We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Treated as Friends”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Afton Mountain Bed & Breakfast
Ranked #2 of 5 Afton B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersGold level
Reviewed 3 April 2017

Centrally & charmingly located at the foot of breathtaking mountains, we enjoyed many museums, winery's, shopping, antiquing, & hiking; within easy driving distance.

We were treated as old friends by our hosts' who saw to our comfort and need.

Room Tip: All are excellent!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank larrybookseller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AftonMountainBB, Owner at Afton Mountain Bed & Breakfast, responded to this reviewResponded 5 May 2017

Thanks so much for the nice review. Our location is definitely on of our strongest assets, and we're glad to hear you were able to take advantage of so much of what this area offers. On your next visit you can hit the craft breweries, cideries, and historic sites like Monticello. We'd love to have you back!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (307)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

27 - 31 of 307 reviews

Reviewed 26 March 2017 via mobile

We had a wonderful time at Alton Mountain this past week. The B&B is casual and comfortable. It is also well located, close to wineries, breweries and other sights in the Nelson County area. An added plus are the delicious breakfasts. We will be returning.

Stayed: March 2017, travelled as a couple
Thank travelerharrisburg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AftonMountainBB, Owner at Afton Mountain Bed & Breakfast, responded to this reviewResponded 30 March 2017

We're so glad you enjoyed your time in Afton. We are very fortunate to be located so close to so many great establishments for our guests to visit, including the award-winning wineries and craft breweries (and also the cideries and distilleries). We definitely hope you can make it back to visit those places you didn't have time to check out this time.

- Orquida & Dan

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 March 2017 via mobile

I had an amazing time here. The accommodations were first class. Orquida and Dan are the nicest people and made sure that all of my last minute requests were honored. Breakfast was delicious and the homemade cookies were an added bonus. I will definitely return and have already recommended the B&B to family and friends. Thank you for making my birthday weekend peaceful, relaxing and simply beautiful!

Stayed: March 2017, travelled solo
Thank Joy R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AftonMountainBB, Owner at Afton Mountain Bed & Breakfast, responded to this reviewResponded 7 March 2017

Joy -

We're so glad to hear that you enjoyed your birthday weekend with us in the Mornington Room. Thank you for the very kind comments and for recommending us to your family and friends. We would love to have you back to stay with us so that you can explore the sites in the area that you weren't able to get to this time.

Warmest Regards,

Orquida & Dan

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
A TripAdvisor Member
1
Reviewed 30 January 2017 via mobile

Wonderful weekend visit to this very old and cozy inn! The regular innkeepers were out of town but our substitute innkeeper went above and beyond to make us feel welcome and comfortable! Breakfasts were yummy and more than substantial. We stayed in the Mornington Suite which was beautiful and very romantic!

Stayed: January 2017, travelled as a couple
Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 January 2017 via mobile

My boyfriend and I just stayed the past couple of nights in the Goodwin suite. Everything was very cleaned up, and there were free snacks and beverages accessible to all guests. The owners are the most lovely and kind people. They made sure everything was up to par and asked about our day and adventures. They also own two very adorable pups that I enjoyed greeting in the morning. The food was absolutely amazing and came from local farms. I would definitely come here again in the future and would recommend to anyone trying to find a great getaway in the mountains with a lot of history.

Stayed: January 2017, travelled as a couple
Thank Julianne M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Afton
12.6 km away
Best Western Plus Waynesboro Inn & Suites Conference Center
17.2 km away
Hampton Inn Waynesboro / Stuarts Draft
12.2 km away
Holiday Inn Express Waynesboro - Rt. 340
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
8.9 km away
Iris Inn
Iris Inn
#1 of 3 in Waynesboro
808 reviews
19.4 km away
The Inn at Sugar Hollow Farm
8.4 km away
The Mark Addy
The Mark Addy
#1 of 2 in Nellysford
366 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Afton Mountain Bed & Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Afton Mountain Bed & Breakfast

Address: 10273 Rockfish Valley Hwy, Afton, VA 22920-2771
Region: United States > Virginia > Afton
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 5 B&Bs / Inns in Afton
Price Range: S$165 - S$273 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Innkeepers Orquida and Dan Ingraham welcome you to their 1848 Victorian farmhouse in the foothills of the Blue Ridge Mountains, featuring numerous antiques, original heart pine floors and staircase, and a stained-glass entrance way. All 5 guest rooms offer private baths, air conditioning, and luxurious beds for your maximum comfort. In the morning, you'll wake to enjoy a delicious breakfast, beginning with homemade baked goods, fresh fruit, coffee, tea, and juices, and topped off by one of our entree specialties. After a day of sightseeing on Skyline Drive or the Blue Ridge Parkway, hiking, or wine tasting, take a relaxing swim in our pool, enjoy some fresh-baked cookies and a beverage, or catch up on your reading on one of our large porches. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Afton Mountain Hotel Afton
Afton Mountain Bed And Breakfast

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing