We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“In historic Ashland, VA, a wonderful, beautiful, interesting and friendly town and B and B.”
Review of The Henry Clay Inn

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
The Henry Clay Inn
Ranked #1 of 3 Ashland B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 6 July 2017

The Henry Clay Inn is a peaceful and beautiful home away from home and reasonably priced. Built in 1996 exactly from plans of the 1880s original inn which burned down, it has all the charm, authenticity and space of the architecture of that time but with all the updated amenities of current times. While it is old-world in style, it is not fussy or overdone.
And the breakfast was top rate and plentiful.
The staff and owners could not be friendlier or more helpful!
My room was airy, comfortable and very clean with views out to trees and garden. Great bed and cable tv. A bar sink and refrigerator included.
A wonderful feature was the two large porches on the front of the house, one upstairs and the other one, the downstairs entrance.
Uniquely, the railroad runs through the center of town serving Amtrak and and commercial trains. Romantic and wonderful! The historic small train station has free parking and next time, I will take the train here!
This Inn and town (home of Randlph Macon University) are both destinations in their own right. Come and visit! You will be so glad you did!

Room Tip: I don't think you could go wrong.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2017, travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Broccoli2222
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GMHenryClayInn, General Manager at The Henry Clay Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 7 July 2017

You are a good friend and a great writer. We could not write up a better image of what Ashland is all about...thank you for the glowing remarks about our beautiful town and our special Inn.
The Henry Clay Inn family appreciates your comments and looks forward to your many returns.
Have a wonderful summer.
John & Grace

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (94)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

15 - 19 of 94 reviews

Reviewed 29 June 2017

We came up for a mini-vacation and wanted a little weekend getaway. This was the perfect spot to stay. It was close to everything, easy to reserve our stay, and very accommodating staff. This is a beautiful place with great staff. Overall, great spot if you are looking for a quiet getaway!

  • Stayed: June 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Hannah T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GMHenryClayInn, General Manager at The Henry Clay Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 30 June 2017

Thank you Hannah for the endorsement. We are glad you enjoyed your stay with us and in Ashland. Come back for another decompressing weekend soon.
Have a great summer.
John & Grace

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 June 2017

We are a local couple, but wanted a "special night out." The rooms, decks, and dining are the perfect mix of "modern convenience" and "quaint charm." We enjoyed rocking on the chairs on the porch and people watching (the train station out front is a magnet for photographers). The Henry Clay breakfast was more than we could eat and delicious. The best part of the stay, however, was visiting with Grace, the owner, who was friendly and tells wonderful stories about her travels. We feel lucky that, of all the places in the world the Cardonas have worked/ lived, they chose to take care of the Henry Clay Inn. We will be returning!

Room Tip: The front rooms have a wonderful view of the town, the back rooms are quieter (away from the train)
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Barbara C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GMHenryClayInn, General Manager at The Henry Clay Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 22 June 2017

Thank you Barbara.
How wonderful to meet and make new friends.
Ashland is so lucky to have proud residents and hospitable as well.
Come by anytime so we can share good memories and make new ones.
Have a wonderful summer.
John & Grace

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 June 2017

I've been coming here since my daughter enrolled at Randolph Macon College in 2007. She graduated (barely) in 2011, but we keep coming back. We've loved this place, but it had been showing its age. New owner and managers have restored it to its former glory and keep making improvements. Nice rooms and common areas, great porches and balcony to relax, friendly staff, etc.

Room Tip: Rooms in rear are quieter. Rooms in front hear the trains going by (I like the trains).
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2017, travelled with family
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank jstuhlman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GMHenryClayInn, General Manager at The Henry Clay Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 8 June 2017

Always wonderful to hear from guests who keep coming back and see the changes.
Thank you for being an ambassador for The Henry Clay Inn, returning and enjoying your experience.
We love to share comments such as yours with our team who respond with pride and energy to keep our hospitality focus alive.
Wishing you and your family all the best.
John & Grace

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 May 2017

I have visited The Henry Clay Inn on several occasions, and I am always pleased. The building has lovely architecture, with sitting rooms on the first 2 floors and a big wide front porch. It is extraordinarily quiet even when trains pass. The building and windows don't even rattle when the train passes! The inn keepers are wonderfully helpful and kind. The antique furnishings are lovely and the rooms are immaculate. The bed in room 101 was a gorgeous old sleigh bed and very comfortable. Breakfast was perfectly cooked and delicious, with a choice of eating in the dining room or on the porch. I'll be back many times, even though I live just south of Richmond.

Room Tip: All of the rooms are wonderful, but if someone wants to see sunrise, the front of the house provides...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank jchacepeterson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GMHenryClayInn, General Manager at The Henry Clay Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 12 May 2017

Your kind and lovely comments are being shared with our entire team. Thank you for taking the time to write such a nice note. Richmond may be close however The Henry Clay Inn offers a wonderful get-a-way from the Richmond traffic. Keep spreading the good news and come back soon.
Best always
John & Grace

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Ashland
1.1 km away
Hampton Inn Richmond-North/Ashland
11 km away
Virginia Crossings Hotel & Conference Center, Tapestry Collection by Hilton
5.5 km away
Country Inn & Suites by Radisson, Ashland - Hanover, VA
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.8 km away
Quality Inn & Suites
Quality Inn & Suites
#3 of 13 in Ashland
113 reviews
1.8 km away
Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Richmond North Ashland
5.4 km away
Fairfield Inn & Suites Richmond Ashland
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Henry Clay Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Henry Clay Inn

Address: 114 N Railroad Ave, Ashland, VA 23005-1517
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Virginia > Ashland
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 3 B&Bs / Inns in Ashland
Hotel Class:3.5 star — The Henry Clay Inn 3.5*
Number of rooms: 13
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
We offer 11 guest rooms and two suites all with the modern amenities you have come to expect including breakfast, free wireless internet, cable television, in-room refrigerators, ironing boards and hair driers. We have a large front porch and a balcony from the second floor parlor. Guest rooms on the rear of the building share a back porch. Our breakfast restaurant is located on the first floor. The inn overlooks Railroad Avenue and is directly in front of the Ashland Visitors Center and Train Depot (Amtrak stops here) and across the tracks from Randolph Macon College. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Henry Clay Hotel Ashland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing