We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The greatest facilities & location per $”
Review of Hotel El Cazar

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Hotel El Cazar
Ranked #68 of 105 Hotels in Armacao dos Buzios
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 12 March 2017 via mobile

The El Cazar hotel is managed by an extremely caring owner & staff.
The breakfast is very nice & you'll get your own choosing onlet if you just specify what you want.
As said in the title - the location is wonderful - on the beach - between downtown & swimming area...

The best hotel in Buzios by far!!!

The pics reflect the view from the pool...

Stayed: March 2017, travelled with friends
Thank Moran L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (125)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

2 - 6 of 125 reviews

Reviewed 9 February 2017

El Cazar is a fair place to stay in Buzios, with a super view, big rooms and nice staff. Beds are super comfortable and room is clean. Staff is super friendly and kind.
It is an old fashion place, which in my opinion could have some refurbishment, but this my personal opinion. It did not jeopardize our stay there.
Breakfast is good but they are not focused on food service and beverages in general. Prices are more expensive than elsewhere.

  • Stayed: February 2017, travelled with friends
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Paula P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 February 2017 via mobile

This is a beautiful location where we went for a junior suite with a perfect view. And the location is lovely, with some of the staff keen to be helpful. However, the owner is an old fashioned Brazilian who prefers not to be polite to his guests, and where the hotel bar closes at 10 pm on a Saturday night as the owner chose to watch TV in the lounge rather than serve my wife and I asking for a gin and tonic. This is a hotel going for bankruptcy until they get new ownership. I recommend to be avoided.

Stayed: February 2017, travelled as a couple
Thank Middleagedskier
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chalom B, Proprietário at Hotel El Cazar, responded to this reviewResponded 7 February 2017

Dear Guest
Our hotel takes our guest reviews very seriously. They help us improve and better our business. 

However, we cannot agree with your evaluation, due to it's ambiguous content. 

It appears to us that you did not recommend our hotel simply because you asked for an alcoholic beverage and could not get it as the hotel bar closed at 10:00 p.m. As a result,  were very upset once you were informed the hotel bar was closed. 

We would like to remind you that you were given a disclaimer, at the time of your check in, specifically informing that the hotel bar and restaurant would always be closed after 10 p.m. 

Even though you did not recommend the hotel, you wrote the following reviews: 

Tripadvisor: 

"This is a beautiful location where we went for a junior suite with a perfect view. 
And the location is lovely, with some of the staff keen to be helpful."

Booking.com: 

"Location was fantastic; walking distance from both the town and fabulous beaches. 
Breakfast staff were charming and couldn't do enough to make you feel comfortable"

In conclusion, 

You did not recommend the hotel due to not being able to get an alcoholic beverage during a time the hotel was closed. 

- "El Cazar" means "Family House" 
- We regret you dismiss the Hotel and it's staff, an establishment with more than 25 years of existence and tradicion , due to a request that could not be fulfilled

- The Hotel owner, Chalom Benyair, French-Moroccan and proudly naturalized Brazilian 
- Hotel El Cazar - 9.1 on Booking and 4, 6 Expedia

The readers on both websites will read your evaluation and our answer

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 December 2016 via mobile

A lovely place, with the most magnificent view of Búzios. Strategically located; near center of town and, of course, of the best restaurants and entertainment places . Helpful and pleasant staff. Highly recommended.

Stayed: May 2016, travelled with family
1  Thank Vera Maria G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 August 2016 via mobile

I had 5 days here last week and it was absolutely awesome. Although the staff didn't speak very good English, they would go out of their way to help me and were extra friendly. Breakfast was amazing, huge variety and the pool and pool area is great. The location is perfect, as are the views. Couldn't speak more highly of this place and the staff, thanks a lot guys!

Stayed: August 2016, travelled solo
Thank George G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Armacao dos Buzios hotels
City Center
Pousada Byblos
Pousada Byblos
#44 of 105 in Armacao dos Buzios
322 reviews
Abracadabra Pousada
#13 of 105 in Armacao dos Buzios
581 reviews
Atlantico Buzios Hotel
#29 of 105 in Armacao dos Buzios
1,036 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Le Village Buzios Boutique Hotel
#31 of 105 in Armacao dos Buzios
349 reviews
Coronado Beach Hotel
#43 of 105 in Armacao dos Buzios
404 reviews
Vila da Santa Hotel Boutique & S...
#1 of 105 in Armacao dos Buzios
252 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel El Cazar? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel El Cazar

Address: Alto do Humaita n. 6 | Humaita, Armacao dos Buzios, State of Rio de Janeiro 28950-000, Brazil
Region: Brazil > State of Rio de Janeiro > Armacao dos Buzios
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#37 On the Beach Hotel in Armacao dos Buzios
#37 Romantic Hotel in Armacao dos Buzios
Price Range: $253 - $463 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel El Cazar 3*
Number of rooms: 25
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
For your comfort and leisure, the Hotel El Cazar offers several comfortable areas, reading and game rooms, a fully equipped Home Theatre, a bar with a finely selected wine cellar, a swimming pool overlooking the bay, and a restaurant with a rich and varied menu, offering healthy home made or traditional food, including, of course, the famous local fish and seafood. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, TripOnline SA and Expedia so you can book your Hotel El Cazar reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
El Cazar Hotel
Hotel El Cazar Armacao Dos Buzios, Brazil

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing