We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (67)
Filter reviews
67 results
Traveller rating
20
32
11
1
3
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
20
32
11
1
3
See what travellers are saying:
Filter
Updating list...
1 - 6 of 67 reviews
Reviewed 30 January 2017

My wife and I had a great time staying at Osakaya Ryokan. I called the hotel to ask for a shuttle bus upon reaching the Kusatsu Onsen bus terminal and felt welcome as soon as arriving at the hotel. There was, of course, shuttle bus service back to the bus terminal upon request.

The hotel was conveniently located as it was just a two-minute walk away from Yubatake, the main attraction of Kusatsu Onsen. Established in 1872, Osakaya was well maintained and aging beautifully.

Dinner and breakfast were both served in our room. The food was delicate and well-prepared. The hostess serving the meals was gentle and polite, but only spoke limited English. The staff came in and made the bed for us after dinner.

Osakaya does not provide private hot spring bath in the room, but it has probably the best common bath that I had ever been. I felt relaxed and rejuvenated after bathing in it. There was also an outdoor hot spring alternatively exclusive for either men or women throughout the day.

The only bone to pick was that after bathing in the hot spring, I could not find any vending machine for drinks. I guess that was why the refrigerator in the room was packed with beverages.

  • Stayed: January 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 宏成 涂
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 May 2016

We're getting ready to book our SECOND stay - here's why:
My wife and I stayed two nights mid-November 2015. The weather was a little wet, but as we live in a desert town in California, the light mist added to the romantic and authentic sense of Kusatsu-onsen.
Our room was beautiful, and huge! the large sitting/dining area was 13 tatami, plus a 6 tatami sitting area, and 7 tatami sleeping room!
Our first night's dinner was in the room; sitting in our yukata at the table. Two young women in full kimono - kneeling at the sliding door - announced themselves, and were THE MOST PROFESSIONAL and graceful servers we've ever experienced, anywhere, ever! It didn't matter at all that we spoke little Japanese, and they little English - the meal was gourmet-quality with many courses, many dishes and all perfectly prepared, elegantly plated, and served to us as though we were...traveling nobility! Halfway through that meal we couldn't help but feel as though we'd stepped back 200 years to the old Edo Period.
Breakfast was also meticulously Japanese - elegant, simple yet complex, and perfectly served by our kimono-clad awesome server.
It was really cool how our (last) name was hand caligraphed - in English and (Katakana, I think) - and posted out front of the Inn.
There may be other Ryokan that either cost less, or perhaps look "new" - and that's fine. We spent 2 weeks in Japan in 2015, and are getting ready to book our next 2 weeks in Japan for 2016 - When it was time to leave, my wife began to cry as we began taking off the traditional clothing and had to return to the modern world: Over the course of two days and nights we had been taken back in time - the only thing missing as we strolled `round the "Yubatake" through the moonlit mist under an umbrella were my Samurai swords! This is why Osaka-ya at Kusatsu-onsen is our choice.
If any of my review touched you, or made sense, PLEASE try to stay 2 nights - I know it looks really expensive 'on paper', but you will NEVER FORGET this experience! And when I added up the A+++ room, 2 gourmet-quality dinners and 2 gourmet-quality breakfasts, it's not completely insanely priced!
Since there is NO TIPPING in Japan, we wanted to show our gratitude by bringing mementos from our hometown such as decorated key chains, and gave them to those whom we were touched by - such as our server, and a really cool bartender at a tiny bar in Kyoto...they will be touched by the thoughtfulness!

Room Tip: I don't know about hotel Wi-Fi, as we carried a pocket Wi-Fi (which I TOTALLY recommend!)
  • Stayed: November 2015, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
2  Thank Bradley W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 May 2016

Just spent a night here and had a wonderful Japanese experience. Meals, room, bathing etc in a peaceful well presented authentic Japanese atmosphere.

Staff were very helpful and spoke reasonable to excellent English which made the stay less stressful.

While there were clearly a large number of guests There was very little noise.

Location is good, 30 second walk to the Centre of the town.

Great value. Will recommend to others.

Stayed: May 2016, travelled as a couple
Thank DavidMMc56
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 September 2015

It's a historic building with renovation. 1 min walk from the centre of Kusatsu Onsen, with choices of resturants, shops, convenient store. Like other Ryokan, service is good. Staffs in reception can speak good English. Public bath and onsen are good. I try the Japanese dinner and breakfast in the Ryokan. Dinner with raw Toro is really a surprise.

More travel photos and tips in my Instagram @atoy.c

  • Stayed: September 2015, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank Anthony_Chow
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 weeks ago
Google Translation

  • Stayed: February 2018, travelled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews