We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
US$116
US$104
Hampton.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$105
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$99
HIExpress.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$81
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$129
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
US$69
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$60
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$100
US$63
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$250
Orbitz.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Hotels.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (102)
Filter reviews
102 results
Traveller rating
63
22
6
4
7
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
63
22
6
4
7
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsfront porchtrain stationrocking chairsrandolph macon collegetrains passunder new managementiron horsetrain buffsgreat porchesgilchrist and soameslarge porchesstep back in timevalentine's dayb and bfront of the housefamily weekendfirst floor
Filter
Updating list...
19 - 24 of 102 reviews
Reviewed 4 August 2017

My wife and I visited the Henry Clay Inn for our anniversary. We were graciously met and escorted to a wonderfully appointed room. Staying right across the street from the Ashland train station gave us an opportunity to revisit that throwback memory for the two of us. The Inn's morning breakfast was outstanding! The whole trip was a wonderful event for us and the Henry Clay Inn was the center piece.

  • Stayed: July 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank David H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GMHenryClayInn, General Manager at The Henry Clay Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 5 August 2017

Thank you for spending your special anniversary with us and we are most grateful for your review.
We wish you MANY more happy years together and hope to see you again.
Have a wonderful summer.
John & Grace

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 July 2017

We thoroughly enjoyed our one night stay. The staff is superb, with kudos to John and Grace for their hospitality and attention to detail. Brenda created a most amazing breakfast that we enjoyed on the veranda. Pollyanna, our senior Labrador Retriever, was warmly welcomed and she enjoyed her stay too. Our second floor room was comfortable, recently updated, and we appreciated access to the balcony. We enjoyed walking to the Ironside Restaurant (wonderful). We will certainly be returning for another stay at the Henry Clay Inn!

  • Stayed: July 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank James K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GMHenryClayInn, General Manager at The Henry Clay Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 1 August 2017

Dear Pollyanna's Mom & Dad,
We appreciate your fine comments and Brenda will continue to glow after her culinary review! So glad all of you enjoyed your brief stay and we look forward to your return soon. We welcome the 3 of you anytime!
Have a wonderful and safe summer.
John & Grace


Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 July 2017 via mobile

We stayed for only one overnight but I wish it were longer. This is an inn that is full of character and very pleasant. What I liked best were the large porches lining the whole front of the inn on both the first and second levels. There is lots of shade and beautiful fans on a high ceiling helping to provide a cool breeze. There are beautiful rocking chairs and cast iron tables and chairs. A full breakfast is included and is high-quality and generous with excellent service. There is the option of eating outside on the porch at the cast iron dining tables. There is also a lovely parlor on the second level with plenty of relaxing things to choose from: books,magazines, board games and there is a coffee maker which is available all the time. This is a relaxing, unique accommodation that I am so glad I chose over a chain hotel. The only negative point is the fact that it is right at the Amtrak station for Ashland and trains go by often. They may even wake you during the night if you are not a deep sleeper because they are loud. I actually enjoyed watching them though.

Stayed: July 2017, travelled with family
Thank Patricia S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GMHenryClayInn, General Manager at The Henry Clay Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 22 July 2017

Thank you for the observations. So pleased to hear you enjoyed our accommodations and service.
Looking forward to your return again soon and wish you a very pleasant summer.
John & Grace

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 July 2017

The Henry Clay Inn is a peaceful and beautiful home away from home and reasonably priced. Built in 1996 exactly from plans of the 1880s original inn which burned down, it has all the charm, authenticity and space of the architecture of that time but with all the updated amenities of current times. While it is old-world in style, it is not fussy or overdone.
And the breakfast was top rate and plentiful.
The staff and owners could not be friendlier or more helpful!
My room was airy, comfortable and very clean with views out to trees and garden. Great bed and cable tv. A bar sink and refrigerator included.
A wonderful feature was the two large porches on the front of the house, one upstairs and the other one, the downstairs entrance.
Uniquely, the railroad runs through the center of town serving Amtrak and and commercial trains. Romantic and wonderful! The historic small train station has free parking and next time, I will take the train here!
This Inn and town (home of Randlph Macon University) are both destinations in their own right. Come and visit! You will be so glad you did!

Room Tip: I don't think you could go wrong.
  • Stayed: July 2017, travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Broccoli2222
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GMHenryClayInn, General Manager at The Henry Clay Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 7 July 2017

You are a good friend and a great writer. We could not write up a better image of what Ashland is all about...thank you for the glowing remarks about our beautiful town and our special Inn.
The Henry Clay Inn family appreciates your comments and looks forward to your many returns.
Have a wonderful summer.
John & Grace

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 June 2017

We came up for a mini-vacation and wanted a little weekend getaway. This was the perfect spot to stay. It was close to everything, easy to reserve our stay, and very accommodating staff. This is a beautiful place with great staff. Overall, great spot if you are looking for a quiet getaway!

  • Stayed: June 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Hannah T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GMHenryClayInn, General Manager at The Henry Clay Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 30 June 2017

Thank you Hannah for the endorsement. We are glad you enjoyed your stay with us and in Ashland. Come back for another decompressing weekend soon.
Have a great summer.
John & Grace

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews