We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (87)
Filter reviews
87 results
Traveller rating
10
32
33
8
4
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
10
32
33
8
4
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsryokan styletop floorbus terminalkusatsu onsensellingmidnightyubatakefutonyukatapickbathdinner
Filter
Updating list...
1 - 6 of 87 reviews
Reviewed 15 April 2018

Daitokan is one of the hotels situated by Kusatsu Onsen’s famous Yubatake, where almost all of Kusatsu’s happenings are. If you come to Kusatsu Onsen by public transport, you are likely drop off at the bus terminal, from where it’s a 5 minutes down slope stroll to Kusatsu Onsen’s Yubatake, hence they do not provide pick up service to and fro bus terminal. If you drive, there’s no parking here, but you can leave your car near their sister hotel’s (Kusatsu Onsen Hotel Resort) carpark, and I understand that’s the only spot where they provide free pick up service.
We were received by two very well manner gentlemen at the concierge who spoke moderate English and didn’t mind briefing us about general facilities there and offering us dining recommendation. And we got a roomy 10-tatami Japanese style room, but unfortunately it wasn’t one facing the Yubatake. The room was expectedly a little dated, however, it was well equipped with tea set, Yukata, sandals, bath tub, even massage equipments for neck and back. We felt very warm inside the room despite it being early Spring, that tells how strong their heater is, and it took me a while before figuring how to switch it off, and it’s either on or off, no option in-between. Important information: NO WiFi in room. At around 6pm, hotel staff will lay the futon for you. Daitokan has its own bath houses on ground floor, alternating between male and female at the stroke of midnight, but having been to both, there aren’t much significant difference actually. There is no locker inside, only basket for you to keep your possession, so leave your valuables in your room. But there is vending machine serving free hot and cold drink inside. Daitokan draws onsen water from the nearby Yubatake, but for many other accommodations further away from the Yubatake, they may be using other onsen sources. I find the hotel’s in-house store selling many interesting items, such as local souvenirs and collectibles. In addition, one can find a game arcade from the connecting annex building next door, offering entertaining for children and young adults.
Our package came with free buffet breakfast, and the restaurant on level 2 serves many varieties of Japanese cuisines. In my opinion, it’s far better than conventional international style buffet and worth the extra dollars.
One thing to note for those depositing luggage upon checking out, I was told I needed to collect them around noon, I suppose that’s because they have limited storage space. Anyway, it didn’t affect me as I would have boarded the bus for the train station by then.

Room Tip: Naturally, the rooms facing the Yubatake are the best, but need to pay a bit more.
  • Stayed: March 2018, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank fairysky
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 August 2017

Daitokan is located right in the center of town, directly across from the yubatake. It's not the nicest or the most traditional feeling place in town, but it's very reasonable and the ryokan-style rooms are spacious and comfortable. Dinner in the top floor restaurant was delicious and the hotel's onsen is open almost all night. There are several other nice onsen within a few minutes' walk, as well. All in all, a nice, reasonable place to base yourself on a budget.

  • Stayed: August 2017, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank duggernaut
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 November 2016 via mobile

It is nestled in the corner of Kusatsu City facing directly to the heart of the attraction : hot spring reservoir.
Invest in traditional room with meal (ryokan style). It is worth every minute and pennies.
Don't worry about carrying clothes. They provide you with yukata and getta.
You'll be ll taken care off. The front desk agents are really helpfull

Stayed: June 2016, travelled with family
Thank sandra n
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 September 2016 via mobile

We recently returned from a couple of days at the Daitokan Hotel in Kusatsu. It has an excellent location.

The optional breakfast was an excellent buffet. The optional dinner was an individual hotpot meal.

We booked a Standard Japanese Room - Yubatake View. We were told on check in that they didn't have any view rooms available. Well, having prepaid, we said In Japanese that they could either refund the difference or find us one. Also, we asked about a return ride to the transit center, and were told that they don't have any shuttle van. I asked you mean the one you picked us up with two days ago. They embarrassedly drove us the short distance to the transit center. Normally, I like things to run smoothly, but when they don't, I'm not afraid to speak up, to ask for what we paid for.

Their location is excellent. Right on the Yubatake water falls, at the center of everything. PS, no WiFi even in the lobby. Closest free hotspot was at 7-Eleven across the way.

Stayed: September 2016, travelled as a couple
1  Thank Ed M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 February 2016

A well-equipped & centrally located onsen hotel in Kusatsu. Nothing to complain when the hotel complex is equipped with onsen spa, restaurants, sitting room, locker room, mini-store, game center, karaoke bar and meeting rooms. Kusatsu hot springs & Kosenji Temple are just nearby. Plenty of souvenir shops & izakayas within walking distance from the hotel.

APPRECIATIONS
1) Japanese style breakfast portion is huge & and taste really good. Not to be missed.
2) Free shuttle bus service from hotel to the carpark
3) Almost 24-hour onsen spa on G/F (Male & Female onsen are swapped everyday at 12 midnight)
4) Karaoke bar on top floor offers magnificent view of kusatsu onsen. Chinese songs are a bit old but good for fun. All-you-can-drink package is worthy if you are good drinkers.
5) Free wooden slippers for guests to walk to the nearby onsen

DISAPPOINTMENTS
1) Japanese style rooms are a bit dated but tidy & clean
2) Outdoor onsen spa is a bit small

  • Stayed: June 2015, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank ricochau-hk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews