We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
US$110
US$104
Hampton.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$76
QualityInn
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$99
HIExpress.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$84
Country Inn
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$63
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$129
Hotels.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
US$81
US$63
SleepInn
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$60
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$100
Red Roof
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$250
Orbitz.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (102)
Filter reviews
102 results
Traveller rating
63
22
6
4
7
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
63
22
6
4
7
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsfront porchtrain stationrocking chairsrandolph macon collegeunder new managementtrains passiron horserr trackstrain buffsgreat porchesgilchrist and soameslarge porchesstep back in timevalentine's dayb and bfront of the housefamily weekend
Filter
Updating list...
23 - 28 of 102 reviews
Reviewed 29 June 2017

We came up for a mini-vacation and wanted a little weekend getaway. This was the perfect spot to stay. It was close to everything, easy to reserve our stay, and very accommodating staff. This is a beautiful place with great staff. Overall, great spot if you are looking for a quiet getaway!

  • Stayed: June 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Hannah T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GMHenryClayInn, General Manager at The Henry Clay Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 30 June 2017

Thank you Hannah for the endorsement. We are glad you enjoyed your stay with us and in Ashland. Come back for another decompressing weekend soon.
Have a great summer.
John & Grace

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 June 2017

We are a local couple, but wanted a "special night out." The rooms, decks, and dining are the perfect mix of "modern convenience" and "quaint charm." We enjoyed rocking on the chairs on the porch and people watching (the train station out front is a magnet for photographers). The Henry Clay breakfast was more than we could eat and delicious. The best part of the stay, however, was visiting with Grace, the owner, who was friendly and tells wonderful stories about her travels. We feel lucky that, of all the places in the world the Cardonas have worked/ lived, they chose to take care of the Henry Clay Inn. We will be returning!

Room Tip: The front rooms have a wonderful view of the town, the back rooms are quieter (away from the train)
  • Stayed: May 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Barbara C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GMHenryClayInn, General Manager at The Henry Clay Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 22 June 2017

Thank you Barbara.
How wonderful to meet and make new friends.
Ashland is so lucky to have proud residents and hospitable as well.
Come by anytime so we can share good memories and make new ones.
Have a wonderful summer.
John & Grace

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 June 2017

I've been coming here since my daughter enrolled at Randolph Macon College in 2007. She graduated (barely) in 2011, but we keep coming back. We've loved this place, but it had been showing its age. New owner and managers have restored it to its former glory and keep making improvements. Nice rooms and common areas, great porches and balcony to relax, friendly staff, etc.

Room Tip: Rooms in rear are quieter. Rooms in front hear the trains going by (I like the trains).
  • Stayed: May 2017, travelled with family
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank jstuhlman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GMHenryClayInn, General Manager at The Henry Clay Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 8 June 2017

Always wonderful to hear from guests who keep coming back and see the changes.
Thank you for being an ambassador for The Henry Clay Inn, returning and enjoying your experience.
We love to share comments such as yours with our team who respond with pride and energy to keep our hospitality focus alive.
Wishing you and your family all the best.
John & Grace

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 May 2017

I have visited The Henry Clay Inn on several occasions, and I am always pleased. The building has lovely architecture, with sitting rooms on the first 2 floors and a big wide front porch. It is extraordinarily quiet even when trains pass. The building and windows don't even rattle when the train passes! The inn keepers are wonderfully helpful and kind. The antique furnishings are lovely and the rooms are immaculate. The bed in room 101 was a gorgeous old sleigh bed and very comfortable. Breakfast was perfectly cooked and delicious, with a choice of eating in the dining room or on the porch. I'll be back many times, even though I live just south of Richmond.

Room Tip: All of the rooms are wonderful, but if someone wants to see sunrise, the front of the house provides that.
  • Stayed: May 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank jchacepeterson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GMHenryClayInn, General Manager at The Henry Clay Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 12 May 2017

Your kind and lovely comments are being shared with our entire team. Thank you for taking the time to write such a nice note. Richmond may be close however The Henry Clay Inn offers a wonderful get-a-way from the Richmond traffic. Keep spreading the good news and come back soon.
Best always
John & Grace

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 May 2017 via mobile

Stayed here with my family on a recent work trip to Randolph-Macon College. The hotel is absolutely beautiful. Rooms were clean. My son loved the games available on the second floor. Breakfast was nice and staff were friendly. I was sad when it was time to check out. I felt lucky they we got to stay there.

Stayed: May 2017, travelled on business
Thank tjh829
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GMHenryClayInn, General Manager at The Henry Clay Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 4 May 2017

Thank you very much for the nice review. Don't feel sad about checking out...come back!
How nice that you were able to spend quality time with family.
All the best and we look forward to your return.
The Henry Clay Inn family.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews