We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (243)
Filter reviews
243 results
Traveller rating
46
103
51
22
21
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
46
103
51
22
21
See what travellers are saying:
Filter
Updating list...
5 - 10 of 243 reviews
Reviewed 16 March 2017

This is a big hotel but the location is not close to the central area. The room is generally good and spacious. There was Chinese speaking staff, who was a nice lady who could assist Chinese. The big onsen is of average standard. There are private onsen rooms for hire, but I must say these rooms are not impressive at all.

The dinner buffet is average too. The food has wide variety but quality is just average for Japanese food standard. There are not sufficient parking space. I have to park my car down the quiet road at night and walk back to the hotel.

All in all, happy stay but can be better!

  • Stayed: October 2016, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
1  Thank travelbadboy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 February 2017 via mobile

The hotel is the closest to the ski station blue slope. If you want to go higher level slope, you need to take a minibus for 20 Minutes. The hotel is a big one and equipment well maintained. Balanced western and Japanese food, very tasty and diversified. There is spa space in the resort with several pools and all necessary facilities. The price is expensive - we were there one week before the Xmas and paid around 500 USD per night for one room. Anyway, to travel in Japan is not cheap. The best way to reach here from Tokyo is by bus - around 4 hours.

Stayed: December 2016, travelled with family
Thank Gao云游世界的高芸 Y
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 December 2016

This hotel is little away from the action or city center, but no worry at all, They have shuttle every 30 minute to the Train terminal, then to the city center and back to hotel.

The room is big, we book a twin room, and we get like two queen bed room and a sofa bed, If you look at the picture attached, that sofa bed is so big, can sleep two adult actually without too much problem.

The hotel onsen is definitely good, ... Japan no 1 Onsen Kusatsu definitely offer some of the best onsen experience ..

This hotel definitely cater for family .. and their food dinner and breakfast is very high standard.

  • Stayed: December 2016, travelled with family
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank jeffayn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 October 2016

Stayed here for a night - the hotel is approximately 5 mins away from Yubatake by bus- the hotel provides free shuttle service to Kusatsu Bus Terminal and to the town area, When you arrive at the Kusatsu Bus Terminal - go to the tourist information counter on the first floor and ask for the bus timings. The hotel bus is brown and they will pick passengers up to the hotel.

The room we got was a little dated - feels like a 1980s decor- room is spacious and clean. Onsen is located on B1 of the hotel and it is huge. Room is also spacious. We opted for the dinner and bfast plan and the food was so good! it was buffet style and they had of course japanese and italian selection - it also included free flow of soft drinks and hot coffee / tea.

We had 2 days in Kusatsu so we opted for a hotel away from town to experience tranquility in this hotel. The surroundings were nice - hotel is nestled on a large piece of land and you can cycle or play tennis (of course you need to pay for it).

There is a shop at the hotel that sells drinks, souvenirs - apparently the masot for the hotel is a squirrel - probably lots of squirrels sighted at the hotel. The weather was perfect and you can see some Autumn foliage. Oct is a lovely time to visit before it gets too cold in winter.

I would definitely recommend this hotel to anyone who wants a peaceful stay to refresh and enjoy the onsen.

  • Stayed: October 2016, travelled with friends
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ChiaJoyce
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 October 2016

The outdoor Onsen is really nice just needing an overhaul. Tile & grout need to be redone in the indoor areas as some were patched with the wrong grout or the grout was gone. (I couldn't take pictures because cameras are not allowed in the bath & spa area). The room was older and smelled a bit in the bathroom (unlike the other hotels we stayed in Japan). We cracked open the window to freshen the room. The air conditioner was not working but a wonderful gentleman from the staff came & tried to fix it & was unable to so he brought a fan. He also switched out the feather quilt and pillows due to my allergies. The staff was amazing from all areas. The food was okay compared to similar hotels we stayed throughout Japan on our 18 day vacation.

Room Tip: Ask if they have newer/updated rooms.
  • Stayed: October 2016, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank Bonniejo95
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews