We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (133)
Filter reviews
133 results
Traveller rating
70
44
12
5
2
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
70
44
12
5
2
See what travellers are saying:
Filter
Updating list...
13 - 18 of 133 reviews
Reviewed 19 November 2013

The room was nice, clean and spacious. Location is great with parking and easy walk to the main center. The pool was small but had a really amazing view of the ocean (great for sunsets). The food and breakfast was very poor (especially for the price of the room). Service was good from everyone except the reception...never there when you needed them and very unfriendly (which would be fine at a budget place...which this is not). Summary...good but overpriced for what you get. I would not stay again.

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Enrique G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 September 2013

Yes, it may be quite pricey, but absolutely loved it there! In fact, we booked an additional week after being there two nights! The beds are hard, but the service, breakfasts and views from your own private deck are absolutely amazing! This little sea-side town is a must do and if you are looking for a romantic place to stay, this is it!
I would definitely do it again!

Room Tip: We selected one of the large suites on the lower floor at the far right end. I believe it is the best there. Just a warning, the pool deck is over your head and do not have your laptop outside in the am, as they wash down the deck and water comes down between the floor boards for the deck. This usually does not happen until about 9:00am though. Not too early, but the room is well worth the small inconvenience...
  • Stayed: March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Marie W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 February 2013

We paid over USD 1,000.00 for a two-night stay. This per-night cost was three times more expensive than we paid for a great suit in a super-nice hotel in Ferradura beach (also in Buzios), where we stayed for 5 nights.

So why did we leave our hotel in Ferradura beach to go to El Cazar? We had originally planned to stay for 5 days. While in Rio, a week before going to Buzios, we changed our plans and decided to stay in Buzios for two more days. We tried to extend our stay in the original hotel in Ferradura beach, but that there were no available rooms. We then booked El Cazar through an on-line hotel booking service. At this point, I warn the readers to pay attention to the currency used by the booking service, as they might not be explicitly stated. Since the fares for the hotel in Ferradura beach were in Reals (Brazilian currency), I somehow assumed that value shown for El Cazar was also in Reals (R$). Unfortunately, it was in US Dollars ($, approximately 2xR$). I only realized the missing “R” during check out, when it was pointed out by the clerk.

El Cazar is run by the owners, who some reviewer has described as “weird”. We were traveling with two kids (12 and 8 years old). We booked a triple room (largest available). One day before our check in, we stopped by the hotel and requested an extra bed for my younger kid. The owner was inflexible: not only there would be no extra bed, but he would also charge additional 30% for the “extra person”. That was unbelievable! I wanted to find another hotel, and just did not do it because I would be charged for “no show” and I did not want the stress of looking for another hotel with such short notice. In the end, our 8-year old kid shared the king-size bed with us, and we still had to pay the additional 30%.

In beautiful Buzios, we spent the days and evenings enjoying scuna rides, going to beaches, and walking around. We just used El Cazar for sleeping and for breakfast. The hotel has a very good location, but the fares are highly overpriced, the owners are inflexible, the shower was cold in the last day, and the pool is unattractive. It definitely did not worth the money we paid.

  • Stayed: February 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MM_303546
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 November 2012

The setting and location are absolutely perfect for a Buziios visit. The views from the pool area, the lounge, and the sea view bedrooms could not be better, and it is a short walk from Rua das Pedras and from several of the best beaches.

The hotel is unusual, full of antique furniture and oddities that have seen better days. There are funny things like loose taps and creaky doors, so if those sort of faults irritate you, give it a miss. It is well cleaned though, and we were quite content.

Staff were friendly and helpful.

It is not cheap, but we found it worth it for the advantages above.

Room Tip: Not sure how many rooms have a sea view. We went for a Junior Suite so we had a balcony with sea view which was fantastic.
  • Stayed: November 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank rimlog
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 January 2012

View of the sea that you have from pool is breath taking, interior design which have used very old naval stuf is great, breakfast is very good and if you like tranquil atmospheres, definitely you'll love it.

  • Stayed: October 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Aidin489
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews