We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (134)
Filter reviews
134 results
Traveller rating
71
44
12
5
2
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
71
44
12
5
2
See what travellers are saying:
Filter
Updating list...
1 - 6 of 134 reviews
Reviewed 22 December 2017

We stayed here for two nights in April of this year and cannot fault the hotel.

It was spotlessly clean, and the position and views over the sea are spectacular.

Room was comfortable and clean.

The staff don't speak much english, but they were incredibly helpful - particularly the restaurant manager who went out of his way to get us breakfast even though we were late down from our room.

Good value for Buzios - it is an expensive town, but I thought the hotel was priced fairly for the area.

  • Stayed: April 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank Gerry_U72
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 March 2017 via mobile

The El Cazar hotel is managed by an extremely caring owner & staff.
The breakfast is very nice & you'll get your own choosing onlet if you just specify what you want.
As said in the title - the location is wonderful - on the beach - between downtown & swimming area...

The best hotel in Buzios by far!!!

The pics reflect the view from the pool...

Stayed: March 2017, travelled with friends
Thank Moran L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 February 2017

El Cazar is a fair place to stay in Buzios, with a super view, big rooms and nice staff. Beds are super comfortable and room is clean. Staff is super friendly and kind.
It is an old fashion place, which in my opinion could have some refurbishment, but this my personal opinion. It did not jeopardize our stay there.
Breakfast is good but they are not focused on food service and beverages in general. Prices are more expensive than elsewhere.

  • Stayed: February 2017, travelled with friends
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Paula P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 February 2017 via mobile

This is a beautiful location where we went for a junior suite with a perfect view. And the location is lovely, with some of the staff keen to be helpful. However, the owner is an old fashioned Brazilian who prefers not to be polite to his guests, and where the hotel bar closes at 10 pm on a Saturday night as the owner chose to watch TV in the lounge rather than serve my wife and I asking for a gin and tonic. This is a hotel going for bankruptcy until they get new ownership. I recommend to be avoided.

Stayed: February 2017, travelled as a couple
Thank Middleagedskier
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chalom B, Proprietário at Hotel El Cazar, responded to this reviewResponded 7 February 2017

Dear Guest
Our hotel takes our guest reviews very seriously. They help us improve and better our business. 

However, we cannot agree with your evaluation, due to it's ambiguous content. 

It appears to us that you did not recommend our hotel simply because you asked for an alcoholic beverage and could not get it as the hotel bar closed at 10:00 p.m. As a result,  were very upset once you were informed the hotel bar was closed. 

We would like to remind you that you were given a disclaimer, at the time of your check in, specifically informing that the hotel bar and restaurant would always be closed after 10 p.m. 

Even though you did not recommend the hotel, you wrote the following reviews: 

Tripadvisor: 

"This is a beautiful location where we went for a junior suite with a perfect view. 
And the location is lovely, with some of the staff keen to be helpful."

Booking.com: 

"Location was fantastic; walking distance from both the town and fabulous beaches. 
Breakfast staff were charming and couldn't do enough to make you feel comfortable"

In conclusion, 

You did not recommend the hotel due to not being able to get an alcoholic beverage during a time the hotel was closed. 

- "El Cazar" means "Family House" 
- We regret you dismiss the Hotel and it's staff, an establishment with more than 25 years of existence and tradicion , due to a request that could not be fulfilled

- The Hotel owner, Chalom Benyair, French-Moroccan and proudly naturalized Brazilian 
- Hotel El Cazar - 9.1 on Booking and 4, 6 Expedia

The readers on both websites will read your evaluation and our answer

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 December 2016 via mobile

A lovely place, with the most magnificent view of Búzios. Strategically located; near center of town and, of course, of the best restaurants and entertainment places . Helpful and pleasant staff. Highly recommended.

Stayed: May 2016, travelled with family
1  Thank Vera Maria G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews