We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Free cancellation until 28/07
US$56
Hotels.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Royal Inn Motel(Waynesboro)
Free cancellation until 28/07
US$60
US$58
Hotels.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Residence Inn Waynesboro(Waynesboro)
Free cancellation until 26/07
Book now, pay at stay
US$129
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Savings alert! 23% below average rates

The price you found is 23% lower than this hotel's average rate of US$168/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

US$125
US$108
HIExpress.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
TripAdvisor
View Deal
Reviews (320)
Filter reviews
320 results
Traveller rating
257
53
9
1
0
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
257
53
9
1
0
Show reviews that mention
All reviewshomemade cookieslooking glassjefferson roombed and breakfastbreakfast was deliciousskyline drivemornington roomwonderful hostsnelson countyground pooleach morningfrittatasatellite radiostuffed french toastthought of everythingfront porchother guests
Filter
Updating list...
26 - 31 of 320 reviews
Reviewed 1 August 2017 via mobile

Since we wanted to visit Shenandoah National Park we chose Afton Mountain B&B as the place to stay. The house from the 1840's has kept its original atmosphere with stained glass in the front door and antique furniture that makes you feel to enter another time and age.
We had the smallest room, Shenandoah. The bed was very comfortable and the modern AC was very quiet. Our host Orquida even had provided a box with basic necessities, something you don't see often in Europe.
Every morning Orquida and Dan provided us with a delicious breakfast. We stayed for 3 nights and we had 3 different types of breakfast, all of them excellent.
After hiking in the morning we sat down in rocking chairs in the porch with some refreshments that are available for the guests.
If you like the country side and a comfortable B&B near Shenandoah Valley we can certainly recommend Afton Mountain B&B.

Stayed: August 2017, travelled as a couple
Thank Quad_ESL57_fan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 July 2017

We spent two nights at Afton Mountain Bed and Breakfast in the Looking Glass Room. The innkeeper is super friendly and the house is lovely. It's 168 years old so I was expecting the AC to not be super efficient but it was perfect. Each room has it's own bathroom which was up to date and clean. The only draw back to our room was that the bed was hard and pillows were not comfortable.

Breakfast each morning was amazing as was the coffee. Her baking is outstanding. She made fresh peach muffins from peaches she bought at the farmer's market down the road. Outstanding! Every night there were freshly baked cookies for guests to enjoy. They were delicious!

The grounds are nice and we enjoyed our coffee on the porch each morning. The location is convenient to all of the local wineries and breweries. I would stay here again.

Stayed: July 2017
Thank noelle_Ians_mom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 July 2017 via mobile

What a lovely place to stay while on holiday in Afton Mountain! The hosts take care to make sure every detail is complete, making your stay a comfortable and relaxing one! Delicious breakfasts (they make special dietary substitutions) super soft sheets, a relaxing cool pool and a quiet stay make it the perfect place to rest while touring wineries or hiking and sightseeing in the area.

Stayed: June 2017, travelled as a couple
Thank Pamela T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 July 2017

Gracious hosts, beautiful home, thoughtful amenities, delicious breakfast (and piping hot coffee before), convenient location with a secluded feeling. I love Nelson County and they gave me yet another reason to return. I couldn't ask for more.

Room Tip: No bad room - one allowed dividing king bed into twins - nice for friends travelling
  • Stayed: June 2017, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank LFW9104
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AftonMountainBB, Owner at Afton Mountain Bed & Breakfast, responded to this reviewResponded 3 July 2017

Wow! Thank you so much for the wonderful review. There are so many great reasons to return to and experience Nelson County. We are extremely happy that you will be coming back.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 June 2017

I've stayed at quite a few bnb's and this one is a keeper! Beautiful accommodations and friendly owners make for a relaxing, comfortable stay. You receive just the right amount of attention from the hosts. Bedrooms are clean, comfortable and attractive. The breakfasts are made from locally acquired ingredients - the whole-wheat oatmeal pancakes with fresh peaches were awesome. Evening soda, water and cookies were delightful. The two dogs on the property are sweet and respectful - Fritz and Snowy!

Room Tip: The first floor Shenandoah room was comfortable and easy to access for those with tricky knees.
  • Stayed: June 2017, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank Diane Hite W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews