We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (328)
Filter reviews
328 results
Traveller rating
265
53
9
1
0
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
265
53
9
1
0
Show reviews that mention
All reviews homemade cookies looking glass bed and breakfast jefferson room breakfast was delicious skyline drive mornington room nelson county ground pool wonderful hosts each morning satellite radio thought of everything front porch b bs ceiling fan perfect location
Filter
Updating list...
49 - 54 of 328 reviews
Reviewed 5 March 2017 via mobile

I had an amazing time here. The accommodations were first class. Orquida and Dan are the nicest people and made sure that all of my last minute requests were honored. Breakfast was delicious and the homemade cookies were an added bonus. I will definitely return and have already recommended the B&B to family and friends. Thank you for making my birthday weekend peaceful, relaxing and simply beautiful!

Stayed: March 2017, travelled solo
Thank Joy R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AftonMountainBB, Owner at Afton Mountain Bed & Breakfast, responded to this reviewResponded 7 March 2017

Joy -

We're so glad to hear that you enjoyed your birthday weekend with us in the Mornington Room. Thank you for the very kind comments and for recommending us to your family and friends. We would love to have you back to stay with us so that you can explore the sites in the area that you weren't able to get to this time.

Warmest Regards,

Orquida & Dan

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 January 2017 via mobile

Wonderful weekend visit to this very old and cozy inn! The regular innkeepers were out of town but our substitute innkeeper went above and beyond to make us feel welcome and comfortable! Breakfasts were yummy and more than substantial. We stayed in the Mornington Suite which was beautiful and very romantic!

Stayed: January 2017, travelled as a couple
Thank LoveTravel16005
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 January 2017 via mobile

My boyfriend and I just stayed the past couple of nights in the Goodwin suite. Everything was very cleaned up, and there were free snacks and beverages accessible to all guests. The owners are the most lovely and kind people. They made sure everything was up to par and asked about our day and adventures. They also own two very adorable pups that I enjoyed greeting in the morning. The food was absolutely amazing and came from local farms. I would definitely come here again in the future and would recommend to anyone trying to find a great getaway in the mountains with a lot of history.

Stayed: January 2017, travelled as a couple
Thank Julianne M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 December 2016

Stayed in the Jefferson room for 3 night wine and beer touring. Location was easy and convenient to everything. Room was clean and comfortable and the food is absolutely wonderful!!! Will definitely be back next time we are going to the wineries.

  • Stayed: December 2016, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank ladder8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 December 2016 via mobile

Visiting the Rockfish Valley around Christmas can be risky - only artificial snow at Wintergreen, many businesses closed early or closed for the season, the weather varying from bitter cold to wet and muddy. However, it can also be completely relaxing, unhurried and filled with little discoveries. The Afton Mountain B&B is one of those little gems and a perfect setting to enjoy the area. Knowledgeable, willing to share recommendations but also respectful of our privacy, our hosts, Orquida and Dan greeted us warmly, toured their lovely old home and got us on our way. We visited antique stores (got to see Tuckahoes), took in the gorgeous views on Devil's Knob, hiked in Rockfish Valley and partook of the local brew pubs. The B&B is lovely, the room (Mornington) comfortable with a double jetted jacuzzi, well stocked with amenities and snacks (fresh baked cookies, coffee/tea, soda, chips, granola) and the breakfast robust and plentiful. Individual temperature controls in each room (guest and common) allow for varying preferences. All in all, despite the gray weather out, there was plenty of sunshine in the hearts after two nights in the valley.

Stayed: December 2016, travelled as a couple
1  Thank VirginiaDocs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews