We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Expedia.com
View Deal
Reviews (322)
Filter reviews
322 results
Traveller rating
259
53
9
1
0
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
259
53
9
1
0
Show reviews that mention
All reviewshomemade cookieslooking glassbed and breakfastjefferson roombreakfast was deliciousskyline drivemornington roomnelson countyground poolwonderful hostseach morningsatellite radiothought of everythingfront porchb bsceiling fanperfect location
Filter
Updating list...
40 - 45 of 322 reviews
Reviewed 3 April 2017

My wife and I stayed here for two days for a weekend getaway and it was well worth it! We really enjoyed our room and the innkeepers. We were greeted by the innkeepers when we checked in and showed around the premises personally. We really enjoyed both of the breakfasts that were offered. Very tasty and the personal touches were amazing. The bathroom had a whirlpool bath which was really nice, but could only really fit one person comfortably. The B&B is really close to many breweries, wineries, and distilleries so you can enjoy all kinds of local beverages. It is not really close to many restaurants, but within driving distance to Charlottesville where you can tour Monticello and enjoy all kinds of history.

  • Stayed: May 2016, travelled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank nataliemey1988
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AftonMountainBB, Owner at Afton Mountain Bed & Breakfast, responded to this reviewResponded 5 May 2017

We're so glad to hear that you and your wife had an enjoyable stay with us, including the breakfast offerings. We are definitely proud of all of the great local beverage businesses that are close by. There are a few restaurants that aren't *too* far away, including Blue Mountain Brewery, which is just 3 miles north of us. There are several dining options within about a 10 minute drive. We hope you'll be back soon to experience more of our wonderful area!

- Orquida and Dan

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 April 2017

Centrally & charmingly located at the foot of breathtaking mountains, we enjoyed many museums, winery's, shopping, antiquing, & hiking; within easy driving distance.

We were treated as old friends by our hosts' who saw to our comfort and need.

Room Tip: All are excellent!
  • Stayed: March 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank larrybookseller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AftonMountainBB, Owner at Afton Mountain Bed & Breakfast, responded to this reviewResponded 5 May 2017

Thanks so much for the nice review. Our location is definitely on of our strongest assets, and we're glad to hear you were able to take advantage of so much of what this area offers. On your next visit you can hit the craft breweries, cideries, and historic sites like Monticello. We'd love to have you back!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 March 2017 via mobile

We had a wonderful time at Alton Mountain this past week. The B&B is casual and comfortable. It is also well located, close to wineries, breweries and other sights in the Nelson County area. An added plus are the delicious breakfasts. We will be returning.

Stayed: March 2017, travelled as a couple
Thank travelerharrisburg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AftonMountainBB, Owner at Afton Mountain Bed & Breakfast, responded to this reviewResponded 30 March 2017

We're so glad you enjoyed your time in Afton. We are very fortunate to be located so close to so many great establishments for our guests to visit, including the award-winning wineries and craft breweries (and also the cideries and distilleries). We definitely hope you can make it back to visit those places you didn't have time to check out this time.

- Orquida & Dan

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 March 2017 via mobile

I had an amazing time here. The accommodations were first class. Orquida and Dan are the nicest people and made sure that all of my last minute requests were honored. Breakfast was delicious and the homemade cookies were an added bonus. I will definitely return and have already recommended the B&B to family and friends. Thank you for making my birthday weekend peaceful, relaxing and simply beautiful!

Stayed: March 2017, travelled solo
Thank Joy R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AftonMountainBB, Owner at Afton Mountain Bed & Breakfast, responded to this reviewResponded 7 March 2017

Joy -

We're so glad to hear that you enjoyed your birthday weekend with us in the Mornington Room. Thank you for the very kind comments and for recommending us to your family and friends. We would love to have you back to stay with us so that you can explore the sites in the area that you weren't able to get to this time.

Warmest Regards,

Orquida & Dan

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
A TripAdvisor Member
1
Reviewed 30 January 2017 via mobile

Wonderful weekend visit to this very old and cozy inn! The regular innkeepers were out of town but our substitute innkeeper went above and beyond to make us feel welcome and comfortable! Breakfasts were yummy and more than substantial. We stayed in the Mornington Suite which was beautiful and very romantic!

Stayed: January 2017, travelled as a couple
Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews