We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Maybe a Brasilian Wife helps”
Review of Hotel El Cazar

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Hotel El Cazar
Ranked #67 of 105 Hotels in Armacao dos Buzios
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 16 November 2014

Recently stayed in this hotel and nothing to find fault. The staff were always helpful in the extreme, nothing was too much for them.

We arrived without booking and were shown two different rooms one over looking the pool and the other looking out to sea. We chose the sea view room and what a good choice it was. Roomy and spacious with an excellent air conditioning unit that was whisper quiet.

Breakfast was the usual Brasilian faire with hot and cold meats with an excellent choice of cold cut meats and cheese to accompany. Eggs cooked to order every morning for my vegetarian wife who only eats cheese and eggs from animal produce.

The staff couldn't help us enough and even joked with my for my poor Portuguese but were equally pleased when I did use Portuguese.

The pool although small was adequate for a nice cooling dip with excellent views over the bay to mainland Brasil.

A short walk takes you into the bubbly nite life of Buzios with a huge selection of restaurants bars and cafes to suit all needs.

Some say pricey but we found we got what we paid for complete with excellent service. As I said in the title though speaking Portuguese will really help my wife did the talking and negotiated a nice discount for us.

Really recommend this hotel / Pousada and we will be returning

Room Tip: Ask to look at the rooms first!!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank YorkieC54
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (125)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

12 - 16 of 125 reviews

Reviewed 19 November 2013

The room was nice, clean and spacious. Location is great with parking and easy walk to the main center. The pool was small but had a really amazing view of the ocean (great for sunsets). The food and breakfast was very poor (especially for the price of the room). Service was good from everyone except the reception...never there when you needed them and very unfriendly (which would be fine at a budget place...which this is not). Summary...good but overpriced for what you get. I would not stay again.

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Enrique G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 September 2013

Yes, it may be quite pricey, but absolutely loved it there! In fact, we booked an additional week after being there two nights! The beds are hard, but the service, breakfasts and views from your own private deck are absolutely amazing! This little sea-side town is a must do and if you are looking for a romantic place to stay, this is it!
I would definitely do it again!

Room Tip: We selected one of the large suites on the lower floor at the far right end. I believe it is the bes...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Marie W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 February 2013

We paid over USD 1,000.00 for a two-night stay. This per-night cost was three times more expensive than we paid for a great suit in a super-nice hotel in Ferradura beach (also in Buzios), where we stayed for 5 nights.

So why did we leave our hotel in Ferradura beach to go to El Cazar? We had originally planned to stay for 5 days. While in Rio, a week before going to Buzios, we changed our plans and decided to stay in Buzios for two more days. We tried to extend our stay in the original hotel in Ferradura beach, but that there were no available rooms. We then booked El Cazar through an on-line hotel booking service. At this point, I warn the readers to pay attention to the currency used by the booking service, as they might not be explicitly stated. Since the fares for the hotel in Ferradura beach were in Reals (Brazilian currency), I somehow assumed that value shown for El Cazar was also in Reals (R$). Unfortunately, it was in US Dollars ($, approximately 2xR$). I only realized the missing “R” during check out, when it was pointed out by the clerk.

El Cazar is run by the owners, who some reviewer has described as “weird”. We were traveling with two kids (12 and 8 years old). We booked a triple room (largest available). One day before our check in, we stopped by the hotel and requested an extra bed for my younger kid. The owner was inflexible: not only there would be no extra bed, but he would also charge additional 30% for the “extra person”. That was unbelievable! I wanted to find another hotel, and just did not do it because I would be charged for “no show” and I did not want the stress of looking for another hotel with such short notice. In the end, our 8-year old kid shared the king-size bed with us, and we still had to pay the additional 30%.

In beautiful Buzios, we spent the days and evenings enjoying scuna rides, going to beaches, and walking around. We just used El Cazar for sleeping and for breakfast. The hotel has a very good location, but the fares are highly overpriced, the owners are inflexible, the shower was cold in the last day, and the pool is unattractive. It definitely did not worth the money we paid.

  • Stayed: February 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MM_303546
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 November 2012

The setting and location are absolutely perfect for a Buziios visit. The views from the pool area, the lounge, and the sea view bedrooms could not be better, and it is a short walk from Rua das Pedras and from several of the best beaches.

The hotel is unusual, full of antique furniture and oddities that have seen better days. There are funny things like loose taps and creaky doors, so if those sort of faults irritate you, give it a miss. It is well cleaned though, and we were quite content.

Staff were friendly and helpful.

It is not cheap, but we found it worth it for the advantages above.

Room Tip: Not sure how many rooms have a sea view. We went for a Junior Suite so we had a balcony with sea vi...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank rimlog
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Armacao dos Buzios hotels
City Center
Pousada Byblos
Pousada Byblos
#44 of 105 in Armacao dos Buzios
322 reviews
Abracadabra Pousada
#14 of 105 in Armacao dos Buzios
581 reviews
Atlantico Buzios Hotel
#30 of 105 in Armacao dos Buzios
1,038 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Le Village Buzios Boutique Hotel
#27 of 105 in Armacao dos Buzios
349 reviews
Coronado Beach Hotel
#42 of 105 in Armacao dos Buzios
404 reviews
Vila da Santa Hotel Boutique & S...
#1 of 105 in Armacao dos Buzios
254 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel El Cazar? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel El Cazar

Address: Alto do Humaita n. 6 | Humaita, Armacao dos Buzios, State of Rio de Janeiro 28950-000, Brazil
Region: Brazil > State of Rio de Janeiro > Armacao dos Buzios
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#37 On the Beach Hotel in Armacao dos Buzios
#37 Romantic Hotel in Armacao dos Buzios
Price Range: S$254 - S$408 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel El Cazar 3*
Number of rooms: 25
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
For your comfort and leisure, the Hotel El Cazar offers several comfortable areas, reading and game rooms, a fully equipped Home Theatre, a bar with a finely selected wine cellar, a swimming pool overlooking the bay, and a restaurant with a rich and varied menu, offering healthy home made or traditional food, including, of course, the famous local fish and seafood. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia and TripOnline SA so you can book your Hotel El Cazar reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
El Cazar Hotel
Hotel El Cazar Armacao Dos Buzios, Brazil

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing