We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very OLD very DIRTY and SMELLY hotel”
Review of Hotel Del Rey

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Hotel Del Rey
Ranked #52 of 103 Hotels in Curitiba
Reviewed 6 November 2015

When we booked this hotel they told us they have new rooms, we booked a suite, what was a big room divided in two, a small seating area and a little bit bigger sleeping area.
Upon arrival they gave us a very old small room, with a huge bathroom with a sink what you normally see in toilets, so small and a shower, for the rest nothing. In the minibar where 2 very small bottles with a soft drink and 2 cups of water 1 of them was full and the other one was opened and filled for a third, but the worse was the smell of the room and the noise from the street, even on the 13th floor it was like being on the first floor with the windows open so noisy, what a disaster. We went back down to complain and they told us because of a new manager everything did change but they gave us another room and this time a suite, but nothing new here, again smelly, old and dirty, but we where so tired from the long travel that we did stay there. We tried to open the windows to get the smell out, but all the windows where broken, there was 1 power socket in the whole room to charge you're mobile, also broken, the cover on the bed did have bloodstains, there where very long hairs on the floor, what did stay there until the last day ( they hardly cleaned ) the towels are so old and thin it looks like paper, you do get 1 big and 1 small towel if you are lucky 1 small piece of soap and 1 small bottle of bath-soap/shampoo that's it. the sink was broken, the curtains broken, the airco broken, the tv only a few channels, only 2 lights on the ceiling nothing beside you're bed, I can go on and on it was a disaster, There was 1 young guy at the door and a young girl working at breakfast they where really friendly, the rest of the staff do not talk, not even hello or goodmorning, they just ignore you. we did try already very much hotels in Curitiba but this is the worst hotel there. The only good thing was the location.

  • Stayed: October 2015, travelled with friends
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Ferdutch
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (461)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

2 - 6 of 461 reviews

Reviewed 1 May 2015

Although we arrived very early, the staff were helpful, storing our cases for us. Our room was ready by midday. The location of this hotel was perfect, right in the middle of the town, next to the Tourist and airport bus stops. The Cathedral is 5 minutes walk, as was the fantastic Sunday market. We got a taxi to the station to take the Serra Verde express through the Atlantic Forest. Breakfast was great, the staff very efficient and although no one really spoke English we had a good stay. The room was rather gloomy and a bit draught, but perfectly functional. The hotel was full of business people and quite busy.

  • Stayed: April 2015, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Borkijazmo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 January 2015 via mobile

I didn't like so much the poor furniture and the cold room in 12th floor. As I needed to wake up early to take a flight I warned two guys at the reception if I could have the breakfast a little earlier as normally it is served and I got yes! But it did not happen!

Stayed: January 2015, travelled on business
Thank Jadson A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 November 2014 via mobile

Really nice hotel, great location, right at "Boca Maldita"in downtown of Curitiba. Wonderful staff, they are very friendly and knowledgeable. Delicious breakfast, I didn't have lunch or dinner because of my schedule. I definitely recommend!

Stayed: January 2014, travelled solo
Thank Helio Sergio G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 September 2014

The hotel has 40 years old and the property is just falling apart. The A/C doesn't work, the windows don't close, there's no cleaning room and if you complain about it, they just ignore you. The internet is horrible 10 megabytes to the whole hotel and the signal breaks all the time you try to go online. The restaurant got some unprofessional people working and the food never comes the way you order. If you request anything be ready to get upset. The street in front of the hotel got so much noise that makes impossible for anyone to get some rest. Prostitution and drugs can be found right there. Unfortunately the website lie to those interesting in get a room at this hotel. Please be advice.

Room Tip: Don't chose this hotel
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Brian O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Curitiba hotels
City Center
Hotel Centro Europeu Tourist Hotel
Granville Park Hotel
#95 of 103 in Curitiba
449 reviews
City Center
Slaviero Slim Curitiba Centro
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
City Center
Alta Reggia Plaza Hotel
Alta Reggia Plaza Hotel
#37 of 103 in Curitiba
232 reviews
Curitiba Palace Hotel
#35 of 103 in Curitiba
354 reviews
Agua Verde
Che Lagarto Suites Curitiba
Che Lagarto Suites Curitiba
#51 of 103 in Curitiba
202 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Del Rey? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Del Rey

Address: Rua Desembargador Ermelino de Leao 18, Curitiba, State of Parana 80410-230, Brazil
Region: Brazil > State of Parana > Curitiba
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #52 of 103 Hotels in Curitiba
Price Range: $42 - $94 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Del Rey 3*
Number of rooms: 141
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, HotelQuickly and TripOnline SA so you can book your Hotel Del Rey reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Del Rey Hotel
Hotel Del Rey Curitiba, PR, Brazil

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing