We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (1,024)
Filter reviews
1,024 results
Traveller rating
488
282
131
76
47
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
488
282
131
76
47
Show reviews that mention
All reviews converted convent loft suite beautiful historic hotel old town amazing building swimming pool historic section special hotel reception staff high ceilings historic centre of salvador large room the location is perfect few minutes walk hotel is located internet access felt safe
Filter
Updating list...
25 - 30 of 1,024 reviews
Reviewed 27 May 2018

What a wonderful convent, filled with history. Beautiful architecture. Amazing location, so close to Pelourinho wouldn’t want to stay anywhere else. Could not fault the staff on every level. Would highly recommend.

Date of stay: May 2018
  • Trip type: Travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Pestana Hotel Group
Thank jetsetter004
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
pestana, Manager at Pestana Convento do Carmo Bahia, responded to this reviewResponded 28 May 2018

Dear Guest, First of all we would like to thank you for choosing the Pestana Convento do Carmo Hotel as your destination, and for having taken your valuable time to comment your stay with us. We are delighted to know that we were able to exceed your expectations, and that you enjoyed your time spent in our Hotel. We look forward to welcoming you back in the near future. Yours Sincerely,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 March 2018 via mobile

Stayed at this beautiful historic hotel for four nights at Christmas. If you enjoy visiting stunning historic old buildings then why not stay in one! Can honestly say that I have never enjoyed a hotel as much as this - it felt like a privilege to be there.
Yes the food could be improved, service at the bar is a little too relaxed and the rooms are a little bit tired - but if this bothers you that much you’re missing the point - it is just an honour to visit let alone stay in such an incredibly beautiful and amazing building

Staff as well were very helpful and friendly and the location is perfect - just a few minutes walk to the amazing Pelourinho square with the fantastic street drummers and many great restaurants.
Also next door is a fantastic restaurant (Poro) and great cafe (Cafelier). If you really want to immerse yourself in Bahia culture I don’t think you could choose a better hotel!

Date of stay: December 2017
Trip type: Travelled with family
1  Thank Degsie73
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
pestana, Manager at Pestana Convento do Carmo Bahia, responded to this reviewResponded 26 March 2018

Dear Guest, First of all we would like to thank you for choosing the Pestana Convento do Carmo Hotel as your destination, and for having taken your valuable time to comment your stay with us. We are delighted to know that we were able to exceed your expectations, and that you enjoyed your time spent in our Hotel. We look forward to welcoming you back in the near future. Yours Sincerely,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 March 2018

We stayed at Pestana Convento do Carmo Hotel for 3 nights in a Deluxe Double room (305). Located in the old historic section of Salvador it is an excellent base to explore the old part of town. We found it safe to walk around at night with some lovely bars and restaurants nearby. Reception staff spoke good English and were warm and friendly and gave plenty of advice re local attractions, bars and restaurants. Hotel is a converted old convent so has major historical significance and has church and museum attached to it. Room was massive with an oversized bed (could have slept 4 people in it) but was extremely comfortable. Room was a little on the dark side but you must remember it is a 400 year old building. Shower and toilet area was large with no complaints as to water pressure from shower. Was lovely. Downstairs has a lovely pool area to relax by with plenty of chairs and lounges and towels were supplied poolside. Restaurant and bar areas are run by outside company so you cannot recharge costs to your room and service a little slow. The only reason I did not give this a full rating was the breakfast. Was by far the worst breakfast we had in Brazil in our month of travels. Besides the lack of variety it was the tap water that was served. I drank from the hotel taps and I know what it tasted like and this was definitely tap water not filtered water. Really not acceptable for such a lovely hotel. Having said that would definitely stay here again.

Date of stay: February 2018
  • Trip type: Travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
1  Thank MarkWRus
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
pestana, Manager at Pestana Convento do Carmo Bahia, responded to this reviewResponded 13 March 2018

Dear Guest, Thank you very much for your detailed review following your recent stay at the Pestana Convento do Carmo Hotel. Your comments are most appreciated. We always strive to provide a warm and welcoming experience to our guests, and we are happy that you enjoyed the hotels services and facilities. Please do not hesitate to contact me next time you visit us. We look forward to welcoming you back in Salvador. Yours Sincerely,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 March 2018 via mobile

This hotel is beautiful set in the historic centre of Salvador. It’s true it’s a little run down but the building is over 400 years old so it seems perfectly normal. The staff were lovely and the pool was fantastic after a hot day. The rooms were large and comfortable. One negative point - the breakfast was pretty average at best and I think they could improve there. Overall 4/5.

Date of stay: March 2018
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Thank Reviewman300
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
pestana, Manager at Pestana Convento do Carmo Bahia, responded to this reviewResponded 13 March 2018

Dear Guest, Thank you very much for your detailed review following your recent stay at the Pestana Convento do Carmo Hotel. Your comments are most appreciated. We always strive to provide a warm and welcoming experience to our guests, and we are happy that you enjoyed the hotels services and facilities. Please do not hesitate to contact me next time you visit us. We look forward to welcoming you back in Salvador. Yours Sincerely,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 February 2018

My two friends and I had always admired the Convento do Carmo on our previous trips to Salvador da Bahia ever since the ancient convent was converted from a lovely building with historical significance to a high-end inn. However, the Convento always seemed to be priced out of our budget. Thus, when we made our reservations nearly a year before our stay, we were presently surprised to find affordable rooms at this lovely hotel. Then, just before our visit, we discovered that room rates were reduced even more, ostensibly due to the end of Carnival 2018 in Salvador.

The reception staff was very warm and welcoming. Instead of having to stand at a cold-appearing counter, we were seated in comfortable chairs behind a desk in what appeared to be an old library room. The gentleman who welcomed us could not have been nicer. He also served as a concierge and provided us with the names of multiple restaurants, along with mapping out their exact locations, all of which turned out to be superb recommendations. Kudos to the marvelous reception and concierge staff!

The rooms in the Convento are lovely, with old-world touches, high ceilings, and comfortable beds and bathrooms. One of my friends got a view with a partial view of Todos os Santos Bay. I was given a room with a view of the exquisite courtyard and pool. The young porter who assisted us with our luggage, Robeson, was super nice, always with a warm, friendly smile, and answered all our questions.

The large pool with ample chaise lounges and covered cabanas was a “plus”. Each morning, I watched as the staff kept it clean of plant debris from the surrounding gardens and shade trees. My friends and I did not use the small gym during our stay, but it appeared OK for a basic workout.

The only reason for not giving the Convento a full 5-point rating was the breakfast, which seemed rather limited for a hotel of this level of quality. For example, when we stayed at another pousada in the Santo Antônio neighborhood that no longer exists, Hotel Redfish, there was a wide assortment of delicious, fresh tropical fruits from which to choose, along with an assortment of freshly baked rolls and pastries. On Morning 1, the Convento only offered a few conventional fruits from which to choose, along with cheese and cold cuts, but we were able to request omelets, yogurt, granola. On Morning 2 of our stay, 20 February 2018, the breakfast became even more limited, with no fruit, cereal, or yogurt options. The staff explained that, due to the low hotel occupancy rate at the time of our stay, they had to reduce the kitchen staff and, with that, offer a much more limited breakfast. On Morning 3, the breakfast returned to what was presented on Morning 1, better than Morning 2 but still limited in comparison to other hotels of similar ranking.

Staying at the Pestana Convento do Carmo is a unique experience, like being transported from the hustle-bustle of the streets of the Pelourinho and Santo Antônio neighborhoods of Salvador to another serene and peaceful world. I would return to this hotel and would recommend it to others.

Room tip: We stayed in 3 different rooms. One with a view of Todos os Santos Bay and 2 with views of the courtyard, lovely pool and well-kept gardens.
Date of stay: February 2018
  • Trip type: Travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Guilhermedico
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
pestana, Manager at Pestana Convento do Carmo Bahia, responded to this reviewResponded 1 March 2018

Dear Guest, First of all we would like to thank you for choosing the Pestana Convento do Carmo Hotel as your destination, and for having taken your valuable time to comment your stay with us. We are delighted to know that we were able to exceed your expectations, and that you enjoyed your time spent in our Hotel. It´s always gratifying to receive positive feedback, and your kind comments will be shared with all the staff members, whom I am certain will be encouraged with your remarks. We always strive to provide a warm and welcoming experience to our guests, and we are happy that you enjoyed the hotels services and facilities. Your information regarding our levels of service, especially about breakfast were worthy of our utmost attention, and the necessary actions are being taken in order to prevent similar situations from happening in the future. We look forward to welcoming you back in the near future. Yours Sincerely,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews