We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Must have been a very nice place a few years ago”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Buzios Beach Resort
Ranked #36 of 105 Hotels in Armacao dos Buzios
Reviewed 27 January 2017

When you enter this hotel and your room, you can tell that when it was first built and all brand new it must have been a beautiful place. It still is. Just many of the amenities and rooms haven't been taken care of for quite a while. Only the minimum of repairs have been done to maintain an ok standard. The food is average as well as the service.
Overall it is a hotel that was built to be a 5 star place and now tries to hold up a 4 star standard.

  • Stayed: January 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank tgabele
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
rportela2017, Gerente at Buzios Beach Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 29 January 2017

Dear guest, good afternoon!

We received your review through TripAdvisor, and felt very sorry that we were not 100 percent satisfied with our hotel. We value your satisfaction with seriousness and sadness that you have not approved our gastronomic offer, your observations will be analyzed by the responsible chefs and the hotel management;
Many points mentioned briefly will be corrected.
I hope to have a future opportunity to welcome you again to undo the bad impression caused, to demonstrate our level of professionalism and to see our improvement in what was suggested.

A cordial hug,

Management of the Búzios Beach Resort.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (515)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

2 - 6 of 515 reviews

Reviewed 19 January 2017 via mobile

Excellent location for family holidays. Nice beach; pool all over the place. Very friendly staff, starting at reception. Restaurant, entertainment and bar personnel with good attitude, service intentions and smiling. All day caipirinhas, beer and machine coke drinks. Water and sun.

Haven't met them, but management must be a crap.

Some examples to make my point:
Maintenance all over the place seems to have been cut years ago (Paint, grass, outdated rooms).
Pool water is dirty (never saw a pool cleaner; only once some chemicals in the water; filters ?).
Not enough shade spaces around the pool; not even shade umbrellas available, when supports for these are built in the floor surroundings.
Music around the pool through old amplifier/boxes; sound is completely deformed (doesn't anybody hear this ?)
Beach shadow areas are very limited; only approx 20 covered places (need to be at 7AM to reserve one); plastic beds seem to never have been replaced and look shaby.
AC in room functions lousy, with no regulators and only one speed.
Bed sheets to short for the size of the bed (who buys them ?).
No room maintenance up to pretentious standards; clean it is, but shabby and outdated.
Food is repetitive, no taste, no creativity, no health, no ambiance; very short wine list (and of course the one I ordered was not available). No healthy food during the day; outdoor restaurant serves food all day long, limited to in ketchup drained hotdogs or local fried snacks (why no fruit in this abundant country ?). No fresh juices availabale, only coke/sprite/fanta/water and premix industrial juice.

Shall I go on ?

Time for owners/management to get serious, because the rates for staying here are very serious.

Expectations were not delivered. Won't be back.

Stayed: January 2017, travelled with family
Thank ArnoudBsAs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management response:Responded 24 January 2017

Dear Arnoud,


First of all I would like to thank you for taking the time to send us your comments, I regret not having taken note of your dissatisfaction in time to make a difference in your vacation. It is for all our staff very frustrating when a guest does not leave the hotel completely happy with our services once their satisfaction is of utmost importance to the success of Búzios Beach Resort.
We apologize and inform you that your comments have already been sent to those responsible and I assure you that they will be taken into account in our decision-making, new projects and investments.
Once again thank you for the contact and emphasize that our efforts are directed at ensuring the constant improvement of the points mentioned in your comment.

Regards,

Management of the Búzios Beach Resort.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 December 2016

Well, this hotel teally needs some big changes. It has plenty of possibilities, but there are some major issues to be resolved.
1. A big mosquito problem. You have to take aerosol to your room to get mosquito free. To be outside at night is almost impossible there.
2. Some rooms had issues with the air conditioning. Or it did not work, or it was too cold or too hot or switched off by itself.
3. Room with sewage smell.
4. The food served at the restaurant was not good. Almost the same thing every day. Even the appearance was not good.
No fresh juices.
5. The bar at the pool closes at 7 pm! The only way to get a drink after that is at the bar in the restaurant, which closes for 30 minutes at 11 pm for a change of shift! It seems they really don't want people to drink.
6. The air condition was not working well in other areas too.
7. Wi-Fi did not work in all rooms and areas and when it did work was it very slow and unstable.
All in all the place needs to get some real maintenance done and improve the service they offer their guests.

