We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Easter Weekend in Virginia ”
Review of The Henry Clay Inn

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
The Henry Clay Inn
Ranked #1 of 3 Ashland B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
A TripAdvisor Member
152
Reviewed 4 August 2017 via mobile

We have stayed at this lovely Bed and Breakfast several times since our daughter is a student at Randolph Macon College. Ashland is a charming Southern town with shops and restaurants. The innkeepers strive to make sure your stay is comfortable, and the included breakfast is great!

Stayed: April 2017, travelled with family
Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GMHenryClayInn, General Manager at The Henry Clay Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 5 August 2017

Always wonderful to visit one's college child and especially great to hear you stayed with us and enjoyed your stay.
Congratulations on your college daughter and we hope to see you back soon.
Thank you for the very nice comments.
John & Grace

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (94)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

11 - 15 of 94 reviews

Reviewed 4 August 2017

My wife and I visited the Henry Clay Inn for our anniversary. We were graciously met and escorted to a wonderfully appointed room. Staying right across the street from the Ashland train station gave us an opportunity to revisit that throwback memory for the two of us. The Inn's morning breakfast was outstanding! The whole trip was a wonderful event for us and the Henry Clay Inn was the center piece.

  • Stayed: July 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank David H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GMHenryClayInn, General Manager at The Henry Clay Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 5 August 2017

Thank you for spending your special anniversary with us and we are most grateful for your review.
We wish you MANY more happy years together and hope to see you again.
Have a wonderful summer.
John & Grace

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 July 2017

We thoroughly enjoyed our one night stay. The staff is superb, with kudos to John and Grace for their hospitality and attention to detail. Brenda created a most amazing breakfast that we enjoyed on the veranda. Pollyanna, our senior Labrador Retriever, was warmly welcomed and she enjoyed her stay too. Our second floor room was comfortable, recently updated, and we appreciated access to the balcony. We enjoyed walking to the Ironside Restaurant (wonderful). We will certainly be returning for another stay at the Henry Clay Inn!

  • Stayed: July 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank James K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GMHenryClayInn, General Manager at The Henry Clay Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 1 August 2017

Dear Pollyanna's Mom & Dad,
We appreciate your fine comments and Brenda will continue to glow after her culinary review! So glad all of you enjoyed your brief stay and we look forward to your return soon. We welcome the 3 of you anytime!
Have a wonderful and safe summer.
John & Grace


Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 July 2017 via mobile

We stayed for only one overnight but I wish it were longer. This is an inn that is full of character and very pleasant. What I liked best were the large porches lining the whole front of the inn on both the first and second levels. There is lots of shade and beautiful fans on a high ceiling helping to provide a cool breeze. There are beautiful rocking chairs and cast iron tables and chairs. A full breakfast is included and is high-quality and generous with excellent service. There is the option of eating outside on the porch at the cast iron dining tables. There is also a lovely parlor on the second level with plenty of relaxing things to choose from: books,magazines, board games and there is a coffee maker which is available all the time. This is a relaxing, unique accommodation that I am so glad I chose over a chain hotel. The only negative point is the fact that it is right at the Amtrak station for Ashland and trains go by often. They may even wake you during the night if you are not a deep sleeper because they are loud. I actually enjoyed watching them though.

Stayed: July 2017, travelled with family
Thank Patricia S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GMHenryClayInn, General Manager at The Henry Clay Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 22 July 2017

Thank you for the observations. So pleased to hear you enjoyed our accommodations and service.
Looking forward to your return again soon and wish you a very pleasant summer.
John & Grace

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 July 2017

The Henry Clay Inn is a peaceful and beautiful home away from home and reasonably priced. Built in 1996 exactly from plans of the 1880s original inn which burned down, it has all the charm, authenticity and space of the architecture of that time but with all the updated amenities of current times. While it is old-world in style, it is not fussy or overdone.
And the breakfast was top rate and plentiful.
The staff and owners could not be friendlier or more helpful!
My room was airy, comfortable and very clean with views out to trees and garden. Great bed and cable tv. A bar sink and refrigerator included.
A wonderful feature was the two large porches on the front of the house, one upstairs and the other one, the downstairs entrance.
Uniquely, the railroad runs through the center of town serving Amtrak and and commercial trains. Romantic and wonderful! The historic small train station has free parking and next time, I will take the train here!
This Inn and town (home of Randlph Macon University) are both destinations in their own right. Come and visit! You will be so glad you did!

Room Tip: I don't think you could go wrong.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2017, travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Broccoli2222
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GMHenryClayInn, General Manager at The Henry Clay Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 7 July 2017

You are a good friend and a great writer. We could not write up a better image of what Ashland is all about...thank you for the glowing remarks about our beautiful town and our special Inn.
The Henry Clay Inn family appreciates your comments and looks forward to your many returns.
Have a wonderful summer.
John & Grace

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Ashland
1.1 km away
Hampton Inn Richmond-North/Ashland
5.5 km away
Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Ashland - Hanover, VA
11 km away
Virginia Crossings Hotel & Conference Center, Tapestry Collection by Hilton
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.8 km away
Quality Inn & Suites
Quality Inn & Suites
#3 of 13 in Ashland
109 reviews
1.8 km away
Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Richmond North Ashland
1.1 km away
Sleep Inn & Suites
Sleep Inn & Suites
#4 of 13 in Ashland
283 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Henry Clay Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Henry Clay Inn

Address: 114 N Railroad Ave, Ashland, VA 23005-1517
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Virginia > Ashland
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 3 B&Bs / Inns in Ashland
Hotel Class:3.5 star — The Henry Clay Inn 3.5*
Number of rooms: 13
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
We offer 11 guest rooms and two suites all with the modern amenities you have come to expect including breakfast, free wireless internet, cable television, in-room refrigerators, ironing boards and hair driers. We have a large front porch and a balcony from the second floor parlor. Guest rooms on the rear of the building share a back porch. Our breakfast restaurant is located on the first floor. The inn overlooks Railroad Avenue and is directly in front of the Ashland Visitors Center and Train Depot (Amtrak stops here) and across the tracks from Randolph Macon College. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com so you can book your The Henry Clay Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Henry Clay Hotel Ashland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing