We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Decadent delicious beautiful”

Mattie's at Green Pastures
Ranked #257 of 3,978 Restaurants in Austin
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$0 - US$40
Cuisines: American, Steakhouse
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic
Dining options: Breakfast, Outdoor Seating
Neighbourhood: South Austin
Description: Come sit on Mattie’s porch, under the majestic live oaks or in our delightful dining room and stay for a long visit. Partake of thoughtfully sourced, rustic farm-fresh American fare and cocktails served with a generous side of Texas hospitality. This house has hosted some real characters over the last century, young and old, formal and informal—friends & family are always welcome.
Reviewed 8 March 2021 via mobile

Overall
We showed up on a late Sunday morning and were able to get a table in about 1/2 hour. While we waited we toured the grounds - wow - gorgeous. It looked like 3 sepperate events were being staged in addition to the restaurant running. Parking was full and kind of random and unmarked but fine.
The meal
Great appetizer - great silverware - wonderful presentation and service. Really strong first impression. We got coffee and the pimento cheese with toast to start. Great choice and very tasty and sized right for 3 adults.
Vegetable Frittata, 'eggs Benedict gone Texas' , and bananas foster waffles. Lordt!
The Frittata was fine but the other 2 meals just shown so brightly ! Yeeeehaw.

We shared everything and was so happy we did - not cheap but come on y'all it was a special occasion. Will do this again.

Nice service nothing special but over all very competent. Food quality and presentation was excellent. Table setup dishes glasses silverware all matched the price point.
Strongly recommend you come try this.

Date of visit: March 2021
Thank jposttx
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Darcie, Marketing at Mattie's at Green Pastures, responded to this reviewResponded 9 March 2021

Thank you so much for your feedback. We're glad you enjoyed your meal!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a reviewReviews (82)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

2 - 6 of 82 reviews

Reviewed 29 June 2020

It doesn’t get any better than this ! Despite the pandemic our sons wedding day won! A celebration of over one hundred turned to twelve. Mattie’s was the most Romantic intimate setting with a staff who deserves a standing ovation. Lexi Salon my coordinator was amazing. She spent endless hours and emails making sure we had a wonderful experience. Our servers Evan and Isabell along with our bartender Dustin and banquet captain Alana did an outstanding job considering they all wore masks. The food was incredible and service impeccable. The challenges with opening a beautiful restaurant and venue during coved 19 did not stop this terrific team. Wearing mask and taking all the necessary procautions we felt cared for as customers and safe. Laura, Director of Operations is professional and so nice to work with. Awesome job reopening. I highly recommend this outstanding restaurant. Perfection We will return in November for a wedding redo with all our guest. Can’t wait

Date of visit: June 2020
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank TrailBlazer745088
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DarcieD110, Marketing at Mattie's at Green Pastures, responded to this reviewResponded 30 June 2020

Thank you so much for your review. We're glad we were able to make the day special despite the circumstances! We look forward to seeing you again soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 February 2020

Went here for a bridal shower. The venue is very nice and serene; even though its quite near downtown Austin. The food was excellent as was the service. The biscuits with honey and raspberry butter were to die for! Had the chocolate mouse for dessert...also divine.

Date of visit: February 2020
    • Service
    • Food
2  Thank Elizabeth P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Darcie, Marketing at Mattie's at Green Pastures, responded to this reviewResponded 9 March 2021

Thank you so much!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 February 2020

We had a group of 12 people from out of town celebrating an upcoming wedding. Maddie's was recommended by a local and we were not disappointed! The menu was excellent with lots of choices for those meat lovers, meat haters and all those in between. Generous portions. Everyone loved their meals. Service was very good. Excellent wine & drink menu. About a 10 minute drive from downtown Austin.The atmosphere was lovely as were the grounds. This is not an inexpensive place but we all felt it was well worth it. we had two small children with us and hey were very accommodating

Date of visit: February 2020
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank jcb4255
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DarcieD110, Marketing at Mattie's at Green Pastures, responded to this reviewResponded 11 February 2020

We're glad you had a wonderful time with us! Thank you so much for the kind words.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 January 2020

Way too much to go into here but if you are looking for a nice holiday meal, this isn't the place. Very few choices, all the atmosphere of a high school gymnasium and perfunctory service at best (but make sure you note that automatic 18% gratuity!) Very disappointing Christmas dinner and priced in the triple digits (per person, after tax and tip), it was egregiously overpriced. Make plans to go somewhere--anywhere--else for your holiday buffet.

Date of visit: December 2019
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Lindarene
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DarcieD110, Marketing at Mattie's at Green Pastures, responded to this reviewResponded 30 January 2020

Thank you for your feedback. We're sorry you didn't enjoy your holiday meal with us.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Mattie's at Green Pastures also viewed

 

Been to Mattie's at Green Pastures? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing
© 2021 TripAdvisor LLC All rights reserved.

This is the version of our website addressed to speakers of English in Singapore. If you are a resident of another country or region, please select the appropriate version of Tripadvisor for your country or region in the drop-down menu.