  • Stayed: December 2016, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Traveller195905
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management response:Responded 6 December 2016

Dear guest, good morning!

Thank you so much for taking the time to comment on your recent stay with us. Testimonials from our guests are of great value to us, so we have the opportunity to strengthen our qualities and improve our weaknesses; We work with services and always seek to adapt to the services and needs of our guests.

We hope to have a future opportunity soon so that you can see our professionalism and improvement in what has been indicated.

Management of the Búzios Beach Resort.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 October 2016

I have been going to this hotel for the last 5 years. Initially it was a Breezes Brand resort, then Blue Tree and now Buzios Beach Resort. The owners are now the actual operators. While this is normally not a good thing in this case it has been very good. Had a group of 16 people with my company and all the rooms were better than last year. My room was one of the beach front bungalows and it had had a face life. The food was also somewhat better than previous years. Well done Buzios Beach Resort.

Room Tip: I like the bungalows but they are more expensive than they should be.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2016, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
1  Thank Philipmurdoch
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management response:Responded 20 October 2016


Hello Mr. Philip, Good afternoon!

First we would like to thank very much for your review!
  Are comments like his that motivate even more our team and show that we are on the way certo.Nosso focus is to provide high-level services to our guests.
So we were happy to know that the observed improvements since his last stay.

We expect soon an opportunity to welcome you again in our hotel.

Regards,

Management of Buzios Beach Resort.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 May 2016

We had stayed at this hotel at the Easter time. The hotel has a great pool, that covers all the resort area. Our room had an ocean view, so it was a little far from the activities that happened at the pool, so it was very quiet.
The great advantage of this hotel are the children's activities. They have recreations for them all along the day, and childrens love it, and parents too.
The food is simple but well done.

Room Tip: Rooms near the beach are quieter
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2016, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Ana Paula V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Armacao dos Buzios hotels
4.9 km away
Ferradura Resort
Ferradura Resort
#20 of 105 in Armacao dos Buzios
779 reviews
6.4 km away
Atlantico Buzios Hotel
Atlantico Buzios Hotel
#29 of 105 in Armacao dos Buzios
1,038 reviews
4.5 km away
Unicornio & SPA BY MN Hoteis
Unicornio & SPA BY MN Hoteis
#26 of 105 in Armacao dos Buzios
549 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.2 km away
Vila D'este
Vila D'este
#6 of 105 in Armacao dos Buzios
789 reviews
5.5 km away
Pousada Pedra Da Laguna
Pousada Pedra Da Laguna
#17 of 105 in Armacao dos Buzios
556 reviews
4.2 km away
Barracuda Resort
Barracuda Resort
#79 of 105 in Armacao dos Buzios
117 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Buzios Beach Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Buzios Beach Resort

Address: Av. dos Tucuns | Tucuns Beach, Armacao dos Buzios, State of Rio de Janeiro 28950-000, Brazil
Region: Brazil > State of Rio de Janeiro > Armacao dos Buzios
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Beverage Selection Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 Top resorts Hotel in Armacao dos Buzios
#13 Spa Hotel in Armacao dos Buzios
#22 On the Beach Hotel in Armacao dos Buzios
#39 Romantic Hotel in Armacao dos Buzios
Price Range: S$221 - S$457 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Buzios Beach Resort 3.5*
Number of rooms: 335
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to the biggest resort of "Regiao dos Lagos"! Located in the paradise beach of Tucuns, facing the sea, the Buzios Beach offers a great leisure infrastrucutre that includes trapezium, minigolf, skating rink, archery, courts, game room and bowling (with aditional cost), and, of course, our irresistible swimming pools. We are waiting for you! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia and HotelQuickly so you can book your Buzios Beach Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Breezes Buzios Hotel Buzios
Buzios Beach Resort Armacao Dos Buzios, Brazil

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing