outdoor pool and hot tub. Take advantage of our 'Park & Fly' program and eliminate worries of high airport parking rates. We offer daily complimentary airport shuttle service 24 hours a day . Don't forget our complimentary freshly prepared breakfast buffet, including variety of hot items like bacon, sausage, omelets, scramble eggs, pancakes and biscuits & gravy as well lighter items such as oatmeal yogurt, and pastries. Visit Austin, Texas and Stay Smart at the Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Austin Airport. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your Holiday Inn Express Austin Airport reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Express Austin Airport Hotel Austin
Holiday Inn Austin
Austin Holiday Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing