We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Expedia.com
View Deal
Reviews (320)
Filter reviews
320 results
Traveller rating
257
53
9
1
0
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
257
53
9
1
0
Show reviews that mention
All reviewshomemade cookieslooking glassjefferson roombed and breakfastbreakfast was deliciousskyline drivemornington roomwonderful hostsnelson countyground pooleach morningfrittatasatellite radiostuffed french toastthought of everythingfront porchother guests
Filter
Updating list...
39 - 44 of 320 reviews
Reviewed 3 April 2017

Centrally & charmingly located at the foot of breathtaking mountains, we enjoyed many museums, winery's, shopping, antiquing, & hiking; within easy driving distance.

We were treated as old friends by our hosts' who saw to our comfort and need.

Room Tip: All are excellent!
  • Stayed: March 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank larrybookseller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AftonMountainBB, Owner at Afton Mountain Bed & Breakfast, responded to this reviewResponded 5 May 2017

Thanks so much for the nice review. Our location is definitely on of our strongest assets, and we're glad to hear you were able to take advantage of so much of what this area offers. On your next visit you can hit the craft breweries, cideries, and historic sites like Monticello. We'd love to have you back!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 March 2017 via mobile

We had a wonderful time at Alton Mountain this past week. The B&B is casual and comfortable. It is also well located, close to wineries, breweries and other sights in the Nelson County area. An added plus are the delicious breakfasts. We will be returning.

Stayed: March 2017, travelled as a couple
Thank travelerharrisburg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AftonMountainBB, Owner at Afton Mountain Bed & Breakfast, responded to this reviewResponded 30 March 2017

We're so glad you enjoyed your time in Afton. We are very fortunate to be located so close to so many great establishments for our guests to visit, including the award-winning wineries and craft breweries (and also the cideries and distilleries). We definitely hope you can make it back to visit those places you didn't have time to check out this time.

- Orquida & Dan

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 March 2017 via mobile

I had an amazing time here. The accommodations were first class. Orquida and Dan are the nicest people and made sure that all of my last minute requests were honored. Breakfast was delicious and the homemade cookies were an added bonus. I will definitely return and have already recommended the B&B to family and friends. Thank you for making my birthday weekend peaceful, relaxing and simply beautiful!

Stayed: March 2017, travelled solo
Thank Joy R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AftonMountainBB, Owner at Afton Mountain Bed & Breakfast, responded to this reviewResponded 7 March 2017

Joy -

We're so glad to hear that you enjoyed your birthday weekend with us in the Mornington Room. Thank you for the very kind comments and for recommending us to your family and friends. We would love to have you back to stay with us so that you can explore the sites in the area that you weren't able to get to this time.

Warmest Regards,

Orquida & Dan

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
A TripAdvisor Member
1
Reviewed 30 January 2017 via mobile

Wonderful weekend visit to this very old and cozy inn! The regular innkeepers were out of town but our substitute innkeeper went above and beyond to make us feel welcome and comfortable! Breakfasts were yummy and more than substantial. We stayed in the Mornington Suite which was beautiful and very romantic!

Stayed: January 2017, travelled as a couple
Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 January 2017 via mobile

My boyfriend and I just stayed the past couple of nights in the Goodwin suite. Everything was very cleaned up, and there were free snacks and beverages accessible to all guests. The owners are the most lovely and kind people. They made sure everything was up to par and asked about our day and adventures. They also own two very adorable pups that I enjoyed greeting in the morning. The food was absolutely amazing and came from local farms. I would definitely come here again in the future and would recommend to anyone trying to find a great getaway in the mountains with a lot of history.

Stayed: January 2017, travelled as a couple
Thank Julianne M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews