We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Afton Mountain Bed & Breakfast”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Afton Mountain Bed & Breakfast
Ranked #2 of 5 Afton B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersGold level
Reviewed 26 April 2017

The place is very nice and so are the hosts. The biggest downside for us was not having a TV in the room. There was only one for all of the guests. The food was delicious. It would have been nice to have a choice for breakfast for those of us who do not like to eat a lot of sweets.

Room Tip: The king bed was good, but bring your own pillow. Pillows were hard.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2017, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank redtrishgolf
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AftonMountainBB, Owner at Afton Mountain Bed & Breakfast, responded to this reviewResponded 5 May 2017

Thanks so much for providing a review. We're happy that you (mostly) enjoyed your stay. The decision to not have TVs in the guest rooms is a tough one. Our goal is to make our guests' stays as relaxing and peaceful as possible. While our plaster walls help keep the noise level to a minimum, we worry that TV sounds would bleed into neighboring rooms. Our high-speed Wi-Fi enables guests to stream movies and TV shows on whatever devices they bring, so we hope that mitigates the lack of TV sets.

We generally only offer one breakfast entree choice on any give morning, although we do make exceptions for special dietary requirements. We try to rotate between sweet and savory entrees on consecutive days. With just the two of us in the kitchen, it's very difficult to try to prepare multiple entrees. We try to focus on doing one dish very well every morning. But we definitely appreciate your comments and will take them into consideration for the future.

- Orquida and Dan

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (307)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

24 - 28 of 307 reviews

Reviewed 19 April 2017

This is a lovely B&B, close to wineries and breweries. The breakfast was delicious with fresh fruit for the first course and stuffed French Toast. The bedding was very high quality and there were plenty of large towels. There were many thoughtful touches such as a nightlight in the bathroom that can be used as a flashlight in an emergency. There is an in room controlled A/C and a ceiling fan. Lots of places to plug in cell phones and free wifi. There are nice sitting porches and cookies, soda, spring water, coffee and tea (all complimentary). There was even a basket of toiletries in case you forgot something.

  • Stayed: April 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Lynn L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AftonMountainBB, Owner at Afton Mountain Bed & Breakfast, responded to this reviewResponded 5 May 2017

Lynn -

What a great review! You highlighted so many of the extra touches that we make available to our guests. After 15 years, we have finally figured out what you want! The stuffed French Toast is definitely one of our most popular breakfast entrees, so we're glad to hear you enjoyed it too.

Please come back soon!

- Orquida and Dan

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 April 2017

My wife and I stayed here for two days for a weekend getaway and it was well worth it! We really enjoyed our room and the innkeepers. We were greeted by the innkeepers when we checked in and showed around the premises personally. We really enjoyed both of the breakfasts that were offered. Very tasty and the personal touches were amazing. The bathroom had a whirlpool bath which was really nice, but could only really fit one person comfortably. The B&B is really close to many breweries, wineries, and distilleries so you can enjoy all kinds of local beverages. It is not really close to many restaurants, but within driving distance to Charlottesville where you can tour Monticello and enjoy all kinds of history.

  • Stayed: May 2016, travelled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank nataliemey1988
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AftonMountainBB, Owner at Afton Mountain Bed & Breakfast, responded to this reviewResponded 5 May 2017

We're so glad to hear that you and your wife had an enjoyable stay with us, including the breakfast offerings. We are definitely proud of all of the great local beverage businesses that are close by. There are a few restaurants that aren't *too* far away, including Blue Mountain Brewery, which is just 3 miles north of us. There are several dining options within about a 10 minute drive. We hope you'll be back soon to experience more of our wonderful area!

- Orquida and Dan

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 April 2017

Centrally & charmingly located at the foot of breathtaking mountains, we enjoyed many museums, winery's, shopping, antiquing, & hiking; within easy driving distance.

We were treated as old friends by our hosts' who saw to our comfort and need.

Room Tip: All are excellent!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank larrybookseller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AftonMountainBB, Owner at Afton Mountain Bed & Breakfast, responded to this reviewResponded 5 May 2017

Thanks so much for the nice review. Our location is definitely on of our strongest assets, and we're glad to hear you were able to take advantage of so much of what this area offers. On your next visit you can hit the craft breweries, cideries, and historic sites like Monticello. We'd love to have you back!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 March 2017 via mobile

We had a wonderful time at Alton Mountain this past week. The B&B is casual and comfortable. It is also well located, close to wineries, breweries and other sights in the Nelson County area. An added plus are the delicious breakfasts. We will be returning.

Stayed: March 2017, travelled as a couple
Thank travelerharrisburg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AftonMountainBB, Owner at Afton Mountain Bed & Breakfast, responded to this reviewResponded 30 March 2017

We're so glad you enjoyed your time in Afton. We are very fortunate to be located so close to so many great establishments for our guests to visit, including the award-winning wineries and craft breweries (and also the cideries and distilleries). We definitely hope you can make it back to visit those places you didn't have time to check out this time.

- Orquida & Dan

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Afton
12.6 km away
Best Western Plus Waynesboro Inn & Suites Conference Center
17.2 km away
Hampton Inn Waynesboro / Stuarts Draft
12.2 km away
Holiday Inn Express Waynesboro - Rt. 340
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
8.9 km away
Iris Inn
Iris Inn
#1 of 3 in Waynesboro
808 reviews
19.4 km away
The Inn at Sugar Hollow Farm
8.4 km away
The Mark Addy
The Mark Addy
#1 of 2 in Nellysford
366 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Afton Mountain Bed & Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Afton Mountain Bed & Breakfast

Address: 10273 Rockfish Valley Hwy, Afton, VA 22920-2771
Region: United States > Virginia > Afton
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 5 B&Bs / Inns in Afton
Price Range: $165 - $273 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Innkeepers Orquida and Dan Ingraham welcome you to their 1848 Victorian farmhouse in the foothills of the Blue Ridge Mountains, featuring numerous antiques, original heart pine floors and staircase, and a stained-glass entrance way. All 5 guest rooms offer private baths, air conditioning, and luxurious beds for your maximum comfort. In the morning, you'll wake to enjoy a delicious breakfast, beginning with homemade baked goods, fresh fruit, coffee, tea, and juices, and topped off by one of our entree specialties. After a day of sightseeing on Skyline Drive or the Blue Ridge Parkway, hiking, or wine tasting, take a relaxing swim in our pool, enjoy some fresh-baked cookies and a beverage, or catch up on your reading on one of our large porches. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Afton Mountain Hotel Afton
Afton Mountain Bed And Breakfast

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